Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.739135
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 5, 2012

more

February 5, 2012

An environmental and human rights NGO based in CARAGA Region XIII engaged in policy reforms and legal advocacy on natural resource management, promotion of people’s rights, good governance, and the pursuit for genuine local autonomy and development. Local autonomy enhanced through effective governance, sustainable environmental management and promotion of people’s rights in partnership with marginalized sectors and local government. APREDEC works with marginalized sectors and local governments in CARAGA Region XIII and beyond, through policy reforms, legal advocacy, alliance building, sustainable and democratic environmental governance and management arrangements within the context of participatory development APREDEC exists to engage in advocacy work for reforms and development of creative policies, executive-legislative agenda designed to enhance access and control of local population recognized as preferred resource users secured from constant threats and exploitations by strangers over existing forests, land, marine and aquatic resources. In particular, it aims:

 To engage in advocacy work for policy reforms and development, legislative and executive agenda, resource-enhancement and revenue generation measures at the local, regional and national levels;
 To establish network of legal service providers and extend institutionalized legal assistance to advocates and wardens of coastal/marine resources and environmental protection;

 To undertake feasibility studies,
program and project proposals in various fields of development such as, but not limited to, local resource management, law and order enforcement initiatives, promotion and institutionalization of stewardship, transparency and accountability among national and local government agencies;
 To coordinate, carry out, or receive scholarship grants and programs, study tours and internship projects, for the propagation of its avowed vision, mission and goals; and
 To solicit funds, perform economic activities, receive contributions, donations, gifts, bequest, legacies or endowments in the pursuit of its purposes of existence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

The Nicodemus Wilderness Project has been instrumental in maintaining this adopted area of the Albuquerque Foothills. They have been a willing partner and enthusiastic with their support of the community and the students volunteers. I have only had positive experiences working shoulder to shoulder and in partnership with all involved across the years. Bill Pentler

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Their experience and enthusiasm on all aspects of the projects I've been involved with.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

The Nicodemus Wilderness Project (NWP) teamed up with the City of Albuquerque Open Space Division to adopt the Piedra Lisa Open Space in 2000. At this time the Piedra Lisa Canyon was still suffering from the abuse it had seen prior to it becoming a part of the City of Albuquerque's Open Space program. Since adopting this canyon within the Sandia Foothills, with its rare riparian area, the NWP has helped organize 3 conservation projects each year to help elimate evasive plant species, replant native trees and shrubs, remove graffiti, reduce erosion, construct and maintain trails, and cleanup trash and recyclables. Throughout the last 10 years the NWP has recruited over a thousand volunteers to participate in these conservation projects, with a special focus on involving youth groups. The efforts of the NWP, locally here in ALbuquerque and internationally, have made a difference in the lives of many young people and has had a positve effect on our natural environment.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the positive attitudes of everyone involved.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

reach many more youngsters around the world through the Apprentice Ecologist Initiative and get them involved and caring about our natural environment.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

I have worked with the Nicodemus Wilderness Project (NWP) on their annual Spring Sandia Foothills Conservation project and Make a Difference Day Cleanup for three years. These two events on average bring out 100 volunteers to do trash cleanup, graffiti removal, and trail maintenance in one of the most important natural areas of the City of Albuquerque. In addition to these annual events, their Apprentice Ecologist Initiative, which allows kids from all over the world to get first hand experience with conservation projects and a chance to win a scholarship to continue their work. Their level of dedication and professionalism is outstanding and I highly recommend them as an organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Very successful volunteer projects that they organize twice a year to clean up our local environment.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 28, 2010

more

April 28, 2010

As a close partner working with the Nicodemus Wilderness Project, my experience overall was wonderful. The large amount of work we completed in half a day will continue to keep the area beautiful and enjoyable for all public users as well as the important aspect of cleaning, maintaining, and enhancing the natural environment. My experience working with NWP was rewarding on many accounts. I look forward to working with them again this year. Thank you Nicodemus for protecting the natural environment through community volunteer organizing!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Working with great, caring, and environmentally responsible staff. Their enthusiasm and hard work make this nonprofit topnotch.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 25, 2010

more

April 25, 2010

we are having 300 self help groups , in rural areas of thoothhukudi district we are having volunteers more than 15 years , in stopping ofglobalworming ingrossroot level, invillage level

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

we will make a better development to stop globalworming at croosoot level planting more perenialplats ,trees, toget agreen and clean enronment , balance eco system , to get asustainability in income generation livily hood in rural development

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

* Clean up trash from a mountain, river, shoreline, beach, park, or wilderness area

* Plant native trees in their yard, neighborhood, school, park, open space, or other natural area

* Set up a permanent recycling program in their home

* Take the first steps in setting up a school or community recycling program

* Testify or lobby for the protection of an endangered species or an imperiled natural area

* Prepare and give a talk to school children about wildlife, conservation, recycling, or clean energy issues

* Remove graffiti from a natural area

* Improve awareness about the importance of using renewable energy sources

* Reduce soil erosion by maintaining established trails and closing off short-cuts

* Assist the elderly with their yards by planting/maintaining vegetation that provides native wildlife habitat

* Build a rain garden that utilizes roof runoff to grow vegetation that provides native wildlife habitat Volunteer