Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Volunteering at NGF has been an extremely rewarding experience. The dedication of the volunteers is impressive as they donate their time to further education. The children will benefit for years to come due to the selfless hours given to this organization. I am blessed to be able to serve with NGF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

It's a humbling experience to witness the dedication and generosity of our volunteers, staff, students, and parents. I love coming to NGF every Saturday to get my week's worth of smiles, hugs, and inspiration. It's hard sometimes, but at the end of each Saturday, I'm energized by the enthusiasm of our teen tutors and our volunteer teachers, heartened by the perseverance and desire of the parents to help their children, and encouraged by the progress of our students. I can't think of a better way to spend my Saturdays.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I've witnessed the growth of NGF since the very beginning. The impact that NGF makes on the community is tangible and immediate. We receive overwhelmingly positive feedback from our students, volunteers, parents, and school officials. I'm proud to be a part of NGF and am constantly inspired by the dedication of the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Being a volunteer at NGF has taught me so much, not only have I met new people my age and earned college credit but I have also become more independent and can see the world in a different way now. The experience I have had with NGF is one of the best ones so far. Up until sophomore year I never imagined myself waking up early every Saturday to volunteer, but the women in charge are so wonderful at what they do and the tutors are all just as great there's no way I couldn't come to tutor! I have become a different person and I'm very proud of doing what I do every Saturday and hope to de this program grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is my fourth year with NGF-I can't tell you how many children have been helped by this great organization. They continue to be a key player in fight for literacy in Forsyth County. There is nothing more rewarding for me than when a child first joins us saying that they hate to read, then shortly after seeing them get excited to read because of the new confidence they have! The look of appreciation on the parents faces also means a lot. Every single person in the organization is a volunteer-we all just want to see these kids succeed-from the teachers to the teens, the volunteers are a very impressive group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been a tutor at NGF for a year, I love teaching the kids. I love waking up Saturday mornings to go and teach the kids! The group of people I volunteer with are absolutely amazing. Watching the kids have fun while learning, and grasping on to what we're teaching is the best feeling you could ever have. Next generation focus makes a huge difference on you and the kids, in all the ways you've helped them out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Next Generation Focus (NGF) is a nonprofit organization that facilitates the early years of education. I've been volunteering for 3 years and it's such an awesome program! What benefits the tutors is that you actually learn the basic of the basics and it sometimes actually comes in handy at school. It's a win-win situation! You're really having fun teaching these kids because it's not like the average class. It's smaller, the students have one-on-one time with the tutors, and the tutors try our best not to catch the children up with the curriculum, but exceed. It's just a warm feeling inside knowing that simply waking up every Saturday to teach an elementary student will genuinely change their lives forever. Who knows, maybe you'll be teaching the kid who will eventually become valedictorian of their senior class!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I am a teen volunteer. This will be my third year volunteering. I love coming in every week and watching the kids as they progress with the help of all the wonderful teachers and teen volunteers. It is incredible how much the improved and impacted this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I have been a tutor with NGF for the past 2 years and it has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. Watching these kids come back every week and seeing how they've improved has been just incredible. This group of volunteers is one of the best group of people I have ever had the opportunity to work with and I feel so fortunate to have been able to work with them. NGF is making a huge difference in the lives of not only the students, but also in the lives of everyone who has helped out in any way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
April 13, 2011

I have loved being a part of NGF. The vision of this organization is extraordinary. We are helping children who may not be receiving this help in the classroom. As a teacher, I know what a blessing it... more

April 18, 2012

I am a first grade teacher in the same area that NGF serves. I have seen firsthand the impact that this organization is making on the community. They are working to help local schools reach struggling students. In addition to the academic support that they provide, they are also giving these students positive experiences. Students at NGF know that they are important and that they can succeed in school. The high school volunteers provide students with positive role models to encourage them to try their very best at school. I feel extremely blessed to be a part of such a phenomenal organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2011

I have loved being a part of NGF. The vision of this organization is extraordinary. We are helping children who may not be receiving this help in the classroom. As a teacher, I know what a blessing it is to have outside sources available to all students. That's exactly what NGF does! Not only does NGF offer support for students' academic needs, but also support for the parents who seek and desire to be better equipped to help their children. NGF is doing a great work by meeting needs in Forsyth County.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen students make growth in the area of reading through the support of one-on-one or small group tutoring, designed to meet the student where they are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more trained tutors and a permanent facility which would enable NGF to reach more students.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

tutor elementary school children in reading and math as well as mentoring and supporting our high school volunteers.