Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I only wish I had more time to volunteer and more money to give this wonderful place. The animals get the best of care. Mary is amazing and makes everyone who visits feel welcome. She has a huge heart that she shares with animals and people. I am currently fostering a mule Mary was kind enough to bring me the same day I asked her when I was in a bind - one horse at my place who couldn't be left alone. That little mule is a challenge that reminds me what Mary, Caroline, and the rest of the NEER folks cheerfully tackle every day. I encourage anyone who loves animals to support this noble group in its quest to save every creature, and to someday find a home of its own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

i volunteer at new england equine rescue on friday and sunday. if i wasn't a nurse, i'd be there everyday.,and i own it all to mary martin for giving me the opportunity for more exposure with the animals that i love. her dedication to these horses truly show how special she is, and how special this place is. mary and the rest of the volunteers, kelly, lynn, john, amy, nikki, have taught me so much as i prepare for my own horse one day. there is no better feeling than walking in that barn in the morning and seeing these beautiful faces greeting you from the stalls., and lastly, receiving kisses from my boyfriend BOO! mary, many thanks-karen

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

My daughter has been volunteering at Neer North for almost two years now. She is hoping to major in animal sciences when she goes to college and her experience at Neer North have been invaluable. I can't think of a more wonderful role model for my daughter than Mary, who has put her heart and soul into this organization. The animals that find their way into her care are truly lucky!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

NEERNorth, based in bucolic West Newbury Massachusetts is focused on the growing need of equine rescue and owner support. The founder Mary Martin and her band of volunteers do amazing work, rehabilitating horses, ponies, and Donnie's in need on a limited budget. Please help us help these horses in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I met Mary when I was in need of a companion for my miniature horse. Mary is an inspiration to me. Her rescue is a wonderful addition to the Northern Essex County communities. The rescue helps horses and horse owners in need; offering many solutions not limiting solutions to re-homing of equines, when often someone is just having a rough patch and needs a helping hand. The rescue provides opportunities to volunteer and offers a children's program. The way the rescue keeps in touch with fosters and adoptees and checks on the animals is why I picked 5 stars- "far exceeds). Mary makes me proud to say I live in West Newbury where NEER-North is located...and she let me foster the coolest singing donkey ever- Buckwheat!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I am part of this board because I absotely believe in this organization's mission and I have never seen someone stretch a penny like Mary. Her tireless efforts help so many - the person in need ofa safe home for their surrendered horse or donkey, the animal itself, the fosters and volunteers who get to help, and ultimately the adopter of the newly rehabilitated animal. Bravo!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

NEER NORTH SHOULD BE A MODEL AS TO WHAT AN EQUINE RESCUE SHOULD BE.

NEER North is a member of the community and serves the community.

The horses and donkeys they work with, and for, are not just stockpiled but cared for as part of an equine farm being worked with, cared for, and
helped in regaining trust and training. They use experience in placing horses in a winning situation with the objective it will be a forever home and not just placing to open a space.
You will not find the ego or bravado that can be found at other rescues but honest and genuine caring for those in need and not just for the equine but also the owner.

NEER North has a feed fund to help owners in need.

NEER North has a community out-reach program to help owners in need responsibly home a horse with a new owner before a horse is a surrender to a rescue or if there is no rescue with room to a sale yard. There is much more they would like to do but their funds can only be stretched so far. They know their priority and that is the horse.

NEER North is proactive. Their people are compassionate. Their leadership is wise. They are also sometimes heartbroken at the reality there are so many horses they cannot help.

NEER North's leadership and volunteers are not in it for the praise, compliments, publicity or glory. If they were there would be publicity about nights spent on a cot in a barn during a blizzard or sitting at the head of an aged donkey comforting her as she began the journey to the Rainbow Bridge. NEER North is there to protect and care for the equine in distress, in danger, or in need with no other agenda.

NEER North defines how a rescue should be and I cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

NEER North is a great place to volunteer, even if you don't have horse experience there are many ways to help: office work, organizing and helping with fundraisers, grant writing, collecting donations. I have seen NEER North take a horse that someone has given up on, and turn it into a healthy, loved animal that has been successfully adopted by a loving home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

My children and I has been to NEER-North several times. You can tell Mary and her staff are passionate about taking care of horses. They are extremely caring and knowledgeable:) We are truely impressed with their work:) Those animal brought to NEER-North are so lucky! Whatever happened to them, Mary and staff are going to find them good home!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

NEER North has an emergency feed fund to help horse owners who are struggling to feed their animals. They also network across the country and work with other rescue organizations to help as many equines as possible. Thank you for all you do Mary Martin and all the volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers