Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Every time my adult son Jeff reeturns from a trip with New Directions, he seems better off in so many ways...more alert, more "together" , and fulll of the excitement he experienced. New Directions provides a much needed educational service at reasonable cost and operates without waste. The staff are dedicated to the clients 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I had heard about New Directions for many years as I worked as a social worker with individuals with special needs and their families. All my clients had great things to say about the agency: how they offered scholarships so anyone could travel, how amazing their Holiday Happiness Christmas events were, how much the trips meant to them. I wanted to volunteer after I retired and I was hooked after being a tour guide on my first trip. This agency believes strongly that everyone has a right to travel as an important component of a rich, happy life. Even if the travelers are in wheelchairs, require total care in their activities of daily living or have challenging behaviors New Directions provides them the help they need to experience the world. Their travelers go to Disneyland and seeing their joy at getting a hug from Mickey or Donald is great. They have been to theme parks all over the country, to national Parks, to the NASA space center, to see the glaciers of Alaska, to cruise the Mexican waters., to see waterfalls, swim with dolphins, gape at the wonders of the world. Wherever tourists flock, New Directions is there making the experience possible for individuals with autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, and other developmental disabilitities. I really enjoy travelling with one young woman who is only 23, mildly developmentally delayed, and blind. She takes anti-depressants and I told her half-jokingly "You are such a fun, upbeat person..I want what you take!!" "Oh no," she explained,"I am only happy when I am on a trip. When I am in my group home I cant even go out to a local swimming pool or to the movies, there is no one who cares to take me." I hope New Directions will always be there to give her and our other travelers the happiness they deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I have volunteered with New Directions for over 15 years. I take vacation from my job so I can go on these trips and I try to make at least 2 trips a year, but that doesn't always happen. The effect this organization has on the travelers is wonderful. The experiences in watching them enjoy horseback riding, sea world, luaus, and just hanging around making new friends is so rewarding. Sometimes I feel I get more out of the trips than the travelers. The joy and excitement I see in their faces and just being there as some of them experience new things is fantastic. Everyone should be a tour guide with New Directions at least once to truly understand the impact this organization has.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

New Directions offers amazing vacation opportunities to developmentally disabled adults. I've had the great opportunity to chaperone on several trips. My fellow tour guides have always been stellar. Their first and foremost concern have always been the enjoyment and safety of the clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2010

more

October 6, 2010

I have been a tour guide with New Directions for 12+ years. Because of my current job, I am not able to take as many trips with them as I would like. I know the travelers get a lot out of these trips - new places, new friends, new adventures, or, in some case, old places and old friends. Sometimes I believe the tour guides get more out of the trips by just experiencing it with the travelers. One of my favorite memories was at Disneyland, riding It's A Small Wolrd with a young man who is a deaf mute. The expression of joy and wonder on his face said more than any words he could have expressed. New Directions provides opportunities for travelers they might never have had the experience of knowing. I can't wait for my next trip with them in November.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my many trips with them as a tour guide.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

fantastic

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

off scholarships to many more potential travelers.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers