Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The NJCFSA is 501 (c)(3) charity offering compassionate support to patients suffering with chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS) and their families. It makes available reliable information about ME/CFS through a variety of venues, including support groups, a journal, a lending library, medical conferences, and a helpline. The organization promotes research into ME/CFS, advocates for patients, and gives scholarships annually to a high school student with ME/CFS and a medical student interested in ME/CFS. The organization has outstanding leadership and is recognized internationally for the help it provides to the ME/CFS community. This is an excellent nonprofit making a huge difference in the lives of those with this debilitating disease and their loved ones!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has had CFS for about 20 yrs. It has seriously affected ger life adversely and has severly limited her ability to do normal activities. NJCFSA is a great organization that works very hard to help people with CFS and to raise money to find a cure for CFS, despite many of the people running it having this terrible illness that makes it very hard to do extra work. They also help organizing support groups for people with this illness. This is an excellent group to support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NJCFSA is a great organization that works very hard to help people with CFS and to raise money to find a cure for CFS, despite many of the people running it having this terrible illness that makes it very hard to do extra work. They also help organizing support groups for people with this illness. This is an excellent group to support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization. They hold anual workshops which bring patients and experts together to socialize and learn about new treatments. They have an annual scholarship fund which helps a college student and also helps spread knowledge of chronic fatigue syndrome. It is run all by volunteers and they make a huge difference in peoples lives with the chronic illness ME/CFS. I look foreward every year in the fall to go to the conference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to feel a sense of community with people who understand living with CFS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

internet

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The NJCFSA is an organization dedicated to helping those suffering from the debilitating effects of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS), or Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME). They run support groups; publish an informational Journal; have a lending library for books, audios and videos on CFS and chronic diseases; disseminate information to doctors, health care providers, and patients; put on an annual health conference of medical experts in the field; support ME/CFS research; provide college and medical school scholarships; exhibit at health fairs; run a toll-free HelpLine; participate in advocacy and awareness projects; plus many, many other activities – ALL of which is done solely by volunteers, including a completely volunteer Board of Directors! How they accomplish so much is mind-boggling!! Go to www.njcfsa.org for more information!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Received wonderful support and information from this organization. This organization is always truly willing to go out of its way to try to help people and families of someone with CFS. I am so thankful that when I was first diagnosed with CFS that I was able to find this organization and receive invaluable support and info on doctors, how to apply for disability benefits, etc. This organization brings in people from the outside such as Social Security administrators, health professionals, social workers, etc. so that you can obtain information and support. This orgainization is invaluable for someone with CFS!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Attending meetings, receiving information, attending presentations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Asking for support and help when needed.

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Developed CFS and nobody could help or even understand. NJCFSA had support meetings, literature, phone contacts, doctor referrals and more. It put things in perspective for me and made me feel confident about dealing with this tricky illness. I found good information, friends, hope and even a wife. I am very grateful to NJCFSA being there when I was in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NJCFSA has been and remains one of the standard bearers of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome assistance, research and education. From providing hotlines for desperate patients and patients, to providing yearly conferences to update the skills of the clinicians who treat CFS patients, NJCFSA has been there and here for nearly twenty-five years. Ours was the first patient advocacy group to empanel a group of experts to write a diagnosis and treatment for CFS, lobbied the state legislature for the funding of it, and produced a manual that became the bible of CFS patients and clinicians for mare than a decade. Translated into several foreign languages, it has propelled the understanding of this syndrome to the far corners of the earth and is only now being replaced by the IACFS/ME Primer. The NJCFSA continues to meet the needs of CFS patients within New Jersey and provides support and guidance for programs throughout the United States as patients and their organizations reach the realization that we will wait an intolerably long time if we rely on the government to assist our community, but rather we must control our own destiny but seizing and creating the opportunities as NJCFSA has done and continues to do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Through NJCFSA, I was able to find a local support group for my husband, who has CFS, and me. The people, resources, and overall support have made a significant impact for my husband, me, and our marriage.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NJCFSA is very helpful in learning about the illness. The Annual Conference is a great way to learn about treatments; research findings; and share your thoughts and feelings with others. You are not alone. I attended 2010's Annual Conference. The Vermont CFSA's Film was shown. It was about people who have Chronic Fatigue and how they have been dealing with the illness. I purchased the DVD of the film because it was so meaningful to me. It was a long day for me, but it was well worth the trip. I miss my local Support Group very much. Betty was a great support group leader. Thank you Betty.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers