Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2013

I work very closely with the founder of New Image. I have known of the center for about three years and have been apart of the NIYC family for almost six months. I am proud to say I work for and with New Image Youth Center on account of it's prestigious mission. Although i am not a native of Florida, The few years I have been here I have had a hard time becoming acclamated to the different cultures and customs. Here at New Image I have found there is not a difference between customs, nor people. But a sense of family and empowerment! I always say it takes a strong person to take a stand a make a difference. Ms. Shanta has not only taken a stand, she has created a mission that she lives by and aids the needs of others, not only children, but adults whom are in need of employment. I have witnessed growth and development that could cloud a entire city within this one community. We should be so fortunate to become a part of what takes place week after week behind the doors of NIYC......New Images being produced collectively. I feel blessed to be on board!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

Thanksgiving of 2009 was the first time I met Shanta and the wonderful children of New Image Youth Center. I had been asked by a friend to help prepare a Thanksgiving meal for NIYC. My friend had only told me that this was an inner city youth center that was located in Parramore- the most crime ridden part of Orlando. i was completely blown away by a group of 50 children who were the most polite, well-mannered, happy group of children I had been around in a long time. From that moment on, I wanted to know more about the center and especially about the wonderful young lady who was mentoring these young people. Shanta, the founder and director, is very intentional in her approach with the children. She has not only created a safe haven for children to come to, but for a lot of these children she has created a family unit, something they don't have any place else. She is constantly exposing her students to every available opportunity to help them grow and learn and that will give them relevant life skills. Whether its public speaking, going on campouts, shooting baskets with the Magic basketball players,practicing yoga, learning how to use an iPad, hosting a community party, planting and caring for a garden, writing a book and much more, Shanta challenges her kids to be the best that they can be at everything they do, Shanta is literally changing a community one child at a time. Being a part of New Image Youth Center has changed my life and I feel so blessed to be a part of the Board of New Image Youth Center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

I am college student on winter break who decided to make my break worthwhile so I decided to volunteer at the center. And quite frankly, I must admit, it was the best decision I made during any of my breaks from school. Working with the kids (I supervised the middle and high school students) was truly a great experience. Everyday, without hesitation, I could expect something new. The kids were just full of life and energy! It was such a humbling experience. I could see myself in their eyes, just a couple of years prior I was just like them, laughing and just enjoying life. All of this made me realize and remember that life truly has great joy's and that sometimes we just need to take a moment and take notice. The New Image Youth Center is on to great things in the future, inspiring mine and future generations that success is always at our reach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

I started the center when i was 4 or 5 years all the great thing what we do is the activities and the games we also do something called free time and what free time is that we have play time inside the center and outside the center and the best thing that we do is extanded the day the that is so much fun

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

Hmm...Where do I start? My name is Chanika Charles Vice president for the middle and high school portion at the New Image Youth Center and I have benefited from the outstanding works of the New image Youth Center. It has been a pleasure attending this youth organization for 6 years, and looking forward to many more. I can't even express my gratitude for my amazing experience at the New Image Youth Center. I most definantely can say that there is no other than the New Image Youth Center, where theres nothing less than the best! New Image goes above and beyond there duties to make sure that their kids are well and in good state, by all means necessary. I have personally gained so much from my experience here at the one and only New Image Youth Center. Words can't even explained how much I’ve gained. You can make a huge difference in the lives of these individuals here at New Image. You can make it happen! Don't waist any time and take action.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

Well I Started New Image In 2009. It Has Helped Me. I Get Helped On My Assinment Which Is Good For Me Cause My Grades Have Improved. That Is The Best Part Of The Center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

My name is keyant'e scott and i attend new image youth center for about 4 years.The things that they do for us is that they help tutor and they make us get scholarships that make get into college new image youth center has changed my whole entire life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

I've been at the new image youth center for 1 year and I've been having lots of fun. new image is like a family to me the the take care of me and provided me with lots of stuff i did not have like shoes,cloth and Christmas present and every time i have a problem on my homework they are always there for me when i need them

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

I began my journey with New Image in the spring of 2012. I have had an amazing experience. I have taught at risk you in many instances but never for a non-profit organizaztion. I have learned so much. Ms. Shanta Barton has such an amazing heart for the students of New Image. She continues to go out of her way to provide experiences, opportunities of advancement, and things for the less fortunate of the Parramore community. I am honored to be apart of this development. As an advisor I am allowed the chance to tutor, mentor, impart life skills, create fun and exciting activities, travel, and work to improve their frame of reference about life and how to be successful. This is really a great place to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

I was introduced to NIYC in December 2006 where 26 youth came everyday after school to get off the streets. Here they are taught that they do not have to be a product of their environment and that there are others who are much less fortunate than they are. They live and see the homeless, drug addicts and violence of their neighborhood, yet through all this turmoil these children strive in school, have smiles on their faces as they learn that education and giving back to their community are the best way to beat these circumstances. Through Ms Barton-Stubbs they have learned to forgive those that hurt them and move on. The Center has grown from 26 to 60 children on the roll in the last 6 years. There are currently no teenage pregnancies and no children using drugs at this organization. Eight have graduated from high school, 4 in college and 4 holding down fulltime jobs. We believe all of our kids have the potential to graduate from high school and either go to college, or trade school as they have been taught the value of work and earning a living. We believe through positive learning, and positive feedback these children can achieve anything and be productive community leaders. I have had the great pleasure of having these children as part of my life and watching their personal growth has been a blessing to me. They remind me daily that anything can be accomplished some effort and belief in yourself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers