Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Mary and her crew are doing a fabulous job protecting horses from winding up in bad situations. They give them back their health and happiness and try to find them a perfectly matched home. Mary is as honest as they come and works her heart out to care for the animals. I wish there were more people like her in this world.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

NEER NORTH SHOULD BE A MODEL AS TO WHAT AN EQUINE RESCUE SHOULD BE. NEER North is a member of the community and serves the community. The horses and donkeys they work with, and for, are not just s... more

October 28, 2014

Honesty and Integrity. This is not someone's feel good project to boost their ego but an active support system in the equine community. Horses and other equines are re-integrated into the horse community actively; not only being cared for but through participation in local equine events. Their feed fund and assistance to those in hardship is is diplomatic and appreciated by many more than one would think. Many owners have been able to weather the storm and still keep their horses once a new job is found or an illness has passed. Fosters include active barns and riders. For those equines who can be only pasture buddies their sponsors keep them active even if cannot be ridden and the fosters are active in finding them their forever homes as well. If a situation does not work out NEER is not afraid of re starting the process. This is a rescue with purpose and goals to not only save but to rehabilitate and rehome and prevent suffering before a situation evolves to a necessary rescue. They have helped horses on the brink of death scoring 0 on the scale to good health and permanent homes and most importantly returned them to having purpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide a forever property with acres of pature and hayfields to help in its goal of self sufficiency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013

NEER NORTH SHOULD BE A MODEL AS TO WHAT AN EQUINE RESCUE SHOULD BE.

NEER North is a member of the community and serves the community.

The horses and donkeys they work with, and for, are not just stockpiled but cared for as part of an equine farm being worked with, cared for, and
helped in regaining trust and training. They use experience in placing horses in a winning situation with the objective it will be a forever home and not just placing to open a space.
You will not find the ego or bravado that can be found at other rescues but honest and genuine caring for those in need and not just for the equine but also the owner.

NEER North has a feed fund to help owners in need.

NEER North has a community out-reach program to help owners in need responsibly home a horse with a new owner before a horse is a surrender to a rescue or if there is no rescue with room to a sale yard. There is much more they would like to do but their funds can only be stretched so far. They know their priority and that is the horse.

NEER North is proactive. Their people are compassionate. Their leadership is wise. They are also sometimes heartbroken at the reality there are so many horses they cannot help.

NEER North's leadership and volunteers are not in it for the praise, compliments, publicity or glory. If they were there would be publicity about nights spent on a cot in a barn during a blizzard or sitting at the head of an aged donkey comforting her as she began the journey to the Rainbow Bridge. NEER North is there to protect and care for the equine in distress, in danger, or in need with no other agenda.

NEER North defines how a rescue should be and I cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

NEER North deals with the equine problems of today with a 'can do' attitude. Solving the issues of these neglected, mistreated or injured animals is not an easy task, but by addressing them a bit at a time these animals come out on top. They are nursed back to health, trained, socialized and ready to find new homes. And there seems to be lots of love thrown in, too. It's a lot of hard work by a lot of people with determination and big hearts.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have visited this rescue and was greeted with the kindest friendliest people helping the sweetest horses! I never felt such warmth and kindness.....I didn't feel like I was a bother like I have when visiting another other equine rescue.
I definitely will be back with donations!
Thank
you for all you do at NEER, the most compassionate, caring volunteers standing up for equines everywhere!!!
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

My children and I has been to NEER-North several times. You can tell Mary and her staff are passionate about taking care of horses. They are extremely caring and knowledgeable:) We are truely impressed with their work:) Those animal brought to NEER-North are so lucky! Whatever happened to them, Mary and staff are going to find them good home!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

NEER North has an emergency feed fund to help horse owners who are struggling to feed their animals. They also network across the country and work with other rescue organizations to help as many equines as possible. Thank you for all you do Mary Martin and all the volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

following the facebook stories and being an avid horse person all my life Kudos to NEER for doing a wonderful job Thank God for people who Care! Keep up the Awesome Work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NEER North is a wonderful organization with very committed and dedicated volunteers. Mary and Caroline do an amazing job, they make running this rescue look easy. This rescue is a labor of love for both women as well as all the wonderful volunteers that clean and care for the horses in their care. 100% volunteer, their tireless efforts are rewarded when an equine thrives and moves on to a loving adoptive home. This rescue deserves the support of everyone in the equine community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

If you looked up the word volunteer in the dictionary it would read: A person who freely offers to take part in an enterprise or undertake a task. A person who works without being paid. I have been to the "barn" at NEER and am amazed at the amount of work it takes to keep it running smoothly and efficiently. Caroline Matterson should be commended for her tireless fundraising, promotional expertise, website work and organizational skills. She inspires me to do more in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Neer North for several years. Mary Martin has always been helpful and generous. I move some of their animals for them, and have always been impressed with their kindness. The animals are always considered first. I would recommend checking them out if you are looking to adopt an animal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers