Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.692315
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Nevada Youth Empowerment Project has been a pivotal organization in my life. For the past three years the staff as well as the girls have been my rock and have helped through some of the roughest times I have ever faced as well as helped me grow into a person I am happy to be. They taught me the skills I needed to live independently when I left to go to college clear across the country and were here for me after my grandfather passed away and I had no where else to go, even after I had graduated the program. They encouraged me to volunteer and contribute within the community has has left a positive impact on those we help. In all honesty, the lessons they have taught me about myself and the way I interact with others have been invaluable and I cannot begin to express my gratitude,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage the staff to take a break and take some time for themselves, as well as expanding the program out more so they can help more youth (always a project of Monica's, but I'd love to see it happen!)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Nevada Youth Empowerment Project is a small organization that is making a huge difference in our community. Monica (Executive Director) is one of a kind. She dedicates endless hours and a wealth of knowledge to assisting these young women. I moved back to Reno and was looking for an organization that is truly making a difference and I found it with NYEP. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Nevada Youth Empowerment Project's mission to help young women have a well rounded life is to be commended. These young women are given the tools, education and encouragement to succeed in life and support one another. I love the fact their is a structure and program in place to keep the ladies motivated and working hard. I have worked with many of these girls in a variety of ways, as interns, volunteers, community members, event planning and execution.
The young women that graduate out of the program are given tools to be successful in life and many go on to lead fulfilling lives.
My life is forever changed because of the generosity this agency brings to our greater community. NYEP understands the power of working with other organizations and businesses that value partnerships and support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more consistent funding to allow them to grow as they wanted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I've been volunteering with this organization since it opened. Just watching it grow from an empty house to a real family home is pretty amazing. The NYEP team is definitely in it for the outcome, not the income!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can help more young people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NYEP is a well-run organization providing essential life services to young women. I've known of this organization for several years and have watched it grown and flourish. Proud to be a fan of this organization, and proud to watch it grow!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Truly an awe inspiring organization, showing the right way of how working with our aged out foster children should be done. One of a kind, that there needs to be more of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

NYEP has been nothing but good for me because they are the kind of people who say what they mean and do what they say! I have been working with them for 2 1/2 years and my life has changed. Not only do I have a mentor that I can count on but the people who work here are passionate about helping our youth and to them it's not just a pay check it more than that. And as a youth in foster care without them I don't where I would be. I love that the program is always working to make a better place for youth in Reno.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to change something I would, Do nothing at all because they are always making changes on their own without anyone's say so......And they don't answer to the state!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I love NYEP! I started volunteering with the organization over a year ago and, since then, I have been continually impressed by the staff and the clients. I 100% believe in their philosophy and strategy for helping young girls turn into successful, productive adults. The staff does everything they can to keep their clients from that slippery slope on which it seems necessary to rely on some form of life-long welfare. More than that, they provide a loving home where young girls are able to safely and comfortably explore their interests and develop their personalities. The girls are awesome, the constantly inspire me, and I can't wait to see where they go in life. The feeling of hope and love that hits you as soon as you walk in the front door is a recommendation in itself. I challenge anyone to get involved and not fall in love with the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them to expand by increasing funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

NYEP is an organization that does exactly what it says it does. If you look at what they put out into the community - what they say when they speak in public, how they represent themselves, what they put on their website and on Facebook - and then you go and visit the site, you can see that they are the real deal and they are actually even more impressive than they make themselves out to be. A lot of young people you come in contact with - especially those in transition - seem unhappy, disrespectful, and like they don't care and have no direction, but when you meet the girls at the NYEP program, they are so vibrant and happy and you can tell how hard they are working on themselves and how proud they are to be part of the program. They volunteer, they help each other, and they have respect for themselves and others. They are like a family. The staff is awesome and you can tell they really care about what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them serving more youth with more staff, which they need more funding to do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

I'm so impressed with how much this small organization does. You get to know each staff and youth and can actually see where the program expenses are. Staff work with young adult women each day, in individualized ways, to make sure they are consistently working towards and achieving goals (completing school, gaining employment, saving money, finding independent housing). The program motivates the type of behaviors you want to see in young people! I just love it!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more homes open similar to NYEP. I'm sure its a funding issue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach a class, tutor, help decorate, complete a house task, help in an event Volunteer