Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.705885
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This is a great organization with clear, achievable goals of opening GLBTQ Centers around New Mexico. Two years after the Las Cruces center opened and the Gallup center is up and running! Are there problems? Of course! Even at 2 years old, the LC center is still in its infancy. But they've done great things so far and offer much-needed services to the LC community. Onward and upward!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

With the comfiest couches coffee pots and mugs, movies and books, fun activities, groups, a board to magnet out poetry even and above all peopled with some of the warmest heartiest people I have met in Las Cruces! I love the center for what it does for the community, and even for allies like me. A space and a group Las Cruces should be proud of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

When I started volunteering with this organization, I was in a depressed state wanting to do something positive with my life. Volunteering at the Center 3 days a week helped lift that depression and I became friends with people in the LGBTQ community here in Las Cruces. I moved up to Volunteer Coordinator and it was a very fulfilling experience, giving me more hands on knowledge of what the LGBTQ community wants to help with and where we are needed the most. Again, I made more friends and I also became more confident with myself and was in a position to lead. it was such a good feeling and through remarks from my volunteers, I learned that I was giving back the same good feeling. I grew into a Co-Operations Manager position which put me in more authority making decisions for the center. It has been exciting to see where we can go and it has been fulfilling knowing that I'm helping people out there that were just like me. I have met so many positive people, both in the LGBTQ community and with allies. Knowing that I'm helping make a difference in just one person's life can move me to tears. I truly feel that I'm on the right path in my life journey. Thank you to NM GLBTQ Centers for letting me be a part of its history!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping with events. I've had the pleasure of overseeing an events and fund raising committee that raised monies for the Center 3 months in a row - the most money we've made in 2 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more volunteers. We need more help with the events and fund raising committees. I consider these committees to be the most fun and thrilling putting everything together. We have a great Events Coordinator and Fund Raising Coordinator. We just need more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We need an experienced Board of Members that are willing to help get their hands dirty during our early stages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Because of the duties that I took on, I've learned more computer software programs and I've learned to be the "Human Resources" person in charge of most of our volunteers which is an uplifting experience. I've also learned to participate in the local community to help make a difference in the LGBTQ community.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled.

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

when I first started to figure myself out I never knew where to turn. but once i learned about the center and it being open I could not contain myself. since this place has been open this is my happy place everyone is so nice and kind its like a home away from home they treat you as if you no different than anyone else this place never cease to bore me this place is wonderful i owe it all to the GLBTQ center what they are doing is amazing!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Working with the volunteers has been a great experience by far. I am glad to be part of a service that is expanding into the community. Also, working with Cassie and Teresa has been inspiring. To see two dedicated individuals put tons of effort and energy to make things happen is awesome. Thank you everybody!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

This local center really cares about GLBTQ people in the community and works toward making the world a better place for everyone. Their first priority is helping and supporting people and valuing their experiences and lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

update our library catalog
help someone new to the area find a GLBTQ friendly doctor
Do a Life Line workshop (suicide prevention) Volunteer