Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

The NEXT 10 Budget Challenge was a perfect fit for our YMCA program with high school students. Our "delegates" learned way more in this interactive program than they could have discovered in traditional research or interviews. We also appreciated the flexible way that NEXT 10 fit into our already existing program schedule and location. YMCA Youth & Government's Department of Finance was greatly enhanced by this experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Sarah was amazing, she came out and not only did we get to share our program with her, she had an amazing impact on the youth that she spoke with. We look forward to continuing our relationship with Next 10.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I absolutely love Next 10! It lets anyone be a state legislator and balance the budget all by him or herself -- either alone, or in a group. Along the way, it teaches all of us about the reality of the state budget is -- where the money comes from, how much is involved, where it goes, and all of the trade-offs that have to be made. I refer people to Next 10 on a regular basis when they have questions about the California state budget: it's a great tool for everyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I use the Budge Challenge created by Next 10 for teaching my students about budget realities in California. I have used it for more than 5 years and given hundreds of college students hands on experience with crafting a state budget. This is an excellent tool for educating and engaging even the least interested citizen in the impact of budget choices on their every day lives. Two thumbs up!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

September 11, 2012

Ms. Sarah Henry
Program Director
Next 10
300 Brannan Street, Suite 402
San Francisco, California 94107

Dear Ms. Henry:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your expertise with the Panetta Institute’s 2012 congressional
internship class. The Panetta interns have the reputation for being among the best-prepared interns on Capitol Hill. The reason for this has to do with speakers like you, whose presentations are brilliant, with up-to-date information, presented in a lively format and manner. I want to extend my deepest appreciation to you for taking the time to share your insights and knowledge.

Again, thank you for providing the information and encouragement these students need to be successful and dedicated to lives of public service.

Sincerely,

Sylvia M. Panetta
Director

SMP:rk/p

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

Sarah Henry presented at our Leadership Council lunch. By definition, we have the top leaders in the county at our meetings, and they have had many, many presentations. This was one of the very best, because its interactive nature and immediate feedback on the consequences of the choices we made were extremely illuminating. Each member of the group got a clearer picture of the ramifications of our choices, and had a better understanding of the difficulty legislators face when developing a budget. I recommend this presentation for all civic-minded groups. It's the best!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Sarah Henry came to our League of Women Voters Eden Area to do the CA Budget Challenge presentation for our group. Although Leaguers pride themselves on being well versed on issues such as the budget--Sarah's presentation was an eye opener. We learned a lot of up-to-date information on the budget as she explained each of the choices we had to select from in taking the challenge. The presentation was educational, informative and interesting because of Sarah's professionalism and the fact that the challenge is interactive. We picked up two new members of the League as a result of the program and got lots of positive feedback from attendees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

I have used the Next Ten budget challenge for several years in my American Government classes at De Anza College. We've also had them come present in the classroom twice now. It's a fabulous tool to make a complex set of issues understandable to average Californians. It also forces everyone to make real choices that balance values, desires, and real political choices. No more complaining that we want government service without then figuring out that one way or another, we need to figure out how to pay for it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2011

more

May 23, 2011

our students received a first rate introduction to the california budget. the effort to educate the voter/student provided a critical lesson in how our tax dollars are allocated and what the future holds for the state. moreover, the effort to engage and include the audience in the budget is essential to the well being of our communities. the participants received the best budget experience and without a partisan spin.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i have been to two of the next 10 presentation. the first in sacramento organized by state senator wolk. i organized the visit to chabot college. it was an effort for the students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

January 5, 2010

more

January 5, 2010

I teach California Contemporary Issues to junior and seniors. The Budget Challenge was a perfect culminating activity. It made the see the relevance to the units we had covered as well as make them make judgements on where monies should be spent. We had quite a bit of differences in opinions which sparked debate and made students realize that even within their peer group they were not on the same page. In the future, I would like to expand this activity from a 75 min activity to a two hoursso that we can get into even deeper debates on these important issues. I feel so fortunate that this organization is out there providing this valuable service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my California Contemporary Issues class

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Ways to make it better...

had more time

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers