Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.973685
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have participated in programs offered @ NEER North and visited many times. Here is a well-run, bona fide horse rescue. Thank you to all for your great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have visited NEER North on several occasions and found it to be a very happy place indeed - for horses and humans (and dogs, cats etc. LOL) Mary has always been very welcoming and willing to help out another rescue with advice or an extra blanket. NEER's free grain and hay program for those in need speaks of this groups generous and creative programs to help all horses - not just the ones in their own loving care. I hope to go back and visit there very soon:)!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

NEER North is a wonderful organization that puts so much time and energy into their rescue efforts. Not only do they take great care of their rescues, but work hard to fundraise and reach out to the community to educate people about horse neglect and abuse. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

I've had the immense pleasure of working with NEER North for several years now, in the capacity of four-time foster mom, donor, and most recently, as the ecstatic adoptive mom of Shay pony. As owner of a large equine facility, I am fortunate to be able to choose from many organizations to partner with, but there are none better for rescue work than Mary, Caroline and staff at NEER North. Not only is their work in rescue and rehab superb, but they are also superior in finding the right homes for animals in their care. The time and effort they take to make sure the adoptions are sucessful and correctly matched, is an integral part of their rescue equation. There is just not enough room to write all the kudos I'd like to give this group! Keep up the great work and THANK YOU for allowing me to share in your wonderful organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NEER North is the first place I turn to if I am assisting a client searching for a horse/pony. Not only does Mary and her staff know each resident perfectly, they also are so well networked that if they don't have a match, they put the word out to their contacts and help facilitate the search. The most monumental personal experience I've had, though, is adopting my last foster, Shay!! Again, the staff at NEER North really made this happen and I can't thank them enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and build them their own barn with indoor arena! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Absolutely none. I couldn't be happier with my volunteer experience!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have gained so much from my relationship and involvement with NEER North! Personally and professionally, I've met wonderful people and had the opportunity to be involved with fantastic horses!!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful!

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

NEER North has helped our mini horse rescue group find homes and has helped house them when we had no fosters available. Mary had the vet and farrier there before I had a chance to call them myself...she runs a great rescue and should be commended for her vigilance in caring for and finding homes for horses who are no longer able to be cared for by owners who find themselves in a bind in this economy. Hats off to Mary and her gang. Would recommend them highly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have the utmost confidence in NEER North and Mary Martin -- in regard to horse welfare. I've known Mary since ~2008 and her commitments to daily horse welfare and also to legislative efforts to prohibit horse slaughter for human consumption are true and strong. Mary succeeds in these two essential 'worlds' of horse welfare, where many struggle to succeed in one.
Thru it all, the horses come first. Maybe it's magic, but Mary makes it look easy. It’s wonderful to know that horses have an angel in Mary. Thanks, Mary!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NEER North is a wonderful organization with very committed and dedicated volunteers. Mary and Caroline do an amazing job, they make running this rescue look easy. This rescue is a labor of love for both women as well as all the wonderful volunteers that clean and care for the horses in their care. 100% volunteer, their tireless efforts are rewarded when an equine thrives and moves on to a loving adoptive home. This rescue deserves the support of everyone in the equine community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

New England Equine Rescue-North Inc. (NEER) is a fabulous organization that is addressing a serious issue on the North Shore. A typical horse has a life-span of more than 20 years and will have several owners over the course of her life. While most will find owners who love and cherish them, some will fall victim to abuse, neglect, or even death at a slaughter plant. NEER takes in homeless horses and finds them loving homes. They also speak out against cruelty to horses including horse slaughter and offer regularly their expertise to prevent cruelty before it happens. We are very fortunate to have such a compassionate, effective organization working to protect horses on the North Shore!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NEER North is by far the most outstanding nonprofit I've ever had the privilege to work with. They are the most caring and dedicated group of people I know. Their assistance goes beyond the norm and have helped me in many, many situations. They were instrumental in helping me with an equine abuse case in the courts, and then with three other rescues I have done. I could not have done them without their help and they have continued to "keep on giving". They are tireless and so dedicated I get tired just watching them. Godspeed to them and their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

If you looked up the word volunteer in the dictionary it would read: A person who freely offers to take part in an enterprise or undertake a task. A person who works without being paid. I have been to the "barn" at NEER and am amazed at the amount of work it takes to keep it running smoothly and efficiently. Caroline Matterson should be commended for her tireless fundraising, promotional expertise, website work and organizational skills. She inspires me to do more in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers