Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

This is the Premium non-profit. They are professional, have their fingers on all that's happening in the field, caring past expectations. As a certified gambling counselor, I DEPEND on them! (And each of the employees are very, very special people!)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. None at all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

During a preservice meeting I went to a presentation done by the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling and found it to be an excellent resource for my students covering addiction and the issues of underage gambling in our community. Stephanie and her office do an excellent job in reaching the students and I look forward to helping our youth in the near future with ac partnership with the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling is a great non-profit organization. They provide outstanding support for clinicians working with clients. The Council is continually providing outreach to the Community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am an addiction counselor for the state of Nevada. I came to know about Nevad Council on Problem Gambling when I was working on my certification as a problem gambing counselor. The staff were so encouraging and helpful to work with me so that I could pursue my certification and work in the field. I attended educational courses to build-up my hours and was educated by Carol on how gambling is an addictive disorder. NCPG has great video and reading materials for everyone, and is a place that anyone can go to for more information on complusive gambling.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling positive impact on individuals, the communities of Nevada and the State of Nevada have been unparalleled in bringing help, knowledge and funding about the unspoken demon of compulsive gambling addiction addiction

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been fortunate that Carol O has been part of my life and recovery for over 16 years now. Her service and the work of the NV Council on Problem Gambling has been serving the Vegas community tirelessly since I became aware of it back in1996. The reach of their work has opened the door for many problem gamblers to get help and suport. Please give of your time or your resources as you can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

In 2001, when the Nevada Council was asked to assist with the development of a Problem Gambling Assessment for the Clark County Family Court (the first of its kind), the Council stepped up and came through with a successful testing tool and network provider list. Over a decade later, the Problem Gambling Assessment is still being widely utilized by the Family Court, thanks to the Council.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I believe that my first awareness of Nevada's Council for Problem Gambling came when I was gambling and would see these annoying brochures around the casinos "When the Fun Stops" and I glanced through it and said 'that's not me, I can control my gambling'. Well, another two years of misery, thousands of dollars gambled and the emptiness inside was creating suicidal thoughts, I not only called the number on the brochure but got help through a 12-step program. Almost 11 years later away from the bet, I got to know Carol O' Hare and her remarkable, dedicated, and hard-working staff in the last five or so years. I have volunteered to help put together conference materials and participated (and completed) the 30hour course with the thought of pursuing another masters degree in counseling, specifically gambling addiction. I know that the Council participates in many health fairs around the valley and provide numerous training sessions for the gaming industry to help their employees recognize problem gamblers. It is a shame that their funding has been so drastically reduced over the last couple of years because they currently do a lot, with the limited resources they have, heavily relying on volunteers to provide labor and love for those utilizing the Problem Gambler's hotline.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling is an outstanding organization helping countless numbers of people impacted by Gambling Addiction. Carol O'Hare, Executive Director, and her team work hard to ensure that people understand there is a significant difference between recreational gambling and gambling because of an addiction. Because of thier efforts people do not have to face this difficult issue alone. Thank you to The Nevada Council on Problem Gambling for all they do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The citizens of Nevada have tremendously benefited from the efforts of the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling. The Council has been instrumental in raising problem gambling awareness and advocating for publicly funded problem gambling treatment and prevention programs. Largely through the efforts of the Council, Nevada has a problem gambling helpline and state funded gambling treatment. They tirelessly work to improve the health of our community through their efforts to address problem gambling. The staff and Board Members make up a dedicated group that we can trust to put donations to good work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble problem gambling information & resource packets to be sent to HelpLine callers.Prepare 'giveaway' items for use in problem gambling prevention programs in middle and high schools.