Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Write A Review
November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered FoodThing through a friend who knew Christine personally. From the first day Christine treated us like a close family friend and even offered to bring us food on days that we could not make it. Through volunteering and being assisted, we met some great people, friends and got to return the help to people like us who were in need. The FoodThing is a great organization with only the greatest of intentions, which is to help the local communities in any way they can. They helped us during our time of need and for that we will always be grateful. Thank you for everything that you do and everything that you have done for us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing families being able to buy food when they only had a few dollars in hand. Without the help of FoodThing, a lot of families would have had to make sacrifices in their nutrition choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them bigger and allow more families to be able to benefit from such a wonderful organization. More volunteers, trucks and partnerships to help get American families back on their feet again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Being able to determine how much food can be collected before people make trips to pick up. There have been times where companies just did not have enough food which caused disappointment and not being able to support everyone on those days

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

We've met a lot of new friends. A lot of nice resources of people who have different skills. If I ever need a bike mechanic, auto mechanic, carpenter I have new friends who need the work and I can trust. All those people we have met through the Food Thing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made us feel that people really do care and want to help. We were able to pass along that feeling by volunteering.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been unemployed for over a year and having the wife as the sole person working has been tough on our over all budget. The food thing network has been a blessing to my family in this time of need. I don't think our budget would survive if it wasn't for the network

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

We found out about the "foodthing" when we most needed it. We were not getting enough income to buy food. When we heard about the food distributions of New Community Ministries, we decided to try it, and since then it has exceeded our expectations! Not only do we get some fresh organic fruits and veggies, dairy products, pre-made sandwiches, and other goodies from Whole Foods, along with more bread from Panera than we can eat, but also we get this all in a box for only $6. The same amount of food bought at a store would cost us many times more this number. If it were not for this ministry, we would be in a worse place right now. We are thankful for God's provision through Christine's hard work, as well as, through the many volunteers that help out each week. Thank you for helping us survive and stay healthy! We love you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My ability to eat healthy and consistently.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe that better communication always helps relationships in any organization. There are always ways in which we can do better, though keep in mind; your doing a great job! Perhaps all we need are more faithful volunteers to help keep the good work going and growing. These are things we cannot always change. We have to do our best and let God do the rest!

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

I got involved with New community Ministeries when i wanted to do some volunteering. I have found that the people that volunteer are very respectful of those people that need help a lot of the volunteers are also a part of the program which is great because to a lot of people just receiving handouts is a dehumanizing experience. The food bank has healthy food and they are willing to work with peoples dietary needs. They take time out to make sure that all the food provided in each box fits in with not only the dietary needs of a family but also their dietary wants. When so many programs are mainly about the quantity of food they give out it is refreshing to have a food distribution that is concerned about the quality of food they are giving out as well as the quantity. I have seen a lot of people that i know need help but they either are afraid to ask for it or they are afraid of the stigma that a lot of people see as being attached to needing help with food thing and new community counseling and ministries they are able to take a lot of the stigma away. They make all the people the receive their help feel like they are part of a family. Christine is constantly trying to find more ways to help the families that are part of the organization and encouraging new people to join the people being helped. Christine and the other volunteers always want to do more and help as many people as they possible can during the difficult financial times that we are facing. the people that they help are in all different situations and while a lot of the people that they help fall way under the poverty line they will not turn anyone away because they do not meet some specific requirement. Anyone that needs help can get help through the food bank.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I met Christine, I found a woman who is passionate about helping the less fortunate in many respects but who also had a determination to help those who "fall through the cracks". Many people have temporary needs and don't meet the poverty levels required by local state-driven agencies. Christine found a way to find housing, funding and FRESH FOOD for those in need. It's a pleasure to volunteer for a small grass roots organization that's christian-based and not afraid to show it. Seeing the humbled familes come to receive love and donations so they can carry on their lives in this horrific economy. Christine makes opportunities available for volunteers in all aspects, making sure that each volunteer gets to focus on areas in which they are skilled, making best use of the resources. As a result, she has been able to provide a website for people to use to check on food distribution details as well as a place to offer donations (with capabilities of printing receipts at the time the donation is made online). Her passion encompasses a vast area of needs and as a result, has allowed many people who NEED the services and those who are willing to volunteer, follow in her footsteps because they are also passionate about her dreams to serve. Volunteers are not always clients, but clients are always volunteers. This is key in making a succesful organization and each client graciously offers to give back time after time. Fresh Food donations several times a week from Whole Foods and Panera Bread help families eat healthy and allows the ministry to target even those with dietary restrictions. My recommendation is that everyone give what they can to this organization so it may continue to grow and continue to help families in crisis, temporary or otherwise. Christine has a gift of giving and hopefully companies will sponsor The Food Thing Network and New Community Ministries on a regular basis. be blessed~

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I became disabled, unable to work, and due to the ecomony and my husband's lack of work in the contruction industry, I was lead to New Community Ministries as a client. It started out where I would show up at a distribution site early to help distribute and go home with my box of fresh food. The people I met and the combined passions kept me on the scene as a volunteer in as many ways as possible as I'm so fond of serving food to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the website contain a login and password set up for volunteers to do online scheduling as well as housing relevant documentation to support the rules, conduct and cleanliness expectations so each volunteer may read. Ideally, the documents would contain an 'accept' agreement for each volunteer to sign.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

access to an online schedule so volunteers knew who the leaders were and contact information for all the volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The people I met from all walks of life was more fulfilling that receiving food or services. Sharing stories with each other and being able to support one another during crisis is amazing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering always makes me feel special. Committing to this organization allowed me to become accountable by being able to utilize skills I already had to help the organization in may ways. It's very satisfying.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

Food Thing provides a unique mixture of direct service and empowerment to community members in need. The recipients gain healthy food on a weekly basis through their own effort and energy of a volunteer commitment and a small monetary cost, earning and paying for the benefit rather than being handed something free as a "charity case." In addition, Food Thing's unique system of food collection and distribution means same or next day delivery of the food, ensuring freshness of the vegetables and other perishable items.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I first found out about Food Thing about 2 years ago when my family was going through an incredibly difficult time. My parents had just separated due to domestic abuse and my mom and my siblings and I were struggling to make it financially, as well as needing the encouragement and prayer support that Food Thing and New Community Ministries offered us. I can't tell you what a positive experience the individuals who lead and volunteer in this ministry have made this for us. Before becoming members of the Food Thing Co-op, we had tried out our county food pantry but the experience was so different - we felt dehumanized and like a number waiting to be processed. Additionally, the food was largely comprised of highly processed canned and boxed mixes, deserts and meats, all of which our family chose not to eat for health reasons. Our experience with New Community has been the absolute opposite! Each week when we arrive for pickup, we are treated with dignity and welcomed individually. The team members have made us feel like welcomed friends and the food has been fresh organic produce that we can feel good about putting on the table. Rather than feeling like we had no choices even about such a basic thing as what we would eat, we were able to continue to make dishes that we thought were healthy choices. This ministry is nurturing the wounded and helping them get back on their feet, not just passing out groceries. It truly is a hand up, not just a handout. I now volunteer with the ministry and feel that I am receiving a double blessing by being able to give back in a ministry that I know has such an impact on so many!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Receiving food, prayer support and encouragement, and in watching it bless so many single moms, unemployed people and survivors of domestic abuse around me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to secure it more funding from donors for its continued growth!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience with New Community ministries has helped me to make new friends and has given me more insight into just how much teamwork a non-profit requires.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like a part of a team that is really ministering to people!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 23, 2010

more

November 23, 2010

I knew Christine who is in charge of the New Community Ministries probably a year ago. Her dedication and love for the needed people made me be a volunteer in her great journal. She comes every Thursday to Calvary Church in Naperville to share the food God provides for the Women Spanish Encourage Group. The women are so grateful with God and their faith increase more when they can see a God that take care of them in their 3 areas: Spirit, Soul and Body.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have presonally expericed the results of this organization sharing the food with people who can not come because their disability and they can give thanks to God for the people who is working on it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would suggest a better car because during the winter it is to cold to work in.

November 22, 2010

more

November 22, 2010

IT is truly encouraging to see a vision come to pass. For so long I have desired to assist others in this area through a REAL program that touches the average person who is otherwise known as working middle class; who, have hit a snag along life's way and to connect them with an entity that would not only provide material goods but have a spiritual side as well. The Food Thing does both in an area where one would assume that people are fairly well off; the truth is everyone could use a hand up...not just a hand out. The Food Thing is so much more than just a food distribution center, it is a place where the local people can bond and take back their lives in various ways. I have seen this program in it's infancy stage where a humble garage serviced a neighborhood and continue to advance because of the founder's good will and her dream. Along with patience and God's Grace so many lives have been blessed. In the beginning there was so much fresh fruits and vegetables we had no way to store it. Now that the volunteer base has increased along with a more solid structure, we can see great achievements in reaching and serving more people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

please see above review and details

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assist in contacting sister organizations or benefactors to help with the growth of this project.

November 22, 2010

more

November 22, 2010

I have not had a need for the resources offered by New Community Counseling and Ministries, but have seen first hand their work in providing food to the needy. I am a Divorce Care leader at Community Christian Church in Naperville, Il. I encounter on a weekly basis individuals that have needs due to divorce or separation. Many have to leave their homes and in some cases their families and live separate. These individuals experience hard ship in finding a place to live and in some cases need help to make ends meet. I have seen NCC&M providing food packages to these individuals on a weekly basis and know that their food program is well recieved.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The result I believe is felt by all of those recieving food assistance from New Community Counseling & Ministries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I can add here.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver Food To a Cancer Patient, senior or someone recovering from major surgery. Volunteer