Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.65
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 5, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 5, 2012

New Latino has done a lot of things for such a small organization throughout Southwest Michigan and beyond. They are continously looking to see how they can give back to the community as well as educate the community on the hispanic culture through activities such as: Marshall Hispanic Heritage Festival and Community Outreach (Gospel Mission, back packs for schools, warm coats/gloves/hats drive, El Centro). It has been my pleasure to assist this group in the past and in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Photos of NLV! More to come! Please feel free to share your stories with us.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2012

 With over two years of planning and implementation as a club member and youth development professional at the Greater Kalamazoo Boys and Girls Club and a board member with New Latino Visions. The Institute for New Leadership leveraged youth and adult leadership in communities. The purpose is to enhance organizational leadership and engage in strategic planning that advances equality in Southwest Michigan. Through multiculturalism, education, youth and community development programs and the opportunity to work with multiple cultural teams that are unified and committed to improving our communities social equalities.
The demand for “unity” and “commitment” to learning, collaboration, and opportunity has been extremely important. In my opinion the years spent advocating “unity” and “commitment” in our region and throughout the world have been some of the most important years of my life.
The opportunity New Latino Visions and Boys and Girls Clubs have given me to share and value the visions, unity, and commitment to equality of our new youth leaders, they definitely took me for an amazing ride. There is one specific conversation I had with a group of youth that I will never forget. The group explained that the diversity of the young brings harmony. The group explained that they don't and refuse to live in the same generic (census) box that the older generations have created. Instead of limiting our youth based on the importance and value being placed on one's nationality, gender, skin color, age, etc. The youth expressed an emphasis on "Staying You" and it is the value of each individual that makes you unique.
To develop the social justice paradigm youth leaders investigated why certain cultures acted the way they do and how we as a society can share the power and influence of multiple customs. Being taught by the youth, the group learned how to avoid misconceptions, counterproductive behavior, and boost multicultural morale. I realized just how rational and necessary the #NewYouthVisions have become. The YOUTH overcame century old stereotypes and obvious slips in our nations history. With a new vision, a new mindset, and a greater understanding of diversity. A “understanding” so great, that all-inclusiveness will out weigh the counterparts of reverse discrimination. The result: a mind, heart, and body of YOUTH that respects a wide range of cultural and individual differences. #NewYouthVisions at http://newlatinovisions.vpweb.com/About-Us.html

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2012

The charity work done within communities( 5,000 food items for the local gospel mission), the partnerships and discussions with local schools, English as a second language volunteering(El Centro), The soccer recycling program "Share the Gear" ( helped River Oaks Club and New Latino Visions share soccer items to promote wellness by donating to a young team from Retalhuleu, Guatemala), Over a 1000 Christmas cards to our troops, yard sale and recycling in our communities, giving a local child a free soccer ball, socks, or soccer shoes. Many have valued the time spent with New Latino Visions and their associate. Personally, I have gained a greater understanding of my strengths and weaknesses. To truly represent the magnitude of commitment New Latino Visions and associates has and how greatly my life has been an influence both professionally and personally, I would need a motion picture and 90-120 min or more of your time. Therefore, to learn more about the #NewYouthVisions movement contact us or come check out New Latino Visions events or any of our associates events. #NewYouthVisions

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

My daughter and I volunteered to assist with NLV at the Marshal, MI Hispanic festival and we were very impressed with their success in attracting non Latino people from within the local community. They also provide an excellent platform for Latinos to celebrate their culture, build self esteem, and celebrate their diversity. This is a great organization that truly cares about improving the community for all of us. Keep up the great work NLV!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 6, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 6, 2012

Latino Visions has really done a great job at keeping our community connected. They have been part of many charity events througout the state and have sponsoried events such as "Cinco de Mayo", "Hispanic Festival", etc. I believe that events like this create more awareness in the community and help people stay connected with their heritage. I love and admire Latino Vision!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 6, 2012

more

March 6, 2012

This organization is very instrumental in bringing the Hispanic community concerns and celebrations to the community at large. I encourage everyone to consider donating to this organization as they represent a worthy cause.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2011

I have been a volunteer for numerous events that New Latino Visions has participated in. We have a great group of people leading and directing this group towards its mission statement. Even though, they have gone from many board members to a few, they are small but MIGHTY. You can tell the passion is there, there is much enthusiasm and the joy and hearts they have touched in their volunteer efforts has been outstanding.

They continue to work on projects small and large throughout the year and many connections have been made due to the partnering with other organizations. I feel this is important when a group is willing to share the limelight with others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the eyes and hearing the comments from the people/children ho we have helped or assisted when making deliveries or helping @ the events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure that we continue to make New Latino Visions presence known and remembered in the community. Continue to make connections with other groups.

February 14, 2011

more

February 14, 2011

I have had the opportunity to volunteer and become an actual board member for New Latino Visions in the last 2 1/2 years. This organization has educated me not only on non-profit work but also different Hispanic cultures, soccer, event organizing, fundraising, organizational skills, leadership skills and the list goes on.
I have been directly involved with many events, classes, meetings, fundraisers for New Latino Visions to name a few:
Cinco de Mayo 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 1st Annual Hispanic/African American Cultural Event, 1st Annual Day of the Homeless in partnership with other nationwaide Hispanic groups, tejano fundraising dances, raffles etc........Just to name a few again.
New Latino Visions is a great non-profit in the mentoring piece. New Latino Visions takes every opportunity to help out local schools and colleges to name a few: Edison Magnet school (Halloween & Green project in process), El Sol elementary school (Boxtops for Education), Phoenix High School (Mentors classes & possible Cinco de Mayo), Washington Writers Academy (Afterschool programs since 2005 to 2010) and the list goes on. Not only is our Mission focusing on the Michigan YOUTH but also focusing on the whole community.
The organization is restructing and obtaining dedicated, passionate and committed board members and all are getting their hands wet in all areas of the organization and understanding how to communicate and respect each other and the community. We have had some ups and downs but are working hard to keep making a difference in the whole State of Michigan. Additional information on New Latino Visions Facebook that shares everything we have accomplished throughout the last few years. Proud to be a part of this organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Communication skills Leadership skills Mentoring skills Finacial & Accounting skills Public speaking skills Teamwork skills Problem solving skills And the list goes on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Website restructure Obtain an official office. (Presently working as a virtual office.) Obtain a couple hourly employees and/or volunteers to do all of the office paperwork.

February 14, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2011

I was fortunate to be involved with New Latino Visions' First Annual "Day of the Homeless" at the Kalamazoo Gospel Mission. We collected food and financial donations to help this organization feed the homeless. It was our pleasure to also be the servers for the evening meal the day we delivered our donations.

New Latino Visions is a great organization, working to better the community in which ii is involved. I am a member of the Insurance Professionals of Southwest Michigan and we joined forces with New Latino Visions and HERO for this event. By the three organizations joining forces, we were able to make a bigger impact than any organization could do on its own.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the amount of food and financial donations collected for the Kalamazoo Gospel Mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. The organization is doing a great job.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers