Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The Nevada council on problem gambling has provided me the knowledge and education to allow me to pursue licensure to practice in the State of Arizona.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling provides support and direction for agencies in the community who are helping problem gamblers and their families. They work continuously to improve education opportunities for counselors and interns and provide resources for the entire state. Carol O'Hare remains visible and available and puts a face on problem gambling. Keeep up the good work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling has given me the initial education on my journey to become a Gambling Counselor. I recieved 30 hours of training at the council with fine educators in the field of gambling counselors. They continue to provide additional material to further my education and the communities on the disease of problem gambling. I am extremely grateful that they are in town to provide resources to help problem gamblers and carry the message throughout the State of Nevada.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Helped with general office and mailing. At time had 14 years of abstinence now have almost 22. Despite my extensive meetings and literature consumed learned so much more! I know that the casino industry is VERY grateful for the help and guidance they have received from the council and I can state emphatically that those involved are both very caring and competent and professional

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling has guided my Northern Nevada problem gambling families to help at my non-profit, the Reno Problem Gambling Center, for the six years we have been operating and has helped hundreds of families around the state for decades. The Nevada Council has led the way in establishing and maintaining the best 24-hour help line for anyone needing an answer or urgent assistance, and has been the one place everyone can turn to for direction, data, support, advocacy, prevention, training, workforce development, guidance to Gamblers Anonymous and other resources and has led the way in the nation as the best state council dedicated to problem gambling in the entire country. I've been serving as an advisory member and now a Board member for nearly 10 years, and I know the dedication is the best any problem gambling family can hope for. Thank you, Nevada Council, and carry on!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Before I became involved with the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling; in fact before I even knew who they were, I knew their work as they provide all of the "When the Fun Stops" brochures and posters in all Nevada Casinos. This ONE tool alone makes them a GREAT non-profit! By posting these pamphlets at every casino, problem gamblers know that Help Is Available! In addition to this, the Nevada Council provides terriffic resources to educate employers, the public, family members and the problem gambler about the disease of compulsive gambler and solutions/help available for all impacted by the disease. I am now proud to be affiliated with the Council as a volunteer. Their annual conference is THE source for current information on disordered gambling, treatment, studies, legal issues and a myriad of topical information on this serious public health issue. I am proud to be associated with the council and will continue to give back to this organization that has so positively impacted my life and that of many others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling has been a fantastic resource for me to find information on problem gambling and how it can affect individuals, their families, co-workers, and their communities. They have provided me with excellent materials and advice that are useful in conducting public outreach and awareness on this devastating illness, including how one can get help and what treatment options are available. Thank you for everything you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble problem gambling information & resource packets to be sent to HelpLine callers.Prepare 'giveaway' items for use in problem gambling prevention programs in middle and high schools.