Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I´m a proud supporter of New York Sun Works and its star program The Greenhouse Project since 2008, when the first greenhouse science lab was built atop a public school in Manhattan. The idea was to create a laboratory facility in which public school children could learn the sciences, including environmental science, through a hand-on approach and through experimentation. Today, many more greenhouse labs have been completed in all 5 boroughs to the benefit of over four thousand children, and hundreds of teachers have received DOA-approved training on how to better utilize these lab facilities. NYSW is well on its way to reach its goal of building 100 Greenhouse labs by the end of the decade.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

NYSW does a great job of helping this generation of students learn and understand the importance of sustainability in our food production systems. Their model of student engagement in their greenhouse labs, coupled with classroom work and actual food production, is one that that I wish could be emulated in metro areas in other states.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

Six years ago my good friend asked me to help with fund raising for an environmental science lab she wanted to build in a local NYC school. It was a totally new idea and we were so proud that we were able to get one funded and built. But we decided that one Greenhouse Project was not enough and that we needed to roll it out on a larger scale. I'm proud to say we now have more than 30 projects at various stages of completion and we have more interest than we would have ever dreamed of. But I'm also super proud at how well the organization is run, how frugal and careful our board is with the money we raise, how efficiently our directors manage the organization and projects; and best of all, how much the children, teachers, and parents love the program. It's really a special charity.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I have the utmost respect and admiration for the leadership of NYSW and their mission to bring Sustainability Education into the classroom to inspire children to find solutions for our Global Climate crisis.
When they asked me to join the board without hesitation I said yes. I am so happy it
is possible for more and more schools to have the Hydroponic Systems. It is clear there is a growing desire from more and more schools to expand their curriculum so the children can stretch their minds and learn a skill set that will serve the planet well . This inspires me to find ways to continue to help NYSW grow

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Picked up from the NY Sun Works barge in the Hudson River by one classroom mother and developed, together with another classroom mother, into an elementary school science laboratory, in less than four years the Greenhouse Project has made hands-on urban farming a part of the learning experience effectively integrated not only into the curriculum of 15 of New York’s elementary schools but also into the lives of the children. The children will take with them a personal knowledge of the fundamentals of sustainable development and pride in the production of a healthy food supply.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At present each school must provide the funding for their Greenhouse project labs and I consider the value of the project such that it should have public funding to enable to reach more schools.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014





One of our goals this year was to focus on the importance of Science learning across the school. Our science vertical team consisting of teachers, parents and our partners with NY Sunworks and Urban Advantage have organized and planned three important Science events: Science
Symposium, Science Fair and the “NY Sun Works Youth Conference @ MSC: Discovering Sustainability Science.

At the Science Sustainability Symposium, 5th-8th students were charged to complete a long-term investigation greenhouse project demonstrating their knowledge and scientific creativity of sustainable science. Students presented their projects on “Discovering Sustainable Science.” They demonstrated their mastery of our environmental Science curriculum, which was developed in partnership with NY Sunworks. During the Science Sustainability Symposium, students and staff and guest evaluators assessed project-based learning and challenge based module projects and shared comments based on a rubric that was designed by students and the Science team. Projects were then chosen and students of those projects will have opportunity to audition to be a presenter at the “NY Sun Works Youth Conference @ MSC: Discovering Sustainability Science on June 13th.

Our goal and mission of Science Fair 2014 was to showcase student work in Science that concentrates on science investigation through the Science curriculum.
K, 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th grades: Created classroom sustainable science project completed in the greenhouse
5th grade: Designed investigative Science Projects developed during science instruction in the greenhouse
6th graders: Shared original designs of sustainable buildings built during the Sustainable Cities Sustainable Solutions module. The creative buildings address the environmental issues confronted by our growing population.
7th graders: Presented original designs of original hydroponic systems, with an operations manual based on their research of hydroponic farming during the Hydroponic Games module. Another group presented their action plans as solutions to raise awareness and to significantly cut energy use at our school, resulting in financial savings and reduced environmental impact. This energy teamwork is working in partnership with the Pathways of the Eco-Schools USA program.
8th Graders: Presented solutions to combat threats to our ocean during the Conserving Oceans module. They shared explanations with the goal to address the impact of this problem on other organisms and the how it affects the state of the ocean in future years if this problem continues. Another group from the We are What You Eat module presented their research of the current food system and ways to educate our school and local communities about the food system and how they can change it for the better. They also shared their educational ad campaign about their solutions as a national platform to bring countrywide attention to this problem. (8th grade projects will also be presented at the Urban Advantage expo at the museum of natural history in June).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My school has a NY Sun Works greenhouse and I think it is great. We learn a lot about sustainability and studying food systems. We also design and build our own farming systems which is really interesting. We have also done fun video campaigns about health to try to convince younger students at the school to make better choices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

NY Sun Works does an amazing job of incorporating every aspect of STEM learning using their hydroponic and aquaponic systems to their fullest. Whether biology, chemistry, earth sciences, or physics, their grade-appropriate lesson plans combined with the hands-on labs add a depth to the material being taught. Not only does it allow kids to really grasp and work with the concepts in a way that just isn't possible in a typical classroom, but it teaches the students that they have the ability to change the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding so they can be placed in more schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have been a donor for several years and to see the way Sun Works has grown in so many schools is amazing and bodes well for the future. Honestly, it is a credit to their commitment how Sun Works is able to do so much with such a small group of people and still manage to change the conversation around sustainability science and education for the better. I will continue to support this organization any way I can, and hope that many will do the same. A solid investment with big growth opportunities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise their profile to ensure more funding

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

NY Sun Works is really on to something. Using hydroponic food production as a launch pad for science and sustainability education is one of the most exciting delivery systems for this kind of engaged learning that I have ever seen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on incorporating a community-driven approach to social justice as an integral part of transformative STEM education. This would further frame these skills in the context of how they could benefit the students' communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers