Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

New Heights has success stories that sound exaggerated but aren't.
The ladder that is ever more difficult to climb to reach the "American Dream" has a better chance of being ascended with the help of New Heights.
My kid was invaluably helped to get into the college of his choice by New
Heights; he's lucky enough to have a work ethic and supportive family, but New Heights communicated with the coach and helped him with interview prep in a way that made certain he'd end up in the best fit for him, both academically and athletically.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly can't think of one. I'm not playing up to anyone; they're doing as much, if not more, than one would imagine can be done in these tough economic times, which also involves the shortcomings of public schools. They're filling in the blanks.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

During the fall of 2012 and Spring of 2013, I helped to tutor the 7th and 8th graders, as well as assisting with the Open House and a couple of other fund raisers. One of the most apparent and telling of this program's effectiveness is evidenced by the number of former participiants that remain involved with New Heights, long after they have moved on to college and beyond. The student athletes really do have to earn their playing time by maintaining academic standards and a full commitment to NH's rules and structure. Parents are also welcomed into the process, with many attending the tutoring sessions. While a change in my work schedule has made tutoring difficult this year, NH is worthy program that I intend to remain involved with, at the very least in their special events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My daughter is a member of the New Heights family. She played last year with their 14U girls team.
She initially played for another team that disbanded. I called the director of the girls program and asked
him if there were any available spots for her, and he immediately accepted her to
the New Heights family.
The coaches of her team were very caring, and focused on the girls goals. They offer many educational programs to those that are in need of them, as well as basketball development. I am very thankful to the program, I plan to have continued success with the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouln't make too many changes to the progam, except to try to have more separate practices for each individual team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

This organization is helping our youth to shape them for the future. My little cousin is in this program and not only is he basketball player but his grades are excellent. I'm looking at this organization to put oldest son in to help him as well to progress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Incorporate this program in more schools especially in the 5 borough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

New Heights NYC has been a great experience for my son, Angelo. When we first came to New Heights I didn't know the enormity and scope of the program. We met with the staff, I was very impressed. Executive Director, Atheltic Director, Educational Director one of my questions was, do you just look to push that blue chip D-1 player towards their educational/basketball goals or will the 12th man off the bench benefit by being at New Heights ? They responded we are here for all the kids. I don't say basketball player, they are student athletes first and foremost. We have been with New Heights for 3 years to see the structure, stability and dedication of the organization and staff is second to none. They are also humble, their pedigrees in education, business and basketball I don't think is matched by any program in the city or the country.

Saturday skills, academics before practice and summer academy. These are programs that are available for the kids. Not just lip service but strong structured programs where your kid learns educational skills and his basketball skills in a clean safe environment.

They have brought in other programs to assist with the transition from Middle School to High School. Catholic school scholarship programs and our Open House attended to by the best private, parochial and public schools in the city and the region. Not only did my son get excited about the open house I did also. It exposed me to private boarding school, I felt that it would be possible for my children to attend one of these elite schools. The reality is through New Heights relationships in the basketball community my daughter was accepted to two private schools, she is currently attending The Harvey School. She is not a basketball player, but she is a student athlete she plays soccer. It was through New Heights that we were given the oppurtunity for her and I feel the same oppurtunity is there for my son. As we like to refer to the kids from the the program they are New Heights Kids.

One last thing, when we went to speak to the staff about my son possibly attending a prep school. They had pulled his folder with his report cards. They didn't talk to him about improving his basketball game they spoke to him about the realities of what is needed to get into a college prepatory high school.They were very frank with him and honest. I appreciated it because the message was truly education will carry you to where you want to go basketball is one of the tools to get you there but edcation will keep you there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

New Heights is deserving of its own facility, Where they can have classrooms, gyms and office space. We are fortunate to have great relationships with schools and churches in the community. It would be nice to walk into the New Heights NYC Educational/ Sports Facility. We all know real estate in NYC is priced so high, but this organization has the knowledge and management skills to run this type of facility for years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My nephew is a member of this basketball program, though to call it that really understates the impact and reach of New Heights. The children learn basketball skills, but also the much more important skills and traits of teamwork, dedication, hard work and integrity. By focusing on academics first, they show the children how their priorities should be aligned. I'm very impressed with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Become a member of the organization, either as an advisor or a board member. I have nothing but positive feedback for how the organization is run.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

New Heights is an outstanding organization that cares not only about the art of basketball but the children participants as well. New Heights provides a place for young boys to learn essential values that can carry on into their everyday lives. My youngest brother, Angel Martinez, is a member of one of the New Heights AAU teams and I have witness a positive affect the organization has. Not only has New Heights taken the time to teach these young boys the game of basketball; they have also taken the time to teach them academics. These various forms of teaching teach these young boys the meaning of hard work and a valuable education, which is very much neglected in many basketball organizations today. I have not yet seen an organization that truly cares about the boy’s overall performance. Helping New Heights will allow the staff to continue to help these young boys continue to grow throughout their journey of athletics and education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more funding

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My Nephew Angel Martinez is progressing beyond measure. I am thorougly pleased and supportive of the strong impact New Heights has made on his life and further on our family. Continued success and all the best to New Heights.

~Aqil Davidson
CEO of Control Recordings, inc

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

New Heights is not only a aau basketball program it is a strong educational vehicle. It has one hour of academics before each athletic practice. New Heights has given their student/athletes a different outlook on education. They teach life skill lessons via basketball while stressing education first. New heights is a family environment that i am proud for my son to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to provide more funding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This charity makes an impact in the inner city. It's unique approach to combining academics and athletics addresses an important issue facing many young athletes that need to understand there is more to life than just basketball. I believe that New Heights makes a long-term impact on the lives of young people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide homework help to students in subject-specific areas, teach life and leadership skills to middle and high school youth, help develop basketball skills, support special events. Volunteer