Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.943665
Write A Review
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with Neuhaus was in 1999 when I went to a parent information class held at The Center. I was experiencing frustration in my son's educational development and someone recommended that I speak with the Parent Resource Center. Having no idea what lay ahead of me, I was guided by the most helpful people who navigated me through the school ARD process. Not only was I able to get my child tested and identified as dyslexic, but I began a journey that changed my life. As there were no CALTs in my area of Houston at the time I was faced with a decision; drive into Houston every day for him to receive therapy, or for me to return to the classroom and get the skills needed to help him myself. I chose the second. My plan was just to help my son, but I knew two days into The Basic Language Skills Program that my life was changed forever. I could see how their program could help so many children. I decided to enroll in the Dyslexia Specialist Preparation Program and become a CALT. It was the best thing I ever did. Here I am in 2012, President of The Houston Branch of the International Dyslexia Association, I meet people from all over the country who wish they had a program like Neuhaus in their backyard. Not just because they are the gold standard for teaching children with dyslexia, but because of the personal service they give everyone that enters their door. You just have to look at their staff to realize that they are committed to what they do. I know I am just one of many people who are forever changed by the programs and staff at Neuhaus. I will always be forever grateful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with the Neuhaus Education Center some 30 years ago when Mrs. Chloe Carter came to teach for us. Mrs. Carter had been trained in Aphabetic Phonics and taught for us as a private tutor with children who had dyslexia. She was very successful and soon our elementary teachers were all being trained at the Neuhaus Center and began teaching Alphabetic Phonics to our children in the regular classroom situation. We found that all children benefited from the curriculum and to this day are still using some of the precepts of the program. Several Neuhaus-trained therapists have worked individually with our students on a daily basis during the regular school day. Mrs. Georgia Mercer currently works as a therapist on our secondary campus helping children who have difficulty with spelling, English, reading, and handwriting. Mrs. Mercer has been the support and encouragement many our of students have depended upon through their high school years. Not only is the program educationally sound but it is presented by such encouraging therapists that students' lives are enriched and the course of their futures is changed. Some of our students have been privileged to be scholarship recipients and we are so very grateful for the opportunities that scholarships have provided. I am sold on the Neuhaus Center and am so appreciative of all of the good work accomplished for students. I must mention Ms. Kerri Glover. Mrs. Glover through her training at the Neuhaus Center developed the ELVS (Enrichment in Language, Vocabulary and Spelling) curriculum which was a requirement for all of our 9th grade students. The students were grouped according to language needs and taught the most wonderful curriculum. Mrs. Glover then taught many of them Latin I and II because of the foundation they developed in the ELVS class. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all of the positive influences that have come to Northland Christian School through the work you are doing through the Neuhaus Center. May God continue to bless your efforts. DeAnna Graves

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an educator, the Neuhaus Reading Training has been invaluable. I applaud HISD for embracing theis program and for including it in the Reading Initiative. It is wonderful to have a reading program that is consistent across the district which can be utilized by general educators and special educators. Not only are the children able to transition from one site to another with more consistency in istruction, but the receiving teacher is able to continue systematic, progrssive instruction in Reading. The program is prescriptive and research based which makes it even more embraceable. The staff at Neuhaus are professional. andpassionate and have a wealth of experience. Thank you Team Neuhaus and Team HISD!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

They have taught me(a Reading/Writing Teacher from Jamaica) how to teach students with dyslexia Reading. What they have taught me is very useful because it has help me reach my students even those that are not dyslexic.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I was searching for information to help my son with his struggles in school. The workshops that I attended at Neuhaus and the expert advice I received was life-changing. Neuhaus is involved in helping children, their parents and teachers learn about dyslexia and related issues. This work needs continued exposure and more involvement from school districts. To all of the personnel, volunteers, Board Members and others at Neuhaus, all of you have changed many lives. Please carry on and thank you for this very important work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Neuhaus has always provided the absolute best reading training! The facility is well maintained, the staff is very professional, and the materials/curriculum are easy to use. I have noticed much improvement in my resource students phonemic awareness, oral language, and reading comprehension. My students love the cursive handwriting practice and the IRD. The oral language component is great for improving my students expressive and receptive language skills.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As an educator, the Neuhaus training to reach my most striving readers has been invaluable. Not only did their experts equip me with new and fresh strategies, their materials and teaching aids which I brought back with me have proven extremely effective.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sought out Neuhaus in an effort to better differentiate and personalize my reading instruction for all of my students. Neuhaus has provided and continues to provide me with a comprehensive and intensive reading instruction approach that has allowed my students to make tremendous improvement in their decoding, fluency, spelling, and comprehension. Neuhaus has far exceeded the experience and expertise I have gained elsewhere. Even after I have left a training at Neuhaus, they are still able and willing to answer any questions I may have. All I have to do is call or email and they are quick to respond. They truly have a heart for helping people of all ages learn to read and write.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a teacher of 22+ years, I have been to countless workshops and professional developments, but none has been as beneficial to me as the training I received at Neuhaus! I chose Neuhaus for my professional development training in dyslexia, and the wealth of knowledge and resources I gained has made a world of difference for me and for the students whom I teach. I cannot say enough about Neuhaus, both the professionalism by which they operate and the comprehensive trainings they offer. I use their Reading Teachers network on a regular basis and recommend these free resources to many others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Neuhaus saved my child's life. Sounds dramatic doesn't it? It is as dramatic as the positive affect Neuhaus had on our lives. My daughter was failing school and was on track to drop out of school and lead a difficult life. Neuhaus helped us find a therapist to diagnose our daughter's dyslexia, and gave me the opportunity to learn what dyslexia is and how to help my child beyond academics. My daughter is now a strong academic performer. Every time she flashes me a smile of triumph after her successes, I see the dear faces of those who helped us. Mary Yarus and Debbie Meinwald- this review is dedicated to you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers