Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.954555
Write A Review
February 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

As an animal cross poster open your eyes this place is fake there is a long recent article on them how they are liars and murders. Wake up this place is terrible. Google it learn please

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get compassionate staff, get rid of the happy cold blooded killers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

We had to surrender our 3 year old husky, Cleo when our home was repossessed and we were forced to move into a hostel. Cleo was very loved by our family, he was absolutely beautiful. We'd had him for 2 years and rescued him from an abuse situation... but he was not a friendly dog. He was fearful of people and never really recovered from his abusive treatment. He would lash out without warning even at people sitting down ignoring him, we had to leave a trailing leash on him at all times. He was a lovely dog when he was calm but he could change in an instant. He never managed to bite any of us but he tried, and when we went to see him in the shelter he had gotten even worse and was charging us in his kennel.

The only other shelter in the area turned Cleo down and told us to have him put down. But these people gave him a chance, they worked with him for a week but he just couldn't handle the noise and stress of the shelter. We wanted to take him back, but had nowhere to put him, and they couldn't get away with placing a dog like that into someone's home. We went in when they said he was due to be put to sleep and my husband went in with him. They were very gentle and explained plainly why they had to do what they did.

We wish things could've gone better for us and Cleo, but at least when he met his end, he was among caring, friendly people who gave him a chance where others wouldn't.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the way they deal with the public. Lots of people got upset at what happened to Cleo and gave the shelter hell for it. We knew Cleo and we knew there was a risk he would have to be put to sleep. When he was eventually put down we understood, and we know they had tried everything they were allowed to do, but once he started trying to bite the staff they couldn't let him out of his kennel in case he bit someone walking past. This all happened a few years ago, and now its happening yetagain!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Having just lost our precious boxer/pitt Pokey May 5th, we were despondent...he was the most loving and unique and smart animal..and funny! How could we EVER think about replacing him. or get over him? There could never be another like him..my crying was non-stop.....THEN my husband got up one Saturday morning two weeks after our loss, and went over to our neighborhood animal shelter, three miles away, because he heard that some new dogs came in, one of them a boxer mix...he saw the pup, but when he mentioned we had just lost our beloved pitt mix, the eyes of the shelter workers lit up! "Do we have a dog for YOU!" should have been the caption...! They asked my husband if he would be intereeted in a lovely pitbull who had been there for six months now, who was beautiful and loving and funny...but had no takers (people so wrongly fear the breed!)...Jay saw Zeus, and that was that! He was PERFECT..so much like our Pokey, but his OWN dog, too! Jay came home, woke me up, and dragged me and my visiting granddaughter back to the shelter (I had a fear of going to shelters..to me, they are places of desperation and misery and my heart breaks..Pokey was a rescue, but my daughter brought him TO me..I can't go to places like that..they give me nightmares!
Well, was I surprised when I walked into the New Fairfield/Sherman shelter..clean, cheerful and more like a boarding kennel, full of personable and knowledgable people, whom you can tell personally care for and love each animal they shelter...Zeus had been socialized, excercised, TRAINED to do tricks, and was in wonderful physical and mental shape..he had been loved! It was written all over him! True..he was a bit energetic from long hours being penned, but he is trying very hard to please us, and is WONDERFUl with other dogs at the dog park (they have a pen at the shelter where they allow the dogs to play with each other at times, too..it makes a big difference!) NOBODY can believe he came from a shelter, he is so calm and friendly and well-behaved...some of it is just Zeus being ZEUS, cos he IS a great dog that just needed a chance, but a LOT Of it is the loving care and attention he received at this shelter...I give it an A-PLUS!! They even gave Zeus his own web page to help publicize his situation, and many times when we walk him around time,strangers will say, "Is that ZEUS? I saw him in the Citizens News!" They really try hard to place their dogs...and care about each and every one of them (OH YEAH..they have a nice room full of kitties, too!)
SO..if you are 'Shelter-Shy" like I am..this is the place for you! It isn't really Animal Control; it's Animal Rescue! Even the Animal Control officer, who must have been the one to pick up the brown stray pitbull roaming New Fairfield at Christmastime, came tosay "goodbye" to Zeus as we took him off to his forever home! A more loving and caring bunch will be hard to find...(I won't name the other shelter I went to this past month, but those poor dogs...don't have a chance. It is never opened when people can get to see the dogs, and the animals look so sad and desperate...barking and crying and jumping in their own poop...not opened weekends when people can go with their families to find a pet to love...they are the ones you see in the commercials. I still have nightmares of that visit and want to go get another one from there..but I haven't gotten up the fortitude to make that trip yet..!)
.PLEASE don't be afraid of this shelter in New Fairfield..it is as pleasant an experience as you can ever possibly have for a situation like this! Even if you don't adopt a pet..make a contribution! They do great things over there! I wish I could post a picture of Zeus hugging Tony, a volunteer shelter worker, before we took him home May 20th...he is the picture of love and happiness...we have a lot to live up to here! LOL! (Not a problem..don't worry! LOL!) LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

..make more cages available, so these fine people could take in more dogs in desperate conditions, where they have no hope, and GIVE them hope! If these people can't get a dog adopted, NOBODY can! (PS Just to make it clear...no dog can replace another dog..especially such a special one as Pokey...but how wonderful to have your available love for animals rolled over into another needy creature....we rescue each other,I think! Zeus is definitely a balm to my soul.!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
March 20, 2012

We have supported this wonderful organization for many years. The pets are loved and more than cared for. We adopted our beloved rottie Millie from NFSAW and she blessed our lives beyond our wildest d... more

June 8, 2013

NFSAWS is an excellent rescue organization. They are a vital part of our community. The pets are loved and well cared for. We adopted our Millie dog and have referred many of our friends to this rescue. All are happy with their service but, most of all, their love for the animals they shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - except for them getting more funding to even more wonderful work in the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012

We have supported this wonderful organization for many years. The pets are loved and more than cared for. We adopted our beloved rottie Millie from NFSAW and she blessed our lives beyond our wildest dreams. This is a quality shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 24, 2013

We adopted our fantastic red bone coonhound through this wonderful group. She has been a great addition to our family. The staff at the shelter was really great, worked with our family, and helped us find just the right dog for us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 2, 2012

My husband and I decided to rescue a dog in the Fall of 2011. We went to several shelters, all over western CT, but the conditions of those shelters were depressing. When we finally came to NFSAW, w... more

May 17, 2013

My husband and I adopted our wonderful dog, Muffin, from NFSAWS about a year and a half ago. We went to several shelters before NFSAWS and were not happy. At NFSAWS they treat their animals incredibly well. I was so happy to see all the dogs playing together in a fenced in area at the shelter. It's great to see the dogs be able to truly run around, play, and most importantly, become well socialized with other dogs. We got to meet 3 different dogs on the day we first visited NFSAWS; all the dogs, regardless of age, that we met were very well behaved, which made picking just one a difficult choice. In the end, we got our Muffin who is easily the most fabulous dog we have ever had! :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them farther reach by expanding their operations. There is so much more good they could do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 2, 2012

My husband and I decided to rescue a dog in the Fall of 2011. We went to several shelters, all over western CT, but the conditions of those shelters were depressing. When we finally came to NFSAW, we came into another predicament. We had trouble choosing which dog we would be taking home! All of the dogs were wonderful that we had seen. They seemed to be very happy there and well taken care of, unlike the other places we looked, which were for the most part well-intentioned, but frightening places. A week after our first visit, we brought home Muffin. She truly is the greatest dog ever from the greatest shelter ever. As my husband said after our first visit, "Any dog we get will always come form there from now on."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

We adopted our third dog from NFSAWS and could not have had a better experience, I am so lucky we found them. They are not interested in just pushing their animals out the door to any available home; they want you and your pet to be the right match, a forever match. It's a clean and safe environment for the animals staffed by absolutely wonderful employees and volunteers who really care, sets the gold standard for animal rescue!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a huge budget so they could rescue more animals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

We were looking to add a dog to our family. Once we got in touch with nfsaws they were so helpful finding a dog who would fit into our lifestyle. They are a wonderful organization who rescues animals from the high kill shelters and gelps them find the home and life they deserve. They are truly wonderful volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

Me and my family are always welcomed into a clean, safe and friendly environment. We get we need on
the animal we are adopting, including a file with history, general info, coupons... They are very friendly and the animals are very well taken care of and happy. The animals are clean and up
to date and ready to be loved. I will continue to support NFSAW always and when I am ready for another, I will get the help and suggestions I need to make a perfect choice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 8, 2013

I come from a long line of "rescuers". I have learned that there is a right way, and a wrong way to every well intentioned rescuer. The NFSAWS know how to do it the right way. Their thorough background checks, wonderful customer service, and up to date use of websites and social media made adopting our dog one of the most positive experiences of my life. A year after adopting my dog, I still feel connected to this wonderful group of people through facebook and emails. It warms my heart how much much this organization truly cares about animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers