Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 14, 2013

more

December 14, 2013

I've been working with Nexus Recovery Center for more than 13 years and continue to see the consistency, growth and commitment to help our clients to a life of sobriety. Our success stories are many. For me, it is about saving one client {and her family} one day at a time. Enriching the lives of our clients is the greatest reward I receive being involved with Nexus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remain vigilant to our mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Nexus Recovery Center is a facility that provides a service in Dallas that is critical to the community. As a volunteer, I know that the staff are dedicated and passionate about their work and that Nexus represents a great investment for my time and dollars. I also know that they make a lasting impact on the women and children that they serve. Nexus is unique in that it provides services to women and allows the women to bring their children along with them. Thus, leaving children behind is removed as a barrier to treatment and women can get the support they need. I have met with their clients and seen the lasting impact on their lives. Please consider donating to this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I walked through the front doors of Nexus Recovery Center I was a “hot mess”. I did not know much about it other than my CPS worker had told me if I wanted to keep my son I would have to complete the program and so I was willing to give it a go.
Now what happened while I
was there was a complete miracle and transformation. I was provided classes that educated me on this disease of addiction that I have. I received first hand experience and guidance from the counselors who were so willing to help me get back on track and explain to me that I was not an awful person. I just had a disease that needed to be arrested. I had complete faith and trust in my counselors because some of them were recovering addicts and it was proof that this program worked. I was in a safe environment and surrounded by other women and children who were on the same path as I and the bond we all shared was essential in our recovery. Nexus offered childcare so that I was fully able to take advantage of classes without worry that my son would be ok. Parenting classes were also made available and I gained many of the tools I still use today in dealing with my children.
After completing Nexus they supplied the resources in finding my son and I housing which gave us the much needed stability in our lives. I am happy to say that I now have over two years clean and I owe it all to Nexus. I developed healthy friendships during my stay that I still cherish today. I remain connected through the aftercare/alumni program and was able to begin working again with the privilege of helping at risk youth. I help give back once a week during the Narcotics Anonymous meeting at Nexus helping new clients with a positive message and a sense of hope. Nexus was instrumental and the key in getting my life back together. Today, I am a healthy and stable daughter, sister, and friend but most importantly a better MOTHER. I highly recommend Nexus to any woman seeking help from active addiction and especially to all mothers seeking family based treatment.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 30, 2012

I've been working with Nexus for the past 8 years. I was introduced to it by helping with a Children's Halloween party there. When I saw the profound effect that help Nexus offered to recovering mothers with children, I knew I had to be a part of this worthwhile organization. The organization has been around for more than 40 years, with the same executive director for over 21 years. How many others can say that? I believe through this exposure not only to the women, but their children, they are educating the next generation about substance abuse and hopefully how to avoid it in the first place. Nexus is the only place in North Texas that takes women WITH their children (and doesn't force them to find alternate care, which sometimes involves having to give them up).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 26, 2011

In August, 2007 I walked through the doors of Nexus. Scared, weak, confused and in total denial, I had no idea of the life changing experience I was about to begin.... Two weeks prior to entering Nexus, I was at deaths door! My body had already gone into renal failure, and I was on my way out of this beautiful world. I was appointed a counselor who listened and validated me. I was surrounded by women who truly cared for me and about my future. I was at Nexus for two weeks and it was an experience I am truly grateful for. They saved my life and will always hold a very special place in my heart! Since leaving Nexus, I go and speak and volunteer as much as I can.... Giving back to those that gave me, my clean and sober LIFE back!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers