Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been on the New Directions Board for a number of years, and am continually enriched by the commitment of staff and tour guides. Dee Duncan, the founder of the organization, is its heart and soul, and she continues to surround herself with big-hearted people. My daughter traveled with New Directions a number of times and loved every minute of each experience - especially the laughter and fun created with the tour guides and the other travelers! When she was ill a few years ago, I asked her what she would like to do when she became stronger. She said she wanted to go to Hawaii again with New Directions, rather than with family! They experience such a wonderful freedom. I am honored to serve on the Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Every time my adult son Jeff reeturns from a trip with New Directions, he seems better off in so many ways...more alert, more "together" , and fulll of the excitement he experienced. New Directions provides a much needed educational service at reasonable cost and operates without waste. The staff are dedicated to the clients 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I had heard about New Directions for many years as I worked as a social worker with individuals with special needs and their families. All my clients had great things to say about the agency: how they offered scholarships so anyone could travel, how amazing their Holiday Happiness Christmas events were, how much the trips meant to them. I wanted to volunteer after I retired and I was hooked after being a tour guide on my first trip. This agency believes strongly that everyone has a right to travel as an important component of a rich, happy life. Even if the travelers are in wheelchairs, require total care in their activities of daily living or have challenging behaviors New Directions provides them the help they need to experience the world. Their travelers go to Disneyland and seeing their joy at getting a hug from Mickey or Donald is great. They have been to theme parks all over the country, to national Parks, to the NASA space center, to see the glaciers of Alaska, to cruise the Mexican waters., to see waterfalls, swim with dolphins, gape at the wonders of the world. Wherever tourists flock, New Directions is there making the experience possible for individuals with autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, and other developmental disabilitities. I really enjoy travelling with one young woman who is only 23, mildly developmentally delayed, and blind. She takes anti-depressants and I told her half-jokingly "You are such a fun, upbeat person..I want what you take!!" "Oh no," she explained,"I am only happy when I am on a trip. When I am in my group home I cant even go out to a local swimming pool or to the movies, there is no one who cares to take me." I hope New Directions will always be there to give her and our other travelers the happiness they deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I've been associated with New Directions for over twenty years. I am fortunate to work at the Anaheim Marriott and we've partnered with ND with room donations so they can carry on their program. Every December they have a Holiday Happiness Event and it is a delight to welcome the "travelers" and their "tour leaders." They bring a joy and a delightful spirit to our hotel that is unmatched. The tour guides are all volunteers and they are so accommodating and considerate of their charges. The organization appreciates every thing we do for them. The service ND provides these individuals during the Holidays, many who otherwise would be left alone in their state-facilities, with a place to go to, friends to be with, visits with a gift-bearing Santa, fun at amusement parks, good food, laughter and love, is beyond anything I've ever seen! It has also been a wonderful experience for our staff to serve people with disabilities. I've seen an increased patience and empathy for our guests with disabilties because our people are not put off by someone that looks different. We've seen first hand that just because someone is in a wheelchair or can't communicate normally, it doesn't mean they are without minds of their own, feelings and the capacity to love. Not only is ND providing a wonderful service for people with disabilities but they are showing the world who these wonderful people really are!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2010

My brother is developmentally disabled and has been on several trips with New Directions. Ten years ago after my parents passed away I was determined to help my brother live a more independent and... more

September 27, 2012

My brother Rich has been a traveler with New Directions every year for the past 10 years. New Directions is a wonderfully caring, highly professional organization that really "lives" it's mission to provide great journeys for their travelers AND helps others see how much people with developmental disabilities can teach the rest of us about life, joy and laughter. Every traveler is treated with dignity, respect, love and consideration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2010

My brother is developmentally disabled and has been on several trips with New Directions. Ten years ago after my parents passed away I was determined to help my brother live a more independent and self-fulfilling life. His experiences with New Directions Travel has been an integral part in his growth in independence, self confidence and overall excitement about life. In the beginning I had to cajole him into going on a trip. Now he has the next one selected before he goes on the one selected for the current year. I asked him recently what he likes best about New Directions staff and programs (aside from the wonderful places he gets to go). He said that the trips are so well organized and that the staff is so helpful--especially in the morning when it takes him a long time to get ready for the day. I'm forever grateful to this organization for all that they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See review above.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. It's a wonderful organization run by amazing people.

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I have volunteered with New Directions for over 15 years. I take vacation from my job so I can go on these trips and I try to make at least 2 trips a year, but that doesn't always happen. The effect this organization has on the travelers is wonderful. The experiences in watching them enjoy horseback riding, sea world, luaus, and just hanging around making new friends is so rewarding. Sometimes I feel I get more out of the trips than the travelers. The joy and excitement I see in their faces and just being there as some of them experience new things is fantastic. Everyone should be a tour guide with New Directions at least once to truly understand the impact this organization has.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My daughter, Julie, has traveled with New Directions for many years. Traveling with this group is Julie's favorite thing to do. She generally goes on three trips each year. She awaits these trips with great anticipation. The trips are very well organized and give many developmentally disabled persons a great opportunity to travel. Travel opportunities would not be possible for many of these developmentally disabled persons without New Directions. They are a wonderful program, offering travel trips to persons who would otherwise not have this chance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Our sister is a disabled adult who wants to do everything 'normal' people do...especially travel! While we have traveled with her in the past, it is a major project and while I wish to always be kinder and more patient, it in a huge amount of work to travel with Pamela.The people at NEW DIRECTIONS are patient, empowering and provide the opportunity for Pam to do the kind of world travel she wants and needs. This is an invaluable service to the families of the disabled and a god-send for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

New Directions offers amazing vacation opportunities to developmentally disabled adults. I've had the great opportunity to chaperone on several trips. My fellow tour guides have always been stellar. Their first and foremost concern have always been the enjoyment and safety of the clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2010

more

October 15, 2010

This is a remarkable organization focused on enhancing the quality of life for disabled people. Our 21 year old son is developmentally disabled and has traveled with them a few times. We've found the staff to be caring and concerned, and very qualified to deal with whatever situations may arise. These adventure trips for our son also provide respite for our family at home. I'm always very happy to share this resource with others in the special needs community because I think the work they do is so unique and important. New Directions treats its consumers with respect, dignity and compassion. I highly recommend supporting New Directions! Their scholarship program is tremendously important for many of their consumers who would have no other means of participating in these terrific programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

enhancing our son's life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no recommendations

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers