Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I moved from Connecticut to Nevada 2 years ago having to give up my family's cat in the process. When I arrived in Reno I sought out an animal shelter to get my animal "fix" for both cats and dogs. O... more

April 7, 2013

NHS continues to be an amazing resource for the city of Reno and surrounding areas. After being here for only 3 years, I can see the effect the programs are having on the local area's population of homeless and abandoned animals. One of the greatest joys I experience are in my meeting people whom comment about the shelter when they see the NHS logo on my hats as I where them around town.
The devotion to the animals while dealing with very large #s of them is a tribute to the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

I moved from Connecticut to Nevada 2 years ago having to give up my family's cat in the process. When I arrived in Reno I sought out an animal shelter to get my animal "fix" for both cats and dogs. Over these past 2 years, I have come to volunteer in many different ways that I never could have imagined. I have seen and heard stories about the plight of some animals that I would never have believed if I had not witnessed them first hand. I have become engaged with people whom are willing to give up so much for our little friends without voices. And most importantly to me, I have been touched (and hopefully touched in return) some wonderful 4 legged friends. The devotion, dedication and ongoing sacrifices made by the folks at NHS is inspiring and in a very short time span, I have witnessed the effect it has had not only on myself and some other volunteers I have come to know, but also on an entire community to the betterment of all, not just animal lovers. NHS is a true one in a million and it's recent success in promoting "no-kill" as a way of life is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Soon after losing my last cat (had several of them for 20 years), I went in to see the Nevada Humane Society and its new building. It was a positive, cheerful facility that didn't smell bad, thanks to all the volunteers and staff who keep it so clean. After an orientation, I went "to work" there. The Volunteer Coordinator and I put together a mentoring program, not required, for those who want to know, in depth, about how we do things there, where supplies are located, etc. Now I schedule the cat mentoring and also mentor, a very rewarding job in that volunteers are happy to have gone through this process, so vital to knowing safety guidelines for the public, our volunteers, and the staff. There is a very good feeling when working there - we volunteers are greatly appreciated and know it. Aslo we are all proud of the high adoption rate the NHS has. Anne Simone

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful



To whom it may concern,

I would like to write in support of Nevada Humane Society. In my 35 years as a resident of Washoe County, I have seen this fine organization morph from a rag tag average animal rescue shelter to a premiere no-kill shelter under the direction of Ms. Bonney
Brown.

The NHS facility is a model for all animal shelters. Their record save rate of 94% is the highest of any metropolitan city in the USA and far exceeds the national average of around 60%.

NHS has over 7,000 local volunteers and raises private donations every year through their numerous fund raising events in the community such as, Walk for Animals, Duck Race and Lights of Love. The physical facility itself is amazing. Every time visiting there as a volunteer, I feel warmly welcomed and appreciated by the staff for taking time to socialize the orphaned cats and dogs.

The NHS needs to be recognized for the excellent work it has done for our community under Ms. Brown's administration.


Regards,
Cort
FV de Peyster
UA (Retired)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2006, after taking in our fourth homeless cat in four years, I began to realize that we would not be able to continue doing this forever. Eventually we would reach the maximum number of cats that we could care for. So I made the decision that if I could not personally provide a home for every cat that needed one, the next best thing would be to give to Nevada Humane Society to help them care for homeless cats and find them permanent homes of their own. Over the last 6 years, my involvement with NHS has grown from being just a donor to being a volunteer for special events. Having the opportunity to see the organization from behind the scenes has only increased my admiration for it. The management and senior staff are focused and dedicated, intelligent and creative. The entire staff of employees cares about the welfare of each individual animal in the shelter. The organization works with other animal welfare organizations in the area to help create an entire no-kill community. As a donor, I have been pleased to see how carefully funds are spent, never wasted. Most important of all, they have achieved amazing results. Last year, 2011, the save rate for both dogs and cats at NHS was 93%, compared with a national average of approximately 58%. I can't imagine a more incredible nonprofit organization to which to contribute either money or volunteer time!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Nevada Humane Society is a critically needed and successful animal welfare operation for Northern Nevada which so many of our population depends upon. Residents who are no longer able to care for their pets, for whatever reason, to those who want to adopt a new pet into their family, will find the perfect resources at Nevada Humane Society to place an animal into a loving, caring new home. The management and staff are peerless: the systems and procedures that all at NHS employ ensure that: (1) the immediate care of the animal is superior; and (2) the long-term quality of life in adopting into a good fit of ownership is abundantly apparent. The animal adoption success rate is unparalleled compared to most other regions of the country. This, in large part, is due to the diligence, conviction, and compassion to save animals of NHS's Executive Director, Bonney Brown. The Northern Nevada region is very fortunate to have at the helm of it's major animal saving workforce the talents of Ms. Brown, who has a long lineage of animal welfare accolades, both national and regional. This organization truly deserves the recognition of the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits List.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Love helping the animals to find a new home. My friends all say I could not do that, but my respond is it is so rewarding to see the animals go home. The staff are all very helpful and love the pets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I became aware of the Nevada Humane Society (NHS) 2 years ago after loosing my cat and being left with a big hole in my life. My husband and I went to the shelter and picked out our new family member. We were helped by amazing staff and volunteers. One year later and i began working there as a volunteer myself. I am very sensitive when it come to animals and thought that I could never volunteer in an animal shelter, but decided to give it a go, and I am so pleased that i did. NHS is a no-kill shelter, and without that I would have had no interest. Everyone from staff to management has a passion for animals and cares about what they do and the animals they serve. The animals are very well looked after until their fur-ever homes are found, or have a place to live out their lives if necessary. When animals are struggling in the shelter, the staff identify these and send out emails to get these old or sick animals homes - it works, i personally 'foster' a 17 year cat who had been there for 2 years - and i would not now be without her. NHS is very creative with it's themes for attracting people into the shelter to get animals adopted, and also does many off-site adoption events too. Fundraising is also a key activity and again they are creative and it's amazing what they achieve - saving approx 10,000 animals per year, with a 95% save rate - on a very limited budget. As a volunteer, when people say to me, looking at all of the animals - "poor animals" - i always reply that theses are the lucky ones!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Volunteering at Nevada Humane Society is the most rewarding adventure I've ever had. Sometimes it's difficult looking into the eyes of dogs and cats whose owners have surrendered them. You can see the confusion in their eyes because of being forced to live in new surroundings. But that initial sadness is replaced by such happiness when you see their cage empty a week later and find out a loving family adopted them into their new forever home. When we hear the bell ring at the adoption desk and everyone cheers, it sometimes bring tears to your eyes because you're so happy that a good dog or cat was adopted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

When people find out that I volunteer at Nevada Humane Society, frequently their response is "I could never do that . . . it's too sad." While the circumstances that bring the animals to the shelter may be sad, NHS is anything but a sad place. The shelter is bright and clean and filled with people -- staff and volunteers -- devoted to caring for and finding new families for homeless pets. And when the bell rings to signify a lucky pet has found their forever home, NHS is one of the most joyful places to be. Those happy endings are the reason that I volunteer. So whether I'm writing thank you notes, reading to cats, taking pictures of dogs, or fostering kittens, I am proud to be part of the organization that makes those happy endings possible for so many pets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been volunteering at Nevada Humane Society for three years. My primary area of focus is dog walking although I also assist with legislative issues during Nevada's Legislative Sessions.We currently maintain a 94% no kill rate at NHS...This due to a combined effort between administration, staff and an incredible, devoted and loyal core group of volunteers. Our combined efforts allow us market our animals, work with those who through no fault of their own may possees mild behavorial issues and place these animals into appropriate and well rounded loving homes. I am happy to spend as much of my free time as possible at NHS and proud to be a part of this wonderful orginization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers