Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.976195
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

My son has severe dyslexia and ADD. He got nothing out of public kindergarten where there were 30+ children in his class. He never wanted to go to school, and worse, did not want to learn to read or write. Coming to New Way changed everything for us. My son is in a class with a dozen other children that have very similar learning difficulties, with two amazing teachers that do not quit until they find the right tools to reach my child. The speach teacher, OT specialist, and reading specialist are all wonderful too. Even the the finance guy is great to work with! We moved across the country for my son to attend this school, and it was absolutely worth it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Our daughter was not thriving emotionally at her Catholic school. We needed a change fast as her self-esteem took a nose dive. We knew she is smart, very smart, in fact! But we needed an environment and people who would understand our girl and meet her where she was at and go from there. She is so happy now AND SHE IS LEARNING SO MUCH. We always say that we are paying the pretty penny to New Way so that she develops the strongest sense of self and that is not expensive- IT IS PRICELESS! We would make the decision over a thousand times if we could go back in time. The leadership and all of the staff care as much about our daughter as we do. That may not even sound possible, but that's how they operate. Sometimes we can't even believe New Way is real because of how great it is. The second we took our tour, we were sold. We scheduled her shadow day within the week and signed on the dotted line. Easiest choice ever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2011

My daughter is currently in 5th grade at New Way Academy and she started there when she was in second grade. She came from public school where they put in the minimum effort and they were moving her t... more

October 28, 2012

This school is a terrific alternative to the typical public school setting if your child is having difficulties learning. I have truly never seen such dedicated teachers and staff. For many children that attend here, this school saved their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

My daughter is currently in 5th grade at New Way Academy and she started there when she was in second grade. She came from public school where they put in the minimum effort and they were moving her through with no real understanding of her problems and even less compassion. The following year she started at New Way. It saved her life, and mine. There she (we) found teachers who "got" her and embraced who she was and her learning differences and kids who accepted her. She has made steady progress every year, she feels loved and accepted, and I feel blessed to be able to send my daughter to this school. Although it hasn't always been easy for her, my daughter has been able to achieve far more than I ever thought she would thanks to the continuous patience and support of her teachers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

education of my daughter

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to help the school grow by reaching out more to the community and raising money. If the tuition could be a little lower, more parents could afford to send their children to this school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

New Way has made a huge difference in our son's academic and social life. Instead of focusing on how to reach our son, the public school spent valuable time when he was in the primary grades sticking him in self-contained classrooms with teachers that didn't have a clue how to treach our son. By the age of 8 our son was so frustrated and was acting out so much we were in fear of him being labeled ED. He left public school distrustful of teachers and testing well below the 5th percentile in all academic areas. The transition to New Way was bumpy but our son finally learned to read. This has meant the world to him; he now loves to read and is able to access his curriculum! In addition, the sports program is top notch. Our son competes on New Way teams with other schools in the following sports: basketball, flag football, dodge ball and soccer. He has made friends and is developing important social skills. New Way hires only caring educators that know how to teach children who learn differently! Thank you New Way!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

My son has struggled his entire academic life...the public middle school consistently failed him, even though he received special education services. In his first quarter at New Way, he has improved already. He is motivated to complete assignments and is actually learning the material!!! I will absolutely recommend New Way to other families!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

This school has given my grandson what he could not get in public school. Instead of "accommodation," where the the standards were lowered so he could pass, this school is educating him so that he gets the knowledge he was missing in public school. In addition to the excellent, up-to-date teaching programs they have at this school, they assist with the social aspect as well. My grandson is now surrounded by friends and is learning how to interact and develop the social skills that will make him successful as an adult. The best of all, despite the rigors of the curriculum, he is happy and goes to school willingly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

My son struggles with learning difficulties and was not performing well at school. We moved him to New Way where they teach children who learn in unique ways. He is thriving and doing so well in school. He loves going to school every day - And we both love New Way!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

This school has changed my son’s life. They address his needs and help him.
At the beginning of the year he could barely read and now he reading entire paragraphs to me. He also has issues with communication and I feel like he has come a long way. People can have actual conversations with him.
I can’t express how much this school has helped my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

New Way is a place where my son feels like he belongs. He never complains about going to school. He is given the opportunity to learn the way that feels right for him. He has been there for four years, and I can't imagine him being anywhere else. He has self confidence, is very self assured, and has a lot of friends. The teachers are amazing - both knowledgeable and compassionate. They are real pros. The staff overall is a dedicated group of hard workers who really care. I finally found a school that understands my child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 20, 2011

New Way Academy is truly a life saver for our son and our entire family. There is no where else where he and so many other kids who just learn differently could flourish so completely. Every week I... more

October 26, 2012

There are perhaps a handful of schools like New Way in the entire country, but I daresay none that have the unique ability to serve a diverse population of students so well in so many ways. The teachers are just incredible. The administration and board are selflessly dedicated. My son has many good friends here, is involved in athletics, engaged academically and loves going to school every day. He is living a dream we always had for him-made possible by New Way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

New Way Academy is truly a life saver for our son and our entire family. There is no where else where he and so many other kids who just learn differently could flourish so completely.

Every week I am amazed at how the staff continually fosters his academic and social growth. He
willingly does his homework, and support is readily available if needed. He is socially integrated, which is due in no small part to the environment created by the staff.

Every week he tells me how much he enjoys his school. What more could a parent ask for

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son is able to enjoy a full school experience thanks to New Way. I have seen him make great strides academically and socially, and even when he stalls, the teachers never give up...not even for a day. He picks up on this, and he never gives up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would consider is having some part time faculty assist the teachers in intensive subjects.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers