Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 2, 2014

more

April 2, 2014

A win-win-win program. We got a WONDERFUL dog, Chase Utley (go Phils), the handlers got a new skill set and a chance at t fresh start, and Chase's new leash on life brings joy every day, This program is the best. Please support it!
April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

This program gives new life and purpose to both the handler/trainer and their animal. A reciprocal gift and blessing for both. It warms my heart to know this program exists. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

I love this program and can't wait for the next opportunity to volunteer! This program gives dogs and humans hope that we can change things around. Dogs trained positively and placed in loving homes while helping inmates learn the true meaning of empathy is a win win for all!.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more programs that pull dogs out of the shelters!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

I am the Re-entry Manager at New Leash on Life-USA. My job is to support the returning citizen once released from prison-as we term post release support. I enjoy my job, although challenging at times. I see many men, returning to society from prison, who do well with employment, reintegrating with their families and helping in the community. This is a rewarding experience for the returning citizen, and the program. Did I mention that I enjoy my job?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more prisons and more staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Training a vulnerable population (inmates in the city of Philadelphia) who may have had a very aversive upbringing to use positive and motivational techniques to help another vulnerable population (shelter animals) is such a win/win! As a local dog trainer who preaches the importance of positive reinforcement training for animals on a regular basis, it does my heart good to see an organization that supports positive-based methodology for humans as well as animals! Keep up the good work New Leash on Life-USA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put them in more prisons!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

New Leash on Life, the vision of Founder Marian Marchese, is about second chances, and not just for the dogs that are rescued from their impending fate of being euthanized, but for those that society might otherwise have given up on as part of the U.S. prison population.

Through bonding
with these incredible animals, and a structured educational program, the prison inmates, that would otherwise re-enter society upon release from prison as many arrived, with no job skills, graduate from the New Leash on Life program with confidence and new found skills, so that they may succeed in society with “careers” in animal welfare.

Every aspect of the New Leash program has been researched and developed, providing positive results for both the prison inmates and dogs. The dogs selected for the program, are those dogs that would otherwise be forgotten by society. The incredible animals, chosen by the professional trainers and volunteers, for their temperament and probable success, have all “graduated” from the program with their Canine Good Citizen credentials. Each dog has gone on to be successfully adopted. One of the adopted canines has gained national recognition for her therapy work with ill children at the Ronald McDonald House in Philadelphia.

The statistics on the successful completion of an internship and follow on employment for those prisoners that complete the New Leash on Life and re-enter society, though not 100%, are overwhelming positive.

Due to program “capacity” limits of the prison dog training program, New Leash on Life also works to place additional dogs in “forever” homes, so that some day there will no longer be the need for animal shelters. Having recently fostered one of New Leash on Life’s dogs, I was amazed by the measures that the staff and volunteers took, as well as their professionalism, to ensure the ultimate success of placing the dog with a family.

New Leash on Life is an incredible program that should be recognized as the “model” for prison, dog training programs and be implemented in all prisons as part of the evolution in society to provide a “second chance” to for every prisoner and homeless canine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

This organization positively affects two populations in jeopardy. If you read the statistics about prisons in this country it's very discouraging and if you go to ACCT in Philadelphia your heart will break. In both institutions staff are working hard to turn the tables and a program like New Leash on Life USA gives that effort some extra hope. This program is both professional and warm-hearted. Kudos to all involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

New Leash On Life, USA is a great organization. I personally am affected by the positive impact that prison dog programs have on people. I am connected to someone whose life was changed while participating in a prison dog program. I knew this person before they went to prison and I am currently personally involved in his life today and I acknowledge the changes he made from them until now. This program provides more support for the inmates than any other program that services inmates and because I'm an animal lover, the fact that they save the loves of dogs makes it more meaningful

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

They are not only saving dogs they are saving people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

How could what these folks do not be great?!?
It seems to me to be the perfect combination, prisoners and dogs who are prisoners until they find someone who will love them. Uncannily similar

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers