Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

New Horizons for Children is such a wonderful program for both the orphans they serve and the volunteers who offer to host a child(ren). I have had the opportunity to host a teen girl and it was a wonderful experience. I have also seen wonderful transformations in both the children and the host families time and time again through friends, neighbors, and testimonials from others who have also hosted. What a unique way for anyone to live out their faith and dramatically make a difference in the lives of such important little people who believe that they are not worth anything, will never be loved, and are forgotten about by everyone. I have seen NHFC work very hard to use donations very wisely for scholarships for the kiddos and if there are ever any overages, they invest those funds to help more orphans by providing additional scholarships. They manage a large network of volunteers who all believe in the mission and it's really a total ministry from the heart for all of those who are involved. I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to be involved in changing lives with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Search out more advertising opportunities to get the word out about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

My family has hosted 3 times through New Horizons for Children. The large group of volunteers that run everything are amazing. Everyone is very helpful and thorough in answering questions and any concerns. They do a great job to make sure you are properly trained before your host child arrives, and someone is always available to help out if/when needed. I never worried about where my money was going because they show you where every dollar goes. I will definitely host again through New Horizons and stay involved with this great organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

I was nervous getting involved at first but after the initial contact everything fell into place and the experience was far more rewarding than could ever be expected. Organized, supportive and no hidden agendas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2014

more

February 5, 2014

We became interested in orphan hosting after a friend had hosted, and after considering several hosting groups online we chose New Horizons because we were impressed by their Christian commitment and their professionalism. We hosted a child for 4 weeks over Christmas 2013, and the whole experience has been rich and soul-stretching, truly a life-changing experience. Our host son was a gift to us and to our biological children, who all learned from him and enjoyed him. Our host son was not angelic at every moment (he is, after all, a preteen boy with lots of energy, and we were all dealing with a major language barrier) BUT the challenges he presented were mild, and we had been prepared well by the thorough training we received. Every NHFC staff member we had contact with was warm and prompt, encouraging and helpful. The staff is visionary, efficient and sacrificing--every one of them works so hard to bless these children. We hope to host again and will donate when we cannot host. We will recommend NHFC whenever we can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more volunteers and more funding so this ministry can expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

We had the opportunity to host a child over this past Christmas and it was a tremendous experience. We jumped in to the process late but we were well supported and the training was outstanding. They did a great job preparing us for many of the challenges that we might experience and throughout the process they were available if any assistance was needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

After several years of working through opportunities to extend my family, each of which ended in heart-breaking disappointment, I discovered New Horizons through one of my many internet-searches. Initially cautious, I followed the program for a year, reading, listening, and asking questions and the more that I learned, the more that I knew this was the path that was meant for me. The work that this organization does is so incredibly heart-warming one cannot help but to embrace it, the sensitivity, caring, and expertise of the staff (very few), the volunteers (many more people), and the other host families is second to none that I have encountered in my journey. Everyone is available and eager to help whenever and however needed - from answering a basic question, to providing information and guidance, to offering empathy during trying times, to providing a 24/7 pediatrician contact, to providing translation assistance, and so much more. This may not sound all that complex, but please keep in mind that New Horizons offers this wonderful hosting program from four countries to families across the entire Continental United States - not an easy feat from anyone but these professionals are just that - they are professional experts in their field!

I hosted two children from Eastern Europe this past holiday season and words cannot express what a personal blessing the experience was. While they come from a very hard place and have endured so much pain in their short lives and while we certainly had many difficult moments as we worked to build trust and respect, what we were able to give and learn from each other during four short weeks was nothing short of a miracle and will last a lifetime. I have dear friends who have commented that "I have never seen you so happy" - these children are a blessing and should never be forgotten - they are human beings who deserve to have the hope of life and happiness and to understand what that is or could be.

While people embark on this journey for many different and very good personal reasons, my desire was family and my hope is that we will permanently be a family. If this is to be, I will be forever grateful, if for some reason it is not then I will be a much better person for having had this experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My wish is that the financial burden could be lessened so that this would be an easier choice for more people. It takes a leap of faith to open your heart and share your life for 4-6 weeks (24 hours a day) with children who need so very much from you and unfortunately the financial impact creates a burden that is more than many can accept.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

I first heard about New Horizons for Children through friends who hosted an orphan in their home. They later went on to adopt that child. Through following their journey and financially supporting them, our family gained a deep respect for this organization. We were impressed with how well they shared their vision and how much was accomplished with the finances we donated. We have since hosted two children in our home and our opinion of this organization has only gotten better! They care deeply about orphans and sharing the love of God with them. I also love the many opportunities available to volunteer and lend support through non financial means. Whatever your financial situation is, there is a way to serve with this organization and help fulfill it's vision of helping orphans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to reach more orphans in other countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

We started hosting with New Horizons in the summer of 2013 and then again over the Christmas Holidays. It was an experience none of us would trade. What an opportunity to show love to someone you would otherwise never come in contact with. New Horizons is a Wonderful organization. They do an excellent job training and communicating with their host families and using their finances to make the biggest difference in as many lives as possible. I would highly recommend this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. They are terrific!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

2008 began our journey of family ministry to children who are orphaned. We have hosted 6 children over the years and invited one child be part of our family forever. I recommend this ministry to any follower of Jesus Christ who is ready to love as Jesus loves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

New Horizon's came into my view when I was looking for a missions opportunity for my whole family to enjoy. At the time I had a 7 and 4 year old, and lets be honest, there isn't much that isn't collecting stuff for children that age to be involved in. Right from the start they were a great help. They somehow managed to be both professional AND personal, and were very attentive and quick with response any time I had a question. They encouraging, yet not pushy.The training was fun, informative, and REAL. In fact, that is probably my favorite thing about New Horizon's. They are VERY realistic and upfront about the possible challenges of hosting an orphan, and if those arise, they have a great staff to help you overcome. I turned out that our experience was VERY positive and we didn't require any support, but I know some who had to deal with some issues and said the staff was extremely helpful to both them personally, and to the children as well. I am looking forward to hosting with New Horizon's again this year and wouldn't consider working with any other hosting organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more $ to help with more hosting fees, so that its easier for more people to host!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers