Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I found myself very short of money during the summer, I decided it was time for me to start exploring other alternatives to buying food. This is an excellent avenue for purchasing the same quality food that I would normally purchase with significantly less cost. This organization is unique because of the increased emphasis in fellowship and good grounded values. I have not only benefited through having low-cost food, but also through the wonderfully friendly people I have met.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The help of New Community and Food Thing Network has been an incredible blessing to my family the past few months. With my husband being out of work most of this year we had exhausted all other financial resources and were about to wonder where our next week's food would come from. Thankfully, NCCM was there to supply an enormous box of food each week for a nominal fee. The food has been so abundant our fridge and freezer are filled to the brim. The volunteers have always been kind, friendly and helpful. Thanks to NCCM and Food Thing, we have a place to go when we are in a tight financial spot and know we never have to worry about putting food on the table for our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been unemployed for over a year and having the wife as the sole person working has been tough on our over all budget. The food thing network has been a blessing to my family in this time of need. I don't think our budget would survive if it wasn't for the network

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

My husband's unemployment put us in a position we never thought we be in. We had been blessed financially for so many years, and had been the ones doing the giving. Now we found ourselves in the position of receiving generosity from others. We were accustomed to eating pretty healthy. Hamburger Helper was not in our pantry. Now, I struggled with how I was going to continue to put healthy meals on our table. Other food pantries or banks, mostly offered canned and highly processed foods. Then one of my best friends, told me about The Food Network (a ministry of New Community Ministries. We again were able to have fresh fruits and vegetables on our table. Even better, they were organic. This really reduced my stress during an otherwise stressful time. Feeding my children healthy food is a priority for me. Soon after becoming a client, me and my whole family started volunteering for the ministry. It was a way to give back and support a cause we believed in. So much food is thrown away every day. This is appalling to me since so many people go hungry every day. This ministry made perfect sense. It kept good food from being thrown away and got it into the hands of people who needed it. What really differentiates New Community Ministries is that it is offering a hand up, not just a hand out. Able bodied clients are expected to volunteer within the ministry somehow. This allows us to keep our dignity and brings positive feelings from helping others. Jesus came to serve not be served and He is our example. New Community Ministries has given us the opportunity to follow Jesus' example. We have volunteered in so many aspects of the ministry. From helping pick up food from the stores donating, to helping at food distributions, to working to keep the ministry vehicles running, to cleaning out refrigerators, to yard work and household repairs at the ministry's house, to collecting donations for the special needs of a client, and most of all praying. I can definitely say New Community Ministries has had the greatest impact on my family during this challenging time. We plan to continue in our partnership way beyond my husband's unemployment. Thank you Christine for all you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Stated in my review above.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Chrisine, She works so hard and puts her heart and soul into the ministry. She needs more administrative volunteers to make the ministry run more efficiently. I think of how many more could benefit from this wonderful ministry with monetary donations and more manpower.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Friend referred.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Helped me to be more humble and increased my faith as I witness God faithfully provide for our and others' needs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 9, 2010

more

November 9, 2010

We were out of work when my friend introduced us to this program. We were a bit shy at first as it was hard to accept help. But new community ministeries members made us feel very comfortable. Whole process of packing food ,storing it and then distributing is neat and clean. It helped us in a big way. We could use our resources for other necessties.We seved as volunteers as well and that made us feel as members of community. There was no differtiation over race or any other factor. We were highly impressed by the dedication of members. Christine was always smiling, got involved in our lives. My husband found a job eventually but this experience and memories will stay with us always.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

positive manner.Whole experience taught us to contribute to needy . It was kind of a selfless service. We want to continue our little role as volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more systematic.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver Food To a Cancer Patient, senior or someone recovering from major surgery. Volunteer