Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.943665
Write A Review
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with Neuhaus was in 1999 when I went to a parent information class held at The Center. I was experiencing frustration in my son's educational development and someone recommended that I speak with the Parent Resource Center. Having no idea what lay ahead of me, I was guided by the most helpful people who navigated me through the school ARD process. Not only was I able to get my child tested and identified as dyslexic, but I began a journey that changed my life. As there were no CALTs in my area of Houston at the time I was faced with a decision; drive into Houston every day for him to receive therapy, or for me to return to the classroom and get the skills needed to help him myself. I chose the second. My plan was just to help my son, but I knew two days into The Basic Language Skills Program that my life was changed forever. I could see how their program could help so many children. I decided to enroll in the Dyslexia Specialist Preparation Program and become a CALT. It was the best thing I ever did. Here I am in 2012, President of The Houston Branch of the International Dyslexia Association, I meet people from all over the country who wish they had a program like Neuhaus in their backyard. Not just because they are the gold standard for teaching children with dyslexia, but because of the personal service they give everyone that enters their door. You just have to look at their staff to realize that they are committed to what they do. I know I am just one of many people who are forever changed by the programs and staff at Neuhaus. I will always be forever grateful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an educator, the Neuhaus Reading Training has been invaluable. I applaud HISD for embracing theis program and for including it in the Reading Initiative. It is wonderful to have a reading program that is consistent across the district which can be utilized by general educators and special educators. Not only are the children able to transition from one site to another with more consistency in istruction, but the receiving teacher is able to continue systematic, progrssive instruction in Reading. The program is prescriptive and research based which makes it even more embraceable. The staff at Neuhaus are professional. andpassionate and have a wealth of experience. Thank you Team Neuhaus and Team HISD!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

They have taught me(a Reading/Writing Teacher from Jamaica) how to teach students with dyslexia Reading. What they have taught me is very useful because it has help me reach my students even those that are not dyslexic.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Neuhaus has always provided the absolute best reading training! The facility is well maintained, the staff is very professional, and the materials/curriculum are easy to use. I have noticed much improvement in my resource students phonemic awareness, oral language, and reading comprehension. My students love the cursive handwriting practice and the IRD. The oral language component is great for improving my students expressive and receptive language skills.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sought out Neuhaus in an effort to better differentiate and personalize my reading instruction for all of my students. Neuhaus has provided and continues to provide me with a comprehensive and intensive reading instruction approach that has allowed my students to make tremendous improvement in their decoding, fluency, spelling, and comprehension. Neuhaus has far exceeded the experience and expertise I have gained elsewhere. Even after I have left a training at Neuhaus, they are still able and willing to answer any questions I may have. All I have to do is call or email and they are quick to respond. They truly have a heart for helping people of all ages learn to read and write.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a teacher of 22+ years, I have been to countless workshops and professional developments, but none has been as beneficial to me as the training I received at Neuhaus! I chose Neuhaus for my professional development training in dyslexia, and the wealth of knowledge and resources I gained has made a world of difference for me and for the students whom I teach. I cannot say enough about Neuhaus, both the professionalism by which they operate and the comprehensive trainings they offer. I use their Reading Teachers network on a regular basis and recommend these free resources to many others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

In an era in which education seems under attack, it is refreshing to learn and affiliate with a teacher training center that focuses on successful, empirically based teaching methods. The quality of teaching professionals is essential to student learning. The Neuhaus Education Center is nationally recognized as a leader in the field of teacher preparation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I took the fluency class and am using the materials with my students. I measured increases overall in rapid naming and prosidy. This is a great program to use in a classroom. Thank you Neuhaus! Donna Irene

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently attended my third workshop at Neuhaus. The ideas and activities that I learned have helped my EAL students organize their thoughts to gain greater comprehension while reading. The visual grammar ideas improved their writing in ways I could never have imagined.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I can't thank the people of Neuhaus enough! Our school is high in both the English Language Learner group, as well as, Free and Reduced Meal recipients. Our students have many reading challenges and Neuhaus offers so much to support their learning. I often refer to Neuhaus as the "why" of reading. "Why does that vowel make that sound?" As the various syllable types explain this I am always so impressed with the way my students begin to digest this rich information. We also use the Neuhaus spelling and grammar and each has provided a solid foundation for my first graders to build upon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers