Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

NEER North is the best Non-Profit Organization I know. As an animal lover it truly warms my heart to see the rescue work the NEER North crew (all volunteers, I believe) does for horses & a variety of other animals. They are a gift to animals & the community as well. Their fundraisers are fun for the family & help to raise awareness about animals in need. I seriously love those guys! :)
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I learned about NEER north from my aunt who is a volunteer. She led me to a horse that they had there that had been to the brink of death and back. She was a huge mare with a lot of potential but even bigger baggage. Although I wasn't looking at the time for a new horse I truly believe Asha found me. As a professional in this sport( I am a trainer who owns a large equestrian facility). I understand the amount of love, hard work, blood, sweat, tears, and money that goes into a foundation such as NEER. I couldn't recommend a better facility. I currently house three of NEErs graduates, one of which I am training for NEER and two of my own. These people are the one in a millions. They are angels and we need more of them in this world. I couldn't picture my life without my little ( or not so little at 17+ hands) Asha girl.
Fondly,
Meghan Bourque
A Touch of Majic Equestrian Center
Groton, MA
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Mary and her crew are doing a fabulous job protecting horses from winding up in bad situations. They give them back their health and happiness and try to find them a perfectly matched home. Mary is as honest as they come and works her heart out to care for the animals. I wish there were more people like her in this world.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

No matter the age or condition, Mary Martin and the NEER North crew work tirelessly to make sure every animal gets great care and love. Those that come in skinny and matted are soon fat and sleek. Mary has a way with the ones who don't haven't had a lot of handling that is truly amazing. I know a lot of rescues, and this one is absolutely the best. They deserve all the support you can muster.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Mary's work with the horses at NEER North is extraordinary. The transformations of rescue horses are amazing, but she also goes above and beyond to make sure that local horses in need are helped before they even wind up in a rescue situation. Boo is a wonderful ambassador for the farm and has become a local celebrity :) And of course, Tom Cat brightens everyone's day with his feline musings on the farm's daily operations. Keep up the great work!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I adopted a horse from NEER North about a year ago. They were very clear and honest about how to adopt, which I appreciated. They were also thorough with the reference checks and reviewing my application. I felt I was treated with a lot of respect of what could offer a horse in need but they were also protective of the animal in their care and it's future home. It was clear the staff at NEER North absolutely love the equines they care for. When I picked up my horse, all my questions were answered, and they showed a lot of passion for the hard work they do on behalf of the horses they are trying to help. Truly a great experience due to the caring nature of the organization.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

NEER NORTH SHOULD BE A MODEL AS TO WHAT AN EQUINE RESCUE SHOULD BE. NEER North is a member of the community and serves the community. The horses and donkeys they work with, and for, are not just s... more

October 28, 2014

Honesty and Integrity. This is not someone's feel good project to boost their ego but an active support system in the equine community. Horses and other equines are re-integrated into the horse community actively; not only being cared for but through participation in local equine events. Their feed fund and assistance to those in hardship is is diplomatic and appreciated by many more than one would think. Many owners have been able to weather the storm and still keep their horses once a new job is found or an illness has passed. Fosters include active barns and riders. For those equines who can be only pasture buddies their sponsors keep them active even if cannot be ridden and the fosters are active in finding them their forever homes as well. If a situation does not work out NEER is not afraid of re starting the process. This is a rescue with purpose and goals to not only save but to rehabilitate and rehome and prevent suffering before a situation evolves to a necessary rescue. They have helped horses on the brink of death scoring 0 on the scale to good health and permanent homes and most importantly returned them to having purpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide a forever property with acres of pature and hayfields to help in its goal of self sufficiency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013

NEER NORTH SHOULD BE A MODEL AS TO WHAT AN EQUINE RESCUE SHOULD BE.

NEER North is a member of the community and serves the community.

The horses and donkeys they work with, and for, are not just stockpiled but cared for as part of an equine farm being worked with, cared for, and
helped in regaining trust and training. They use experience in placing horses in a winning situation with the objective it will be a forever home and not just placing to open a space.
You will not find the ego or bravado that can be found at other rescues but honest and genuine caring for those in need and not just for the equine but also the owner.

NEER North has a feed fund to help owners in need.

NEER North has a community out-reach program to help owners in need responsibly home a horse with a new owner before a horse is a surrender to a rescue or if there is no rescue with room to a sale yard. There is much more they would like to do but their funds can only be stretched so far. They know their priority and that is the horse.

NEER North is proactive. Their people are compassionate. Their leadership is wise. They are also sometimes heartbroken at the reality there are so many horses they cannot help.

NEER North's leadership and volunteers are not in it for the praise, compliments, publicity or glory. If they were there would be publicity about nights spent on a cot in a barn during a blizzard or sitting at the head of an aged donkey comforting her as she began the journey to the Rainbow Bridge. NEER North is there to protect and care for the equine in distress, in danger, or in need with no other agenda.

NEER North defines how a rescue should be and I cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 19, 2012

Working with the donkeys and horses has been so rewarding. Being around the equines and other volunteers has been fun and enlightening. I love my time with them and they in turn show us affection an... more

October 28, 2014

I have volunteered with NEER north for the last 5 years and it has been an amazing privilege. I have learned so much about the plight of equines in crisis and have seen first hand the work that this organization has done. Turning around horses in failing health and returning them to a renewed state of well being and a new forever loving home has been so inspiring. I have gone on to adopt an unadoptable horse myself and I couldn't be happier. Lynne Deschenes
September 19, 2012

Working with the donkeys and horses has been so rewarding. Being around the equines and other volunteers has been fun and enlightening. I love my time with them and they in turn show us affection and invite us into their "herd" as their caretakers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

NEER North deals with the equine problems of today with a 'can do' attitude. Solving the issues of these neglected, mistreated or injured animals is not an easy task, but by addressing them a bit at a time these animals come out on top. They are nursed back to health, trained, socialized and ready to find new homes. And there seems to be lots of love thrown in, too. It's a lot of hard work by a lot of people with determination and big hearts.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have visited this rescue and was greeted with the kindest friendliest people helping the sweetest horses! I never felt such warmth and kindness.....I didn't feel like I was a bother like I have when visiting another other equine rescue.
I definitely will be back with donations!
Thank
you for all you do at NEER, the most compassionate, caring volunteers standing up for equines everywhere!!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers