Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Write A Review
December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I joined Food thing Network to complete some court appointed hours. The number of hours that I required were very small therefore most organizations refused to help me. Also considering my situation they were exterenly rude. Unlike other places I found the staff of this organization extremly helpful, understanding, and accomodating. They used my time wisely and judiciously; and not once brought up the court issue. Other than that I found that the whole system was very well organized and based on a lot of respect. It was priviledge to have worked with this organization. Since then I have recommended Food Thing Network to several of my friends to volunteer. I don't live in the same city anymore othervise I would have continued volunteering. Thank you very much for everything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has motivated me towards mroe volunteering work and look beyond myself

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel thankful for everything that I have. Also it generated a lot of respect for such organizatiosn and the amoutn of effort they put in.

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

I came across NCCM a few years ago through Christine, the director. I knew her from Church and she started telling me about the ministry and its mission. I helped out here and there at firsy and I saw good things come from it. I got busy in my life and drifted away from it for a while. In November of 2009 I was laid off from my main job and found that as I returned to the ministry, the ministry was there for me. It helped to bring me to a better perspective of what the ministry does and and a new perspective on how effective it is. In my own life the NCCM was being a big help mand at the same time I saw the further long term effects of how it was helping others. I try to put my skills and talents to use for it as I am able and I now see the deeper impact it is having on myself and the others who are also blessed by it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having my own food needs met, and some other unexpected help along the way in a couple of different ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Seeing the hope and help that makes a difference in people's lives.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Useful to God and those around me.

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Food Thing Network through a homeschool friend and deceided to give it a try. I am makeing 1/2 of the money that I was making so now things are tight. I so much enjoyed the things that Christine was doing so I volunteered and am now a team leader. It feels good to give back. I wish that I could do this full time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Food distribution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Para mi realmente ha sido una bendicion al haver conosido este programa de 'FOOD THING'. Hace una gran diferencia cuamdo esta uno pasando por problemas economicos. me encanta ser volunteer y ayudar en todo lo que puedo. Mi esposo tambien es volunteer es algo que hacemos juntos y nos devertimos y aparte nos ayuda anosotros tambien. Conosco mucha gente que le ayuda resivir la comida de gran calidad a un exelente precio. Gracias a todos los que hacen esto posible especialmete a Christine... Gracias :)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

en mi vida porque tanto me ayudado a mi como a otras familias.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

trairia mas gente necesitada para que ellos se beneficien tambiien.

December 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy working with the groups of people that give there time to help others in need. Getting to know people joining together for a common goal of helping our niehbors not only puts food on the tables of those in need or down on there recources, but I truly believe it helps the rest of us open our hearts and minds to eachother, where we might not get an opertunity to realize what the really important things are in our own lives, and the lives of others from different walks of life that we work hand in hand with. I feel truly blessed to have the oppertunity to experience the impact of the Food Thing each week!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

Es un gran placer poder ver a primer vista como los servicios de New Community Counseling and Ministries ayudan a mi comunidad . Es una organizacion que realmente hace una diferencia.

It's a great pleasure to see first had how New Community Counseling and Ministries help my community.
It's an organization that really makes a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My community. Seeing how the healthful food and donations help families is a blessing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more visible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I had the honor of working with the organization's director, who is an inspiration in organization, as well a deeply kind person.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Honored. Humbled.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered FoodThing through a friend who knew Christine personally. From the first day Christine treated us like a close family friend and even offered to bring us food on days that we could not make it. Through volunteering and being assisted, we met some great people, friends and got to return the help to people like us who were in need. The FoodThing is a great organization with only the greatest of intentions, which is to help the local communities in any way they can. They helped us during our time of need and for that we will always be grateful. Thank you for everything that you do and everything that you have done for us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing families being able to buy food when they only had a few dollars in hand. Without the help of FoodThing, a lot of families would have had to make sacrifices in their nutrition choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them bigger and allow more families to be able to benefit from such a wonderful organization. More volunteers, trucks and partnerships to help get American families back on their feet again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Being able to determine how much food can be collected before people make trips to pick up. There have been times where companies just did not have enough food which caused disappointment and not being able to support everyone on those days

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

We've met a lot of new friends. A lot of nice resources of people who have different skills. If I ever need a bike mechanic, auto mechanic, carpenter I have new friends who need the work and I can trust. All those people we have met through the Food Thing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made us feel that people really do care and want to help. We were able to pass along that feeling by volunteering.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

I got involved with New community Ministeries when i wanted to do some volunteering. I have found that the people that volunteer are very respectful of those people that need help a lot of the volunteers are also a part of the program which is great because to a lot of people just receiving handouts is a dehumanizing experience. The food bank has healthy food and they are willing to work with peoples dietary needs. They take time out to make sure that all the food provided in each box fits in with not only the dietary needs of a family but also their dietary wants. When so many programs are mainly about the quantity of food they give out it is refreshing to have a food distribution that is concerned about the quality of food they are giving out as well as the quantity. I have seen a lot of people that i know need help but they either are afraid to ask for it or they are afraid of the stigma that a lot of people see as being attached to needing help with food thing and new community counseling and ministries they are able to take a lot of the stigma away. They make all the people the receive their help feel like they are part of a family. Christine is constantly trying to find more ways to help the families that are part of the organization and encouraging new people to join the people being helped. Christine and the other volunteers always want to do more and help as many people as they possible can during the difficult financial times that we are facing. the people that they help are in all different situations and while a lot of the people that they help fall way under the poverty line they will not turn anyone away because they do not meet some specific requirement. Anyone that needs help can get help through the food bank.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I met Christine, I found a woman who is passionate about helping the less fortunate in many respects but who also had a determination to help those who "fall through the cracks". Many people have temporary needs and don't meet the poverty levels required by local state-driven agencies. Christine found a way to find housing, funding and FRESH FOOD for those in need. It's a pleasure to volunteer for a small grass roots organization that's christian-based and not afraid to show it. Seeing the humbled familes come to receive love and donations so they can carry on their lives in this horrific economy. Christine makes opportunities available for volunteers in all aspects, making sure that each volunteer gets to focus on areas in which they are skilled, making best use of the resources. As a result, she has been able to provide a website for people to use to check on food distribution details as well as a place to offer donations (with capabilities of printing receipts at the time the donation is made online). Her passion encompasses a vast area of needs and as a result, has allowed many people who NEED the services and those who are willing to volunteer, follow in her footsteps because they are also passionate about her dreams to serve. Volunteers are not always clients, but clients are always volunteers. This is key in making a succesful organization and each client graciously offers to give back time after time. Fresh Food donations several times a week from Whole Foods and Panera Bread help families eat healthy and allows the ministry to target even those with dietary restrictions. My recommendation is that everyone give what they can to this organization so it may continue to grow and continue to help families in crisis, temporary or otherwise. Christine has a gift of giving and hopefully companies will sponsor The Food Thing Network and New Community Ministries on a regular basis. be blessed~

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I became disabled, unable to work, and due to the ecomony and my husband's lack of work in the contruction industry, I was lead to New Community Ministries as a client. It started out where I would show up at a distribution site early to help distribute and go home with my box of fresh food. The people I met and the combined passions kept me on the scene as a volunteer in as many ways as possible as I'm so fond of serving food to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the website contain a login and password set up for volunteers to do online scheduling as well as housing relevant documentation to support the rules, conduct and cleanliness expectations so each volunteer may read. Ideally, the documents would contain an 'accept' agreement for each volunteer to sign.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

access to an online schedule so volunteers knew who the leaders were and contact information for all the volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The people I met from all walks of life was more fulfilling that receiving food or services. Sharing stories with each other and being able to support one another during crisis is amazing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering always makes me feel special. Committing to this organization allowed me to become accountable by being able to utilize skills I already had to help the organization in may ways. It's very satisfying.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I first found out about Food Thing about 2 years ago when my family was going through an incredibly difficult time. My parents had just separated due to domestic abuse and my mom and my siblings and I were struggling to make it financially, as well as needing the encouragement and prayer support that Food Thing and New Community Ministries offered us. I can't tell you what a positive experience the individuals who lead and volunteer in this ministry have made this for us. Before becoming members of the Food Thing Co-op, we had tried out our county food pantry but the experience was so different - we felt dehumanized and like a number waiting to be processed. Additionally, the food was largely comprised of highly processed canned and boxed mixes, deserts and meats, all of which our family chose not to eat for health reasons. Our experience with New Community has been the absolute opposite! Each week when we arrive for pickup, we are treated with dignity and welcomed individually. The team members have made us feel like welcomed friends and the food has been fresh organic produce that we can feel good about putting on the table. Rather than feeling like we had no choices even about such a basic thing as what we would eat, we were able to continue to make dishes that we thought were healthy choices. This ministry is nurturing the wounded and helping them get back on their feet, not just passing out groceries. It truly is a hand up, not just a handout. I now volunteer with the ministry and feel that I am receiving a double blessing by being able to give back in a ministry that I know has such an impact on so many!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Receiving food, prayer support and encouragement, and in watching it bless so many single moms, unemployed people and survivors of domestic abuse around me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to secure it more funding from donors for its continued growth!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience with New Community ministries has helped me to make new friends and has given me more insight into just how much teamwork a non-profit requires.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like a part of a team that is really ministering to people!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver Food To a Cancer Patient, senior or someone recovering from major surgery. Volunteer