Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.943665
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Neuhaus Center is a gift to the city of Houston and to the community far beyond Texas. I have recommended the Center to countless friends and families who have a child that is struggling in school, especially in their literary development. I have recommended the website to family as far away as Japan. We are parents in need of knowledge and support and Neuhaus gives this freely, often and with such kindness. Whether we are trying to figure out what is going on with our child or looking for answers about the next step in remediation for our dyslexic child, Neuhaus is the place to go.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to complete the Basic Language Skills class during the 2011-2012 school year and it really had a significant impact on my students' performance in Reading. The students really enjoy the various strategies utilized by the Neuhaus Program. I am a Resource teacher and the majority of my students have been identified as having Dyslexia, which makes it challenging for them to read. However, the Neuhaus Program has allowed the students' to make significant gains in their reading skills. The entire staff at the Neuhaus Education Center are very dedicated and committed to the participants learning how to implement the program the correctly. At the present time, I'm taking the Advanced Basic Language Skills, and I've learned lots and lots of invaluable information on teaching reading.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first came to the Neuhaus center as a parent searching for help for my dyslexic sons and for 20 years I have gotten much more than help. I've received guidance, compassion, and instruction. I am now a dyslexia specialist licensed by the state of Texas and I always refer my parents to this excellent resource! Judy Plummer CALT, LDS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a Dyslexia Teacher, Neuhaus serves as a solid resource. Their inservices are invariably first rate. They constantly seek the newest, greatest methods for teaching dyslexics, but never offer anything that hasn't been well tested and proven - a great combination of relying on the basics, and looking for new ways to reach struggling readers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Over the last 15 years as a tutor for students with dyslexia, I have always been able to depend on the materials produced by Neuhaus to provide high quality resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Neuhaus is a wonderful place to learn the art of teaching children or adults to read. They are so patient and they genuinely care that the students learn. I teach Special Education and can only hope that I have half the patience they have. The program is long but it is built one step after the other and does not leave out any steps along the way. The staff are just fantastic and the program is top notch.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am a teacher that has received training at Neuhuas. The skills that I have developed as a direct result is invaluatble. I have seen tremendous growth and confidence as a result of the systematic, multi-sensory, prescripive instruction my students are now receiving.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

For several years we have had our teachers trained in the Neuhaus language enrichment program. It has made a huge success in helping our teachers have better instructional routines and our students read better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago, my son started struggling in reading. Thankfully, the school he attended has a reading specialist who was a Certified Academic Language Therapist who had been trained by Neuhaus. He saw her everyday from kindergarten until fourth grade when we changed school. There is no way he would be reading without her help and her training from Neuhaus! Every language arts teacher needs to be trained at Neuhaus Education Center

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Neuhaus Education Center has provided me with dyslexia education for teachers. Their training is the best I've received in my 26 + years of teaching. One of the first courses I took was Basic Learning Skills. I remember actually feeling a little angry that I hadn't been taught the research and methods behind scientific reading instruction before now and wondering why all of this wasn't being taught in every teacher's college in the state. The instructors are experienced and knowledgeable and willing to help solve education dilemmas that pop up, long after your coursework ends. I constantly recommend the center to others. This is a nonprofit that will continue to impact children's lives through their teachers for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my instruction of struggling readers. As a Reading Specialist I see dyslexics, dysgraphics, hyperlexics, and other strugglers daily. I constantly fall back on my Neuhaus training.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love for them to be able to provide training to teachers in the schools rather than at the center. Also, for more teacher's colleges to partner with them for scientific reading instruction, whether through TOT sessions or by satellite.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the excellent training in scientific reading.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, professional, experienced, and terrific models.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Wow! I wish they'd branch out to the teacher's colleges and the local school districts. All reading teachers would benefit from this training.

Ways to make it better...

I had had this training earlier in my career. I hate to remember all the students I could have better helped.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

size, lack of trainers, and parking.

One thing I'd also say is that...

They need to advertise! I didn't even hear about them until five years ago, and I've spent almost my entire teaching career in the Houston area.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers