Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Our family's experience with New Way has been nothing short of extraordinary. Currently in 11th grade, my son came to New Way in 7th grade, on the verge of helplessness and desperation. After struggling to receive the services necessary to educate him in a way he could learn, as well as feeling socially inept and inferior, my 7th grade child had lost the "light" in his eyes. He started believing that he wasn't "good enough" and, as a parent, it was gut-wrenching and heartbreaking. Fast forward five years and you would think he was walking on sunshine. The administrators, teachers, staff, and students at New Way have brought so much light back into my son's eyes that our family is blinded by it. He has learned to self-advocate (diagnosed with ADHD, Asperger's) and no longer sees his learning differences as learning disabilities. He is better equipped to face his challenges and understands that although there may very well be lifelong obstacles that require rigorous work, his way of learning is worthy and worth the struggle. We admire the dedication the administrators and teachers have to continuing their education, constantly integrating new teaching methods to access learning styles on an individual level. There is no "one size fits all" approach to teaching. I have seen learning take place on both sides of the table, and the passion that oozes from our New Way family for what they "do" is palpable. Not a day goes by that we don't shout our gratitude for the GIFT OF NEW WAY from the mountaintop. Yeah, it's cliche… but my kid's future is so bright he is already wearing shades. What a transformation!
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

New Way is the school that has transformed my daughter from an anxious, non-adventuresome young 1st grader to a self-confident, outgoing, funny and friendly 7th grader! These past 6 years at New Way have provided nothing less than a miracle for her. She has been given the tools and continues to be given the tools for her to be a successful independent young woman. The staff at New Way is beyond anything I have ever seen at a school. They are not only her teachers, occupational and speech therapists, administrative staff, but they are EXTENDED FAMILY! New Way is a priceless blessing to my daughter and our family. There are no words to describe how thankful I am to have found New Way for our daughter!!!
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Attending New Way Academy has been a life-changing blessing for our son. Currently in 8th grade, he has attended New Way for the past 3 years. With his significant learning differences, he was so far behind in the public school he previously attended, even with an IEP and 2.5 hours of special education daily. Since starting at New Way, his self-esteem has greatly improved as he learns to work around his learning differences. Because of the combination of well-qualified teachers, exceptional administrative and therapy staff, a well-rounded curriculum, the low teacher/student ratio, and the extra curricular activities including sports teams, we now have a happy, thriving son. I would wholeheartedly recommend New Way Academy to any parent who has a child with learning differences.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I could go on and on about how much my daughter has grown and matured, both socially and academically since starting as a first grader (she's in seventh now). And I could write pages about how unbelievably committed the entire staff, from the receptionist to the principal, are to our children. I could write about how my timid, self-doubting, anxiety-ridden first grader has blossomed into a confident, social, funny, and accomplished young woman.

Or, I could sum up New Way in one simple sentence. New Way doesn't just educate our children - New Way saves them.

Thank you!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Both my children attend New Way. I love how supportive the staff and administration are. They understand the challenges we face helping our children reach their true potentials. Since moving to the new campus some very exciting programs have been implemented. New Way continues to offer all the specialist services that our kids need, in a kind positive atmosphere. The best news is that there has been so many new programs and activities for the students. The elementary girls went to Mrs. Ross and Mr. Walker and said we want to be cheerleaders also. They reacted immediately and now the Jr. Bulldogs cheer in their awesome outfits alongside the high school cheerleaders. New Way has a wonderful gym and weight room for the athletes. This year a music program was implemented that is a favorite with the children. Learning is so difficult for most of the students that it is a nice break to have a music program, wonderful art classes, P.E. For the first time ever New Way is doing a musical. The kids are so excited and it really feels like it has energized the entire school. I asked my kids at dinner what is their favorite class of course they said music, art, recess, then my daughter said mom I love my reading class. This coming from years of her refusing the extra tutoring and reading at a pre-k level in second grade. School has become fun for her and she even asks for homework, what a complete 360 degree change. With six kids in my sons class and eight in my daughters what parent could ask for more. They are being taught the way they learn best and it shows. I am proud to call New Way my children's second home. Thank you all staff you are amazing.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Before the current principal, this school was focused on helping students achieve their best in an public education system that wouldn't and couldn't address the needs of increasing ADHD/ASD children. They were ahead of their time with 123 Magic and other behavioral therapies proven to work. For 10 years they taught my son and he excelled.

Recently though, the principal that was the heart and soul of the school was forced into retirement. The politicians had taken over the board and were pushing a different, elitist agenda. One that wasn't in line with the mission of the founders or principal. So she was replaced and a new principal, with little or no experience was placed in the position. The focus became not on academics, but how to make this school more of private elite school than a nationally recognized school for learning disabled. It is a sad end to a great school with great instructors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change out the board members from elitist politicians and put the emphasis back on teaching children with learning disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The services provided by New Way Academy give hope and the fulfillment of a great educational experience to the students who attend. I have seen students who were part of the acceptable loss group in public education come into their own. No greater gift exists than that of education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

My son was officially diagnosed with dyslexia when he was 5. He was not reading, writing and he recognized that something was wrong and that he was different from the other children. He quickly compensated for his difference by becoming the class clown and turning into "Mr. Personality" even though inside his ego was damaged and his self-esteem was slowly disintegrating. He went from a happy child to an unhappy, sad child who no longer wanted to go to school. We were lucky that he was diagnosed early and as soon as we enrolled him at New Way Academy, he quickly transformed into a happy, fully-engaged, child who LOVES going to school each and every day. Fast forward and one+ years later, he continues to progress and love every day at school. He is now reading, writing and doing great in math. He loves that the school is small enough to feel comfortable, but just large enough for him to feel a part of a bigger, robust school with a traditional campus culture. The teachers and staff at New Way are remarkable and unsurpassed and we couldn't be happier. We plan for our son to continue at New Way for a very, very long time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

This school has been incredible for my special needs child. The experts have been amazing in identifying my child's needs and working to get the resources to support her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

New Way Academy provides both an academic and supportive atmosphere. I watched my kids struggle and fall behind year after year in traditional schools. They grew discouraged and withdrew from the teachers and other students. New Way's approach to teaching, small classes, and individualized education planning has made school a positive experience for my kids. I am delighted not only with their academic progress but also their personal growth. New Way is a private school but they have staff that work with parents to apply for funds that are available to parents of children with learning differences. I highly recommend New Way Academy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers