Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.943665
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I graduated college with a degree in Special Education I knew I didn't know how to teach students to read. I hoped it would be revealed to me as I used the district curriculum. But as fate would have it, the curriculum failed to provide what the students really needed to become successful readers. A colleague suggested I attend the Basic Learning Skills program offered by Neuhaus. This training not only changed my life as a teacher but how I taught reading to children and adults alike. This organization managed to do what no other training had ever done before, it explained why English works the way it does. Once you understand the system of the language, then you can begin to master it. Every individual I have ever used this method with has learned to read, write and spell. I can't thank Neuhaus enough for all of the advancements it has made in the life of people with learning difficulties. People who once felt stupid for not being able to do what came as such ease to others, now feel hopeful that they too can achieve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Many teachers are woefully unprepared to teach a struggling learner. The courses at Neuhaus provide the knowledge and hands-on activities for teachers to use with students. The children I work with have learned so much more quickly using these activities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I became involved with Neuhaus Education Center after 35 years in public education. When I made the change from public education to a private university, I was placed in charge of services for dyslexic children and the training of certified teachers in strategies effective with dyslexic students. In my search to find an appropriate, quality program, I found Neuhaus. As a dyslexic individual myself, I was excited to find an organized system of instruction that was comprehensive: including mastery of reading, spelling, oral language, and writing composition. As a CALT, I appreciate the support from staff and faculty at Neuhaus. I appreciate the effort the leadership at Neuhaus are continually researching and updating the training program and materials to make improvements in the already efficient and effective instructional guides.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Neuhaus Education Center is a very professional, knowledgeable and supportive entity. In the relationship and process of becoming an ALT, CALT, then QI in the wonderful program of Basic Language Skills, and on to working toward becoming an accredited training institute, Neuhaus Education Center has been exemplary in their assistance and guidance. They listen to questions and concerns and are very pleasant and "right on target" in their responses and suggestions. It is a joy and privilege to work with Neuhaus Education Center. Drenda Haddock, Co-Director Rawson Saunders Institute, Admissions Director, Rawson Saunders Schoool

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I first connected with Neuhaus in the mid 90’s, traveling to Houston from Austin, to attend courses and workshops, with the desire to more effectively teach my students literacy skills. Now years later, I teach at Rawson Saunders School, a school specifically for students with dyslexia, and co-direct the Rawson Saunders Institute. What a thrill to see the difference that this program makes in children’s lives as they meet success in learning to read and write! Neuhaus leaders and staff have continued to be supportive mentors as we developed our training center using the program developed at Neuhaus. The work of this compassionate, professional, extremely expert team is truly outstanding! Lynn Hoover

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I received multisensory training along with every other dyslexia teacher in my district from the Neuhaus Education Center. Due to their excellent training I, and my entire district, are highly qualified to teach the skills necessary to help all of the dysleixa children in Brownsville ISD. Every campus has a teacher trained in multisensory strategies with the Neuhaus program. The Neuhaus center coninutes to support us and aids us in our staff developments. It is a privilege to be a graduate of the Multisensory program available through Neuhaus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Neuhaus is committed to help ALL children as well as their parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

After ten years as a Special Education teacher in public schools, I took the first training offered by Neuhaus Education Center and could see immediately the need to implement this explicit and systematic curriculum to students struggling with reading. By using the strategies and procedures I learned from the Neuhaus instructors I was able to lead even the most discouraged and frustrated students to a higher level of success. As I took advantage of advanced training, I acquired additional skills in all areas of language arts enabling me to improve the comprehension, oral language and written expression of my students. Following my retirement as a teacher, I continue to share the information I acquired at Neuhaus with teachers in other communities. To witness newly inspired teachers using improved effective skills in the classroom remains, for me, the most rewarding of all professional experiences.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I began traveling to Neuhaus from San Antonio back in 2005. Our district made a commitment to train all of its dyslexia teachers in Basic Language Skills. A group of us went through Foundations, then Book 1 training, after that Book 2. One of my partners and I decided that we wanted to "go all the way," so we wrote a grant to fund our DSSP coursework and CALT exam, which we took and passed in 2008. What made Neuhaus different to me was the teaching and support staff, Ginger Holland, Mary Lou Slania, Elisa Barnes, and Denise Lewis to name a few. The courses were so intensive and challenging, but the staff encouraged and supported us, always treating us as professionals, but recognizing and meeting our individual needs. The staff is dedicated to professional development in the field of dyslexia. They were role models to me for my own teaching, because if we were committed to learning, they made sure we were successful. Elisa used to make us say when the coursework got challenging, "I refuse to be confused," and I tell me students to say that when they are having trouble learning. I loved going up and seeing them. We had so much fun, and I have the best memories. I have since earned my state license and continue keeping up certification also. I am very proud of this training, maybe more so than I am of my Masters Degree coursework. Neuhaus developed and changed me as a professional. I thank God for the three years I spent at the Center!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

After taking basic training at Neuhaus I worked with students who would sometimes cry when it was reading time because they were so frustrated. The techniques I learned in the training let these young people evolve into confident readers and happy students. I finished the full training and was certified by the state and continued teaching for 20 years, always with successful result for students who had a gap between how smart they were and how well they did in school. The training itself is enjoyable but the appreciation of the students is the reward for the teacher.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers