Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

“Because every child deserves a chance!”

There’s nothing better than seeing a child’s face light up with joy when they learn something new or when they have accomplished a task they never thought they would. Working with these kids have changed the way I looked at life. They are filled
with hope and are genuinely excited each and every week. It makes my heart melt when these kids run up to the tutors and greet them with a warm embrace every Saturday.

I absolutely love volunteering at Next Generation Focus! ☺

All of the tutors and staff have such great big hearts! This program is filled with dedication. The staff and tutors’ dedication to the kids helps them grow and succeed in not only school, but life as well. NGF benefits the educational aspect of the child’s life, and also allows us, the tutors, to connect to the children personally and make them feel welcomed. They begin to feel confident and want to accomplish all of their dreams and goals.

I am so proud to be a part of this wonderful program. I feel like I have made a difference in my community. It also drives me to be a better person everyday because I know these kids are looking up to the tutors. I want to be a good role model to them.

“If you are given a chance to be a role model, I think you should always take it, because you can influence a person's life in a positive light, and that's what I want to do. That's what it's all about.”

I constantly talk about Next Generation Focus to everyone that I meet and I even invite my friends to help volunteer every Saturday.

I truly believe in this program and I feel that Next Generation Focus needs more recognition in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

This is a wonderful program. This is my first year with NGF and I am so proud to be part of this program. I feel that this program is going to allow me to make such a difference in my community. There are so many under privilege kids needing help in areas such as math, science, and reading, and this program allows them to get the help they need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of days of this program. It is sad that this program can only function one day a week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

I work with abused and neglected children in the local juvenile court. The children we serve often struggle with their school work. Next Generation Focus gives us an affordable resource to assist in this area. The children's progress is measured throughout. This means we are not just putting a service into place because it is needed. We can also expect success. The children adore the amazing young tutors who work with them. They want to succeed for them. Often the expectation of success in school is not a priority in their homes. It takes a very special organization to give them the wish to succeed as well as the means to do so. I have personally visited on Saturday mornings and watched the children coming in excited to spend their Saturday morning with their favorite tutors. I fully endorse this organization and hope to see it grow and expand in our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

Not only has this organization bettered our community but it has bettered me as a person. This is my second year volunteering with Next Generation Focus and I plan to continue volunteering through college and hopefully after. This program has helped so many struggling young children and given me the opportunity to become close with these kids. NGF has become such an important part of my life and I hope to continue to see it grow in our community and beyond.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I began volunteering at NGF beginning of last year as an outreach project for my club at school-- little did I know that this program would have such a profound impact on my life. Seeing the kids grow not only academically but also socially has been an extremely rewarding experience; I have personally seen students expand their vocabulary, improve their critical reading skills, and become more proficient at math just by being a part of the program. Some have also come out of their shells and are now less shy and much more friendly than when I first met them. The kids usually look up to us teens as role models, which is incredible motivation to set a better example for the kids to follow.

Every week I take members of my club from school to tutor. It takes serious dedication for my classmates to get up early on Saturdays mornings, but after coming just once, they begin to look forward to every week. The kids are always cheerful and excited that just by being around them, tutors are encouraged to do their best to help them in school. NGF provides not only a positive and encouraging learning environment for students who are struggling, but also an engaging experience for teens to learn how to manage a classroom and cooperate with others to help the children learn. The benefits of this program are boundless. Even after a year, I am still constantly introducing new peers to the program who fall in love with it. This program is well-organized and ran efficiently, and I am honored to be part of it every weekend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I volunteered with Next Generation Focus for 2 years and it was a truly amazing experience. I made so many friends through this organization and loved watching all of the kids grow and improve. It was really just like one big, supportive family. In high school, I ended up graduating as salutatorian of my class and was very involved in community service. However, of all of the different volunteering activities that I did, Next Generation Focus was by far my favorite! I don't usually write reviews, but I really want others to have the opportunity to have the same life-changing experience that I had. Next Generation Focus is an incredible nonprofit organization. I would HIGHLY recommend NGF and feel very fortunate that I got to be a part of it! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I have a ten year old (girl) attending this program and it has been phenomenal. When she came to live with me and originally started the program, she was two years behind, in 2nd grade, but performing on a Kindergarten 1 month level. She was unable to recognize her sight words. She was terrified of reading and would cry. The team at SmarterMe jumped right in, made her feel comfortable and had her take an assessment. Once they understood her level they determined which area would best serve her and she was given an action plan. She is responsible for reading each day and writing a summary to show that she understand what she has read, which also helps her writing skills. This is her second year in the program and she is now reading above level! What an awesome transformation. In addition to the fundamentals, SmarterMe rewards the students wtih activities, music, fun events and more. The cost for this program is very minimal and well worth it!! I donate when I can because they keep the cost so low to reach everyone. I will be sad is too old to attend as the help from SmarterMe has been invaluable to our family! The team is very approachable and the program is very safe - I asked all of the pertinent questions, which were promptly welcomed and answered by the staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Incredible organization, faithfully serving those in our community to impact the next generation!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My daughter always had problems reading on her grade level. She has always been reading a couple grades lower than her grade and hated reading. I've had private tutors and read every night with her. Since she has been taking the SmarterMe class she loves reading and for the first time on her report card received great grades in reading. The staff at SmarterMe really care for the students and is a very positive part of my daughters Saturday mornings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This program is such a rewarding experience to attend every week. It is so nice to come every Saturday and see such beautiful children, ready to learn. This program has rewarded me with the awesome experience of getting to help children in and out of my community. Next Generation Focus is truly an amazing experience for both student and tutor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

tutor elementary school children in reading and math as well as mentoring and supporting our high school volunteers.