Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I began volunteering at NGF beginning of last year as an outreach project for my club at school-- little did I know that this program would have such a profound impact on my life. Seeing the kids grow not only academically but also socially has been an extremely rewarding experience; I have personally seen students expand their vocabulary, improve their critical reading skills, and become more proficient at math just by being a part of the program. Some have also come out of their shells and are now less shy and much more friendly than when I first met them. The kids usually look up to us teens as role models, which is incredible motivation to set a better example for the kids to follow.

Every week I take members of my club from school to tutor. It takes serious dedication for my classmates to get up early on Saturdays mornings, but after coming just once, they begin to look forward to every week. The kids are always cheerful and excited that just by being around them, tutors are encouraged to do their best to help them in school. NGF provides not only a positive and encouraging learning environment for students who are struggling, but also an engaging experience for teens to learn how to manage a classroom and cooperate with others to help the children learn. The benefits of this program are boundless. Even after a year, I am still constantly introducing new peers to the program who fall in love with it. This program is well-organized and ran efficiently, and I am honored to be part of it every weekend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I volunteered with Next Generation Focus for 2 years and it was a truly amazing experience. I made so many friends through this organization and loved watching all of the kids grow and improve. It was really just like one big, supportive family. In high school, I ended up graduating as salutatorian of my class and was very involved in community service. However, of all of the different volunteering activities that I did, Next Generation Focus was by far my favorite! I don't usually write reviews, but I really want others to have the opportunity to have the same life-changing experience that I had. Next Generation Focus is an incredible nonprofit organization. I would HIGHLY recommend NGF and feel very fortunate that I got to be a part of it! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This program is such a rewarding experience to attend every week. It is so nice to come every Saturday and see such beautiful children, ready to learn. This program has rewarded me with the awesome experience of getting to help children in and out of my community. Next Generation Focus is truly an amazing experience for both student and tutor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I love Nest Generation. This year is my fifth year volunteering with them. I love all the kids so much! Watching the kids grow up and learn is the most rewarding thing in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Volunteering at NGF is the best part of my week! Each Saturday, the children are eager to learn and ask questions. Week after week, I get to watch them progress and excel. The tutors and staff are dedicated to make sure that every child has a chance at success. Volunteering at Next Generation Focus has by far been the most heartwarming experience of my life and I am truly blessed to be a part of the team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Volunteering at NGF has been an extremely rewarding experience. The dedication of the volunteers is impressive as they donate their time to further education. The children will benefit for years to come due to the selfless hours given to this organization. I am blessed to be able to serve with NGF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Being a volunteer at NGF has taught me so much, not only have I met new people my age and earned college credit but I have also become more independent and can see the world in a different way now. The experience I have had with NGF is one of the best ones so far. Up until sophomore year I never imagined myself waking up early every Saturday to volunteer, but the women in charge are so wonderful at what they do and the tutors are all just as great there's no way I couldn't come to tutor! I have become a different person and I'm very proud of doing what I do every Saturday and hope to de this program grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is my fourth year with NGF-I can't tell you how many children have been helped by this great organization. They continue to be a key player in fight for literacy in Forsyth County. There is nothing more rewarding for me than when a child first joins us saying that they hate to read, then shortly after seeing them get excited to read because of the new confidence they have! The look of appreciation on the parents faces also means a lot. Every single person in the organization is a volunteer-we all just want to see these kids succeed-from the teachers to the teens, the volunteers are a very impressive group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been a tutor at NGF for a year, I love teaching the kids. I love waking up Saturday mornings to go and teach the kids! The group of people I volunteer with are absolutely amazing. Watching the kids have fun while learning, and grasping on to what we're teaching is the best feeling you could ever have. Next generation focus makes a huge difference on you and the kids, in all the ways you've helped them out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Next Generation Focus (NGF) is a nonprofit organization that facilitates the early years of education. I've been volunteering for 3 years and it's such an awesome program! What benefits the tutors is that you actually learn the basic of the basics and it sometimes actually comes in handy at school. It's a win-win situation! You're really having fun teaching these kids because it's not like the average class. It's smaller, the students have one-on-one time with the tutors, and the tutors try our best not to catch the children up with the curriculum, but exceed. It's just a warm feeling inside knowing that simply waking up every Saturday to teach an elementary student will genuinely change their lives forever. Who knows, maybe you'll be teaching the kid who will eventually become valedictorian of their senior class!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

tutor elementary school children in reading and math as well as mentoring and supporting our high school volunteers.