Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

Two years ago I was facing an unplanned pregnancy, and the hospital social worker recommended that I call Nightlight. I met with the counselor, and she was very supportive, and didn't judge me. I was pretty set on placing for adoption, but no one at Nightlight ever pressured me to do this. I had my own personal reasons, and the social workers just accepted me for who I was. We have a pretty open adoption now, and I've seen my son a couple times. I kind of consider myself an "aunt," and it makes me happy to see that he his happy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We did our home study to adopt from Haiti with Nightlight. The social worker was awesome. We just love Nightlight. We thought the home study meant they were just going to make sure our kitchen knives were locked up, but it was so much more. They gave us books to read, and classes, to make sure we were really prepared for the adoption. You could tell that they really cared about kids, and believed in what they were doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our little girl from Russia and were so please with the way Nightlight handled the adoption and got everything done professionally and successfully. We met our child on a summer tour, and hosted her for two weeks. Then the adoption was finalized a year later. When we were in Russia, the coordinator drove us everywhere we needed to go, gave us a place to stay, translated everything for us. It was a long process, but Nightlight made it possible. Thank you so much for building our family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

After researching several factors I find that this adoption agency has raised several questions of their ethical integrity. Especially South Carolina office. One being that two children from the State of Oklahoma were taken there for adoption. One without the proper paperwork to transfer the child from Oklahoma to South Carolina. This child is a citizen of a tribal nation and to a couple in their 60's. This child deserves better than parents who may not live to see her past elementary school. The other child had her paperwork misrepresent the child's identity by omitting that the child was a dual citizen of a Tribal Nation. In the South Carolina office, the attorney that handled these two adoptions is also the husband of this agencies director. Adoption is a good thing for children with no parents or family to care for them but this agencies South Carolina office seems to take the payments and provide the child with little regard to their best interest. A young child deserves parents who have a better chance of being around till their adulthood AND biological parent who wants and loves them over a paying customer of an adoption agency. Very Poor ethical examples I have seen with this company. I only wish I could rate this company ZERO stars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down and require ethical training for everyone involved there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I went on a mission trip with Nightlight to Uganda and I was amazed at the quality of care they have for children, and their passion for orphans. They give financial aid to indigenous child care efforts. On the mission trip we were touched by meeting some of the adoptive parents who plan to welcome some of the most needy children in their home. We met a little girl who was HIV+, and another little girl who was abandoned in a latrine. Both of these girls were adopted by Nightlight families. Thank you for all the beautiful work you do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them money to help families adopt who don't have the resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This adoption agency. Steels Children that does not need homes. They do not Notify the father of the child nor do they get the paper work need to legally transfer the child from one state to the other. They even lied about several child's race in order to get the paper work threw. This was done twice in Oklahoma. That we are aware of at this point and time. How many times has this been done in other states. If you use this company to adopt you may not get to keep the child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would close them down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers