Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

The New England Wild Flower Society not only has the beautiful and informative Garden in the Woods highlighting native woodland plants but also does important research into plants. Their foundational work in native plant science is relied on by many other conservation organizations. They are really doing something to address climate change and its impact on the New England landscape and habitats. They do field conservation studies, intermediations in locally endangered plants, have a very important seed banking operation, and much more. They sponsor terrific education programs and seminars to teach about the important role of native plants and their conservation. This is all critical right now as global warming threatens the survivability of many local plant species, especially cold-adapted plants. They are really doing a lot to save our landscapes and ensure healthy biological diversity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know about the important conservation work they do! They are really a leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

The best organization working on native New England plants. Makes serious scientific contributions along with being a huge asset to the community at large, especially through their plant propagation efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

New England Wildflower Society is passionate about saving endangered plants (which many people forget about) and teaching botany. NEWFS is well organized, maintains a beautiful nature preserve, and offers numerous classes in botany and horticulture for both children and adults. The classes and field trips are interesting and relevant. As a Plant Conservation Volunteer, I travel around Massachusetts helping identify endangered plant populations and collect seeds from those populations for the NEWFS seed bank so these endangered plants are lost forever. NEWFS helps me feel I'm making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

NEWFS has been a wealth of information for me and a big part of my life. I work in the horticulture industry and turn to NEWFS often for information.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

The Go Botany database of the New England Wildflower Society is without question one of the top resources in my daily work. I am a landscape designer, garden coach and public speaker on a variety of topics related to ecological landscaping. The Go Botany database, available at no charge to any Internet user, provides the tool I need to create beautiful naturalized gardens that also perform important ecological roles. I use the database almost daily to verify that my plant selections are truly native to the area where I am working and to find plant ideas.

Last year, I won an award for an all-native lakeside buffer garden. My research for that project depended heavily on the Go Botany database.

In addition to assisting specific projects, I also use Go Botany to inform my writing. I am a newspaper columnist on gardens and ecology. I use Go Botany to advise the public on native plants. I also refer my readers and listeners to the database in almost every venue where my work appears.

I have so much gratitude for this tremendous resource, but I would be remiss if I did not mention the tremendous job the Society does in its own beautiful gardens. They have made a real difference in public consciousness while presenting their core mission through a beautiful landscape that makes people want to come back again and again.

I have purchased many native plants from them with great success. They offer unusual selections and they are always one of my first stops when I can't find a plant locally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change them--only create an outpost nearer my home and work in Connecticut.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

New England Wild Flower Society has been an integral part of my life for decades. When our kids were younger, we attended a series of classes that introduced them to a variety of flowers and native wildlife in an age appropriate manner. Of course we would follow up our class with a fun stroll through the wonderful property filled with a variety of native plants, always stopping to look at the resident toad that lived under the same rock each year.
Now the kids are grown, I continue to return to Garden in the Woods to purchase a wonderful variety of native plants for our yard. Knowing that our purchases support the preservation of our indigenous plant life makes me feel good about every purchase.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was closer to where we now live in Massachusetts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

I was absolutely blown away by the service and variety of native plants that are available. The gardeners helped me plan out my whole garden and every plant is thriving and perfect for the setting!
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

For many years I have enjoyed the opportunity to monitor rare and endangered species, to remove non-native invasives, and to inventory populations on various sites around New England. In the process I met many great volunteers and NEWFS staff members, visited new sites and had the chance to see some of our very special protected areas. The future of our planet lies with maintaining natural diversity.

The properties they maintain are true gems.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more time, more, volunteers, more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

The oldest plant conservation organization in the US, New England Wild Flower Society champions the cause for native plants and healthy ecosystems. I've been volunteering for 14 years and find the work satisfying and the people passionate and purposeful. The organization's home is at Garden in the Woods, a renowned native plant botanic garden, where I enjoy the beauty of native plant habitats and take classes to learn about native plants so I can design my own home landscape. It's an amazing place with a most important mission!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

NEWFS is a gem. Not only is it an inspirational garden which you want to visit again and again, it offers classes, plants, and opportunities to visit sanctuaries throughout New England. It is a great place to spend the day for young and old alike!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a cafeteria to facilitate a full day on site.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help clean seed before it gets banked; train to be a tour guide at Garden in the Woods, help weed and care for plant growing beds, scan/tag/upload images into our new visual records database, meet and greet members at special events, help remove invasives Volunteer