Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

The information that I obtained from the No Stomach for Cancer Website and from it's founder has been invaluable to me. After losing two close family members to stomach cancer and having two members with lobular breast cancer, I came upon this foundation and realized that there was a genetic component to all 4 of these cancer cases. I, subsequently, was tested for CDH1 gene mutation. After finding out that I had the mutation, I had a total gastrectomy. The personal stories on the NSFC website helped me navigate my recovery.


November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

I donated to No Stomach for Cancer, Inc and participated in the November 2, 2013 walk for my husband who passed away from stomach cancer.

I wonder where all the money goes? What research is it donated to? The only mention I could find was a 2012 tax report saying 20,000 went to the
University of Otago, New Zealand. At that site I could not find what was being researched for gastric cancer.

It is a good site for connecting to others going through gastric cancer, survivors and caregivers. Plus it offers a wealth of information. But, I would like more availability of information on where the money is going.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

List the research organizations where our money is going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2011

more

June 15, 2011

I found this organization when my brother was diagnosed with diffuse stomach cancer. I found their website to be a wealth of information and their community very supportive and empathetic. I posted several comments on their facebook page and the Chelcum family responded to all posts. I also communicate via email with the founder, Karen Chelcum and she and No Stomach for Cancer have become wonderful supporters during this difficult time. I lost my brother in March. My family hosted a fundraising event in May and we donated most of the proceeds to this organization. I support and look forward to No Stomach for Cancer's continued growth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Stomach cancer is under-funded and under-researched, so finding No Stomach for Cancer has been an invaluable source of information and support. My brother's diffuse stomach cancer wasn't found to be linked to the gene mutation currently known to be associated with it. No Stomach for Cancer is working with the genetists that found this gene mutation and will soon uncover more genes that may be associated with it. This information will be beneficlal to my family and others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are working hard on uncovering more information on a disease that is under-funded and under-researched. I wouldn't recommend changes but rather encouragement and support so they can continue their work.

June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

No Stomach for Cancer is a great way to network with other families and patients who share the same experience, decision-making, and struggles that my family does. I have learned from others and have made new acquaintances with people who truly understand what I'm going through.
I'm so
thankful for that.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting other people like me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the funding and structure so that the organization could continue to grow and fund research through grants

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers