Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have volunteered at NMT for some years now, and I have found their services to be remarkable. They have helped women on local and national level. It is exciting to see the amount of admiration each and everyone, who has been helped by this prestigious organization has for the CEO, the Board and the Organization. It is organizations like NMT that create a safe place for many, who otherwise would never know what true safety and security means. I am honored to be a part of this esteemed organization, and I hope we continue to safe lives and make people's lives prosperous.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

NMT does what other non profit organizations cannot do because of their size and other restrictions. Here's how it works: these folks and those of us who support them DO WHAT IT TAKES to save people's lives (literally). Women, men, children. If you are in an abusive situation, they can show up and help you do everything you need to do to get out: IMMEDIATE housing, medical care, legal support, education, child care, a ride to wherever you need to go. I have never known a group like it. I am OVER the multitude of non-profits trying to "do good." This group is totally different. DIRECT AND IMMEDIATE ASSISTANCE. Whatever it takes. I have supported them and occasionally worked with them for 5 years. A simple example of what anyone can do: last year I was moving. I texted them, and they came to my house, picked up my dishes and groceries, and they delivered it all THAT DAY to a woman with two small kids; they had found and rented an apartment for the family THAT DAY. They used my dishes and groceries that night. It's that good, real, and easy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

When you support No More Tears, you change lives. You change the life of a woman and her children not only by helping them stay away from th man who would harm them, but also you give the mom the skills she needs to begin again. Women who come through NMT learn how to stand on their own, exceeding even their own expectations. Make a difference and save a life or a family through your donation to this 501 (c) 3 organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

"No More Tears"...Is a cause very dear to me on EVERY level..NMT has been instrumental in bringing the issue of Domestic Violence to where it can not be ignored, awareness to the unaware and HOPE to the hopeless.. Somy Ali, founder coupled with the NMT family address the atrocities of abuse to women not limited to our local community but WORLDWIDE...This is a serious REAL issue which has been given the attention it deserves by "No More Tears"..The violence does not simply hurt the victim..it damages innocent children who bare the emotional scars, undermines the very fiber of a moral community and is non discriminatory.. I and others who are desperately in need of HOPE urge you to learn more about the incredible story behind "No More Tears"..Somy Ali, and the work of the NMT family..Please also think hard..think how YOU can make a difference..Every bit helps..I'll roll quarters to give something to this phenomenal cause.. Thank you.. "No More Tears"..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

NMT provides intervention services to victims of domestic abuse but what sticks out the most for me is that NMT survivors often come back to volunteer in order to help other victims which I believe is an integral part of healing. Also, the amount of care that Somy gives to the victim's children in truly heartwarming. No More Tears is an inspiring organization and should be recognized for it's compassionate work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I just recently got involved with No More Tears and am currently working as a board member. Since I started to volunteer for the organization last year, I can say I have always been moved by the amount of sincere care and attention that is provided to survivors. Further, this organization is especially significant insofar as its members work to cultivate a family, where community members work together to bring about safe and fulfilling living conditions. No More Tears has helped over 200 victims, and continues to provide individualized, and attentive care making No More Tears truly remarkable as a needs-based organization committed to eradicating social injustices.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I can't even begin to share with you adequately enough how amazing this organization is and the amount of compassion that is given to these survivors and their children. The resources given are tailored to the needs of the individual and based off my personal interaction changes these women's lives, almost always for good. Somy is probably one of the most selfless individuals I've ever met, as well as everyone one involved. I'm truly privileged to be able to work with such amazing people as well an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

NMT is an amazing organization. Started with the simple but inspirational belief that every victim of domestic violence needs help with more than just a shelter after a call, NMT has sought to save lives by helping the victims and their children through a holistic approach to their challenges -- food; apartment; language training; legal assistance with restraining orders, divorce and immigration; health care; and so many other areas meant to give victims a new start. For those victims with immigration issues, NMT recognizes they face an even tougher hurdle seeking help as abusers use fear of deportation as another weapon. What is truly amazing is the number of volunteers who help NMT -- without professional paid staff!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with No More Tears since its inception, first as a volunteer and now as Board Chair. Having worked with and at other domestic violence organizations, I can say with confidence that No More Tears is truly unique. Its founder, Somy Ali, personally coordinates all the services for victims and does so with an incredibly gentle touch and a warm smile. Incredibly, she does all this for no pay. A team of volunteers and interns helps ensure that victims receive all the help they need, making No More Tears a sort of "one stop shop." Services are individualized so that each person gets the precise help he or she needs, whether it be housing, legal advocacy, medical assistance, transportation, childcare, support for continued education, or other. To date, No More Tears has helped 237 victims of domestic violence and more than 600 children. As a true measure of the organization's success, only two survivors have returned to their abusers, a remarkable rate for domestic violence victims.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2010

more

August 10, 2010

In August of 2006, I had a woman knock at my door with blood dripping down her forehead and tears coming down her face. She asked me for help as she had been beaten badly by her husband. She could not speak English well at all to approach anyone for help and she knew that I could speak her language, thus decided to finally reach out to someone. That lady is now a registered nurse thanks to the help she received from No More Tears and above all, she is safe and free of abuse. No More Tears was initiated primarily to help women that were brought to the U.S. from various countries and then abused physically, sexually and verbally. Soon we started getting calls from not only immigrant women but also women born in the U.S. and decided to help everyone. Thus far, we have rescued 47 women and their children, all of whom were physically, sexually and verbally abused. We provide immediate care as we don't believe that a victim of domestic violence should be on a waiting list. We work with attorneys that are attentive very quickly to their cases and take immediate action required to free the women and children of abuse. We work with Nova Southeastern University's psychology department that provides free cognitive therapy to all the women we help. We are partners with Women in Distress that have had the same mission since 1973. We provide help 24 hours through our crisis hotline and IMMEDIATE help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Since our inception in September of 2006, we have rescued 47 women and their children. We have provided them with a safe space, an opportunity to pursue an education, free attorney services (no waiting lists),cognitive therapy, and free transportation.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

That they provide IMMEDIATE help. THEY HAVE NO WAITING LISTS!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Kind, compassionate and can empathize with the survivors. There is no disconnect that you often see with big non-profits between the survivors and the board of directors. At No More Tears all are equally and all truly care!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Save many more lives and build shelters in many more states all over the U.S.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers