Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

New Horizons is a wonderful organization bettering the lives of our youth every single day and enriching our community. I have had the pleasure of getting to know Debra Haley, the Executive Director, and have seen her help this organization grow and prosper. There is definitely a need and New Horizons is fulfilling it and much more.
September 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2013

Moving to Florida as a full time resident in 2007, I decided that I needed to do two things: join a church and get involved in the local community. Attending church, I heard about the after school ... more

September 10, 2014

Sometimes we forget the true joys in life. Monday, upon my return to New Horizons of SWFL to begin my seventh season of tutoring, I was immediately reminded of the satisfaction and joy received from the eager and grateful young students as they learn to overcome fear and shyness and gain confidence in learning new skills. Volunteer tutors can and do make a difference in the lives of young children.
July 15, 2013

Moving to Florida as a full time resident in 2007, I decided that I needed to do two things: join a church and get involved in the local community. Attending church, I heard about the after school tutoring program, "Super Kids Club", that New Horizons offers to local "at-risk" kids, began volunteering in 2008 and have never "looked back". What a joyful and fulfilling experience to help our most vulnerable youngsters to learn to read, to master multiplication tables, to watch them succeed in middle school and to eventually go on to graduate from high school! Sharing my experience with friends and neighbors has helped ignite enthusiasm in my community to support this organization through participation in volunteering, providing after school snacks, offering financial support and participating in fundraising events. The opportunities to support this organization are "multi-dimensional".....seasonal or year-round.....give of your time or make a donation. Each day I volunteer I see positive results and feel that I have found my "mission".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I have attended this program since I was in 1st grade. I remember when I had a terrible time with my homework. My mom didn't know English and couldn't help me with any of my homework. I am thankful for having them help me change my life and also thankful for helping me apply for and be awarded the Take Stock in Children Scholarship.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I have attended the NEW HORIZONS OF SOUTHWEST for 6 years. it has improved my grades and helped me become a better student.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I started last year with new horizons, they have helped me with my school work when i have a hard time understanding a subject and the best part is that it's one on one. Also thanks to them i had a one in a life chance opportunity to go to Peru with ten other girls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I have been with New horizons for 10 years. They have helped me stay out of trouble and helped me stay in school. They tutored me when I needed help with my school work. This organization has impacted my life dramatically. I would like to thank New Horizons for everything they have done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I have attended the afterschool program at New Horizons for the last 10 years and it has helped me through school. This organization helped me improve my grades and understand the importance of doing well in school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

New Horizions provides the kind of assistance to young people that is desperately needed to help them succeed in today's world. My wife and I both tutor and find the staff and volunteers focused on only helping the kids succeed. I also am a new member of the Board. This group leaders is a great resource to the mission of New Horizons. It is well run and focused on the goal building a great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

New Horizons is a wonderful local non-profit serving the children of Lee and Collier County who are in need of tutoring in an after school environment. The staff and volunteers are devoted and loving. The results are seen in how well these children are doing in school. From the perspective of a board member, New Horizons is efficiently managed, fiscally prudent and completely transparent to its donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

My husband and I have become involved with New Horizons through our church. If I had to summarize this oraganization in a statement I would say, "ABOVE AND BEYOND." On their website New Horizons will tell you that they are an after school based program that help high risk students succeed academically and spiritually, but of course they go above and beyond that. They become the students' advocate, motivator, tutor, mentor, friend, and counselor. The things that each and every single staff member does for the children is phenomenal. For example, if just one child or teen is interested in joining the worship team at church, someone will pick them up and drive them to practice. If there is an outing that would benefit the kids someone is finding a way to get them there.

So back to the beginning my husband and I became involved with New Horizons about a year ago. Words can not even begin to explain the growth and maturity and the new sense of belonging the kids we've gotten to know feel because of the time, commitment, and love the New Horizons organization has poured into them. We love, love, love what this organization is doing for kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Change the life of a child forever! Volunteer