Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

NY Sun Works does an amazing job of incorporating every aspect of STEM learning using their hydroponic and aquaponic systems to their fullest. Whether biology, chemistry, earth sciences, or physics, their grade-appropriate lesson plans combined with the hands-on labs add a depth to the material being taught. Not only does it allow kids to really grasp and work with the concepts in a way that just isn't possible in a typical classroom, but it teaches the students that they have the ability to change the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding so they can be placed in more schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have been a donor for several years and to see the way Sun Works has grown in so many schools is amazing and bodes well for the future. Honestly, it is a credit to their commitment how Sun Works is able to do so much with such a small group of people and still manage to change the conversation around sustainability science and education for the better. I will continue to support this organization any way I can, and hope that many will do the same. A solid investment with big growth opportunities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise their profile to ensure more funding

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

NY Sun Works is really on to something. Using hydroponic food production as a launch pad for science and sustainability education is one of the most exciting delivery systems for this kind of engaged learning that I have ever seen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on incorporating a community-driven approach to social justice as an integral part of transformative STEM education. This would further frame these skills in the context of how they could benefit the students' communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

New York Sun Works is an amazing non profit which connects and works with NYC public schools in a way so few organizations are doing. Our K-8th grade school, Manhattan School For Children, has incorporated innovative science curriculum for all our students from Kindergarden through the 8th grade and has promoted hands on learning in a way that is exciting for every age. Manhattan School For Children's Greenhouse, is the first one of its kind, and it is built on our building's rooftop, and includes an aquaponics system where both fish and plants co-exist, a vertically-intergrated garden, a cooling system so you don't need air-conditioning, solar panels, and everything about living and promoting a sustainable future. Our science curriculum is so much more enriched and progressive, preparing our children for the 21st century. Our school is forever changed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to this organization. We just need to expand what they do so they have the resources to provide their expertise to public schools across the country.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

As a Horticulturist, I had not been involved in Hydroponics since my last year of College at SUNY Morrisville, class of '98. I first learned of NY Sun Works, through a Special report in PBS, I was fascinated to see how education and schools were becoming part of this new curriculum of Hydroponics, Aquaponics & their importance for future generations. I'm grateful to had been accepted as an Intern, since June I've worked side by side with Students, Teachers & most of all The NY Sun Works Staff. It's amazing to see how practical, formidable & intriguing the whole endeavor is. The care and work that goes into this project amazes me everyday. I'm glad I took a chance at wanting to update my Hydroponics skills. Forever grateful to have done it at an outstanding program. Thanks! :)
Lisette Tiburcio
AAS in Horticulture / Horticultural Therapist / Designer

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 9, 2013

I have been a supporter of NY Sun Works' for several years because I believe in making science education accessible and exciting for all students. I'm proud that my support has helped reach hundreds (if not thousands) of school kids through NY Sun Works' school-partnerships and teacher-training course. As a supporter, I feel very connected to the work through the newsletters and the wonderful annual event I look forward to attending each year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

I have been a supporter of NY Sun Works' for several years because I believe in making science education accessible and exciting for all students. I'm proud that my support has helped reach hundreds (if not thousands) of school kids through NY Sun Works' school-partnerships and teacher-training course. As a supporter, I feel very connected to the work through the newsletters and the wonderful annual event I look forward to attending each year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

NY Sun Works is a critical asset among the educational tools available to our children. This kind of highly specific, place-based learning, with its focus on real world science, is too rare in our monolithic urban school systems. As an organization, NY Sun Works is as genuine and grass-roots as it is relevant and empowering. I founded the organization in 2005, but my vision to develop greenhouse science laboratories on and in every school in the city has been taken up, expanded, and improved by dozens of others since. The parents and teachers who form the heart and soul of the organization see the rooftops of New York City as an untapped resource for delivering science, sunlight, and the magic of living things to their children and students. They have taken vision to reality, first by building the Sun Works Center at PS 333, then by building other greenhouses large and small, and along the way developing a top notch formal curriculum in accord with Dept of Education standards and guidelines, so the barriers to learning biology, chemistry and physics by growing and managing living plants and animals - in the heart of New York City - are lower than ever before.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

New York Sunworks is one of the best charities I have ever come across. I have served on the boards of several charitable organizations throughout the years and am completely impressed with the dedication and efficiency of everyone involved. The board is very careful and cost conscious, the teachers are excellent and the kids love everything they learn. Donating to the Greenhouse project is creating a legacy of urban farming, sustainability and environmental consciousness for generations of children to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

New York Sun Works has found a sweet spot around science, nature, technology, food and urbanism. They address the surging interest in urban agriculture in ways that appeals to adults and kids both. But it is the children's work that is inspiring - they absorb the science and policy lessons in remarkable ways.

I am an architect who has worked with NYSW on several greenhouse projects. It has been personally very rewarding to collaborate with them on innovative structures that are not just containers for the curriculum, but teaching tools themselves. Every city school should have one of these!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More resources to expand the mission -

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers