Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 18, 2014

more

April 18, 2014

This remarkable organization is at the forefront regionally and nationally for protecting and conserving native plants. Our native plants, growing in sites and habitats that have evolved over thousands of years, are key to maintaining the health of our planet. Insects and wildlife depend on these plants for survival. Vast areas of natural space continue to be eliminated by development, so it is more and more important to protect not only open space, but the plants that are there. NEWFS is a leader in this effort, and in educating people and organizations about native plants and their benefits to us. They offer many classes and volunteer opportunities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them increase public awareness of what they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

I work as a Plant Conservation Volunteer (PCV). As a PCV, we help monitor rare plant populations, remove invasive species, and do botanical surveys. All these efforts are coordinated through the New England Wild Flower Society. The society works with groups from ME, CT, VT, MA, and RI. They work with state governments and other conservation organizations.

The society works diligently to conserve our native flora. It produces reports on rare species, monitors them, and provides management plans.

It's a great society. I highly recommend it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Suffield, CT, by being able to see rare plants and environments in the area, in addition to contributing to their preservation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility to town governments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It's certainly increased my botanical knowledge, and moved me from the garden into the field.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I love seeing unusual and rare plants, and the environments they inhabit.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

For the past seventeen years I have been involved in volunteering as a Children's Guide at the "Garden in the Woods" and find it to be a most rewarding and meaningful experience. At the same time, I am spreading my love and knowledge of nature and it's many aspects to hundreds of eager and excited children as we trapse through the woods, meadows, bogs and along brooks and streams finding delights in the wild with every step.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting wonderful people

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't come up with any.

March 30, 2011

more

March 30, 2011

After having worked in a hospital setting for more than thirty years and then retiring from that setting, I wanted to return to my love for the natural world. It is not enough for me to simply walk around outside. I need a purpose-- like learning something new, making a difference by improving a habitat, helping to keep rare species flourishing. Somehow, I found NEWFS, and the folks there let me, as well as other volunteers, enter right into the work they do on a daily basis to learn about and protect the plants and their natural habitats. The staff at NEWFS have lifetimes of expertise, yet freely share their knowledge with volunteers by teaching them at every opportunity and by working alongside them in the field. This element of sharing has me returning as often as possible, and has showed me how to share with others what I have learned.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to join and contribute to the open space committee in my town, something I would not have been able to do without my experiences as a volunteer at NEWFS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase fund raising in order to hire more staff to expand their influence more comprehensively throughout New England.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

New England Wildflower Society (NEWFS) is a top-ten non-profit green contender. NEWFS is the nation’s oldest and largest membership organization devoted exclusively to native plant conservation. Its mission is to “Promote the conservation of flora through Education, Research, Horticulture, Habitat Preservation, and Advocacy.

One of the many ways that NEWFS seeks to achieve this goal is through the Plant Conservation Volunteers (PCV’s), of which I am one. Throughout all the New England states, PCV’s are active helping their state’s natural heritage programs survey rare plants. In these difficult economic times, our state botanists do not have the manpower to achieve this goal.

In order to conserve and promote the region’s native plants to ensure healthy, biologically diverse landscapes, the society’s research botanist, Arthur Haines, has written a guide, “Flora Novae Angliae” which will be an up to date guide for botanic reference in New England.

Also, the society’s education department offers Certificates in Native Plant Studies. These classes prepare individuals to work in rare plant monitoring or propagating their own native plants, design sustainable gardens, and then plant, prune, and maintain them. One can study grasses, ferns, wildflowers, and framework trees or learn how to enjoy sketching or photographing them. I can attest to the quality of these programs as I have recently earned a certificate in native plant studies.

NEWFS also cultivates and sells native plants for gardens and restoration efforts. This service aids in habitat preservation by discouraging the harvesting of our flora from its native habitat. Seeds are harvested in the wild in an environmentally friendly manner, which will not endanger native plants. Many of these seeds are stored in seed banks.

I cannot overly emphasize the joy one receives from our heritage, our native habitats. To get a small preview of this, visit the society’s native plant garden, Garden in the Woods, in Framingham, Massachusetts.

Barbara Grunden


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending classes, surveying rare plants, visiting Garden in the Woods, removing invasive plants, assisting with plant inventories of natural areas, leading nature walks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it more money to hold more programs, hire more personnel

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help clean seed before it gets banked; train to be a tour guide at Garden in the Woods, help weed and care for plant growing beds, scan/tag/upload images into our new visual records database, meet and greet members at special events, help remove invasives Volunteer