Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

What a great organization with an such an impactful purpose. This organization truly affects each and every child they work with on a day-to-day basis. My wife and I are pleased to be able to spend time in worship with several of the New Horizons children every Sunday morning and couldn't be more excited about it! It's great to see these kids growing both educationally and in faith!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I first learned of New Horizons while working in admin at Bonita Springs Elementary School. Over the last 10 years, my experiences with NH have been positively amazing. Their programs, outreach and camps are life-changing, encouraging and huge blessings to their clients, their families, and our community at large. The staff and volunteers are highly professional and intentional. Their track record is commendable. Their student choir is phenomenal! For me, a very memorable thing is that when you see a bus full of NH kids disembark, every face shines bright with a beautiful smile, evidence of the good work being poured into them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more donors to support the work of New Horizons.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

What touches my soul the most about our organization, New Horizons, is that you can SEE the results of everyones' effort and love. We are a totally LOCAL organization, just two counties in SW FL, Collier and Lee. What's so wonderful, is when you work with this group, you can feel the difference you are making!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

New Horizons provides a wonderful environment for kids to enhance their education and obtain mentoring from volunteers. The results have been outstanding with solid improvements in grades and a rise in the kids overall confidence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

"Hello Mrs Mote we love you" is what I heard as I was biking around our park yesterday late afternoon. In fact, every time I came around to that part of the park their loving words rang out. I stopped to say hello to the beautiful faces of some of the children I met while volunteering at The New Horizon's summer reading program. These children are so grateful for the opportunities and resources provided to them. I know this to be true as I am also a substitute teacher at our local school and I see the results! These children are our future leaders, voters, volunteers, and contributors to our community so any support you can offer will be appreciated. Love in Christ, Kamala Mote

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

New horizons is focused on at risk children. I believe Children are our biggest resource for a better America. Education is the foundation for kids to grow and contribute to society. New Horizons works hard to see that ALL kids have an education. Even if you can't wrap your heart around kids than wrap your head around the fact that over just 1 lifetime can cost up to $300.00.00 to tax payers!! I have worked with charities for children for over 25 years. New Horizons is one of the best and has the PASSION to help our kids succeed. Whenever you have the chance to support New Horizons know your helping kids and America. This is something we can ALL support!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 23, 2014

I have a been a Big Brother for the last 10 years in Texas and I have watched my little struggle with his education and development skills within the public education system. I have watched a great kid struggle due to lack of English communication and education at home, no one being home after or before school, lack a strong value system at home, and an education system that is not set up to provide the 1:1 tutoring he requires excel in school.

I was blessed to meet one of the founders of New Horizons last year and was able to learn about the program which led to my wife and I volunteering. The New Horizons program provides a strong academic curriculum and positive encouragement with fundamental christian values. The New Horizons program is providing their kids with the tools and individual attention to allow them to excel academically and become future leaders. The New Horizon leadership works very closely with the school system which has been a tremendous help to the teachers responsible for the children. In addition, the program has reached the children's families and the community to help them with a variety of needs.

I have been involved and on the board of many non profit organizations. New Horizons is at the top of the list as it relates to their commitment to their mission statement, organization, financial management and leadership.

I am so happy for the children benefiting from New Horizons and I can only wish that my Little had this type of program available to him back in Texas!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

Moving to Florida as a full time resident in 2007, I decided that I needed to do two things: join a church and get involved in the local community. Attending church, I heard about the after school tutoring program, "Super Kids Club", that New Horizons offers to local "at-risk" kids, began volunteering in 2008 and have never "looked back". What a joyful and fulfilling experience to help our most vulnerable youngsters to learn to read, to master multiplication tables, to watch them succeed in middle school and to eventually go on to graduate from high school! Sharing my experience with friends and neighbors has helped ignite enthusiasm in my community to support this organization through participation in volunteering, providing after school snacks, offering financial support and participating in fundraising events. The opportunities to support this organization are "multi-dimensional".....seasonal or year-round.....give of your time or make a donation. Each day I volunteer I see positive results and feel that I have found my "mission".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed volunteering with this organization. There is a definite need in the community for the after school tutoring, and I can tell that I am directly influencing the students to help them have a better future. I look forward to working with them for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 21, 2013

I first learned about New Horizons and Super Kids in 2006, when I was doing research for a community foundation study about community needs. I was very impressed with the program, the kids, and their enthusiasm as they participated with the committed tutor/mentors who helped them with their homework. I was instrumental in getting grant funds for computers to provide much needed computer assisted instruction, and have had the opportunity to watch students progress over the years to become effective high school students, and then college students. The enthusiasm of the students for this program is that proof that this is effective and meaningful in improving educational results for these kids.

As a board member, my standards are very high for financial management and for program execution. New Horizons staff does incredible work while operating with minimum paid staff. The tens of thousands of volunteer hours are freely given, because the discipline of program execution assures that each student is guided in a personal and effective way. The greatest challenge we face is to organize our support so that his program can be extended to more children.

I have participated in over a dozen non-profit boards, and find New Horizons to get greater results from each donated dollar of any other NPO I've observed. This is a remarkable program serving some of our most vulnerable and at-risk people..... children from ESL homes in low income areas. I will continue to support New Horizons in every way that I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Change the life of a child forever! Volunteer