Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.943665
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I received multisensory training along with every other dyslexia teacher in my district from the Neuhaus Education Center. Due to their excellent training I, and my entire district, are highly qualified to teach the skills necessary to help all of the dysleixa children in Brownsville ISD. Every campus has a teacher trained in multisensory strategies with the Neuhaus program. The Neuhaus center coninutes to support us and aids us in our staff developments. It is a privilege to be a graduate of the Multisensory program available through Neuhaus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Neuhaus Education Center changed our son's life and thus our whole family. They guided us to professionals in Houston who could help us and provided information to us in the form of their lending library, national speakers, one on one guidance, and workshops. Most of this was at no cost or very low cost. The hope and knowledge freely given helped our 7 year old son who was really struggling in reading, writing, and spelling to be successful. They continued to give us information even in his college years. Our son is now a PhD candidate in engineering at UT Austin. Our family can never thank Neuhaus enough for their help, freely given all those years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My daughter and I will forever be greatful to Neuhaus for their support, they stepped in just when we needed them the most and truly a blessing!!!! It is a very committed organization and their main focus is helping the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Neuhaus is committed to help ALL children as well as their parents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

After ten years as a Special Education teacher in public schools, I took the first training offered by Neuhaus Education Center and could see immediately the need to implement this explicit and systematic curriculum to students struggling with reading. By using the strategies and procedures I learned from the Neuhaus instructors I was able to lead even the most discouraged and frustrated students to a higher level of success. As I took advantage of advanced training, I acquired additional skills in all areas of language arts enabling me to improve the comprehension, oral language and written expression of my students. Following my retirement as a teacher, I continue to share the information I acquired at Neuhaus with teachers in other communities. To witness newly inspired teachers using improved effective skills in the classroom remains, for me, the most rewarding of all professional experiences.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Houston, Texas is so lucky to have the Neuhaus Education Center in our city.. So many of our citizens have had the luxury of access to the trained educators to enable people of all ages to learn how to overcome their learning differences. Just 6 months ago one of our grandsons who is 8 was diagnosed with Dyslexia, and we are so fortunate that he will benefit from the Neuhaus form of teaching how to read. The Neuhaus Center is one of the most outstanding Nonprofits that any city could hope for. Linda Denison

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I began traveling to Neuhaus from San Antonio back in 2005. Our district made a commitment to train all of its dyslexia teachers in Basic Language Skills. A group of us went through Foundations, then Book 1 training, after that Book 2. One of my partners and I decided that we wanted to "go all the way," so we wrote a grant to fund our DSSP coursework and CALT exam, which we took and passed in 2008. What made Neuhaus different to me was the teaching and support staff, Ginger Holland, Mary Lou Slania, Elisa Barnes, and Denise Lewis to name a few. The courses were so intensive and challenging, but the staff encouraged and supported us, always treating us as professionals, but recognizing and meeting our individual needs. The staff is dedicated to professional development in the field of dyslexia. They were role models to me for my own teaching, because if we were committed to learning, they made sure we were successful. Elisa used to make us say when the coursework got challenging, "I refuse to be confused," and I tell me students to say that when they are having trouble learning. I loved going up and seeing them. We had so much fun, and I have the best memories. I have since earned my state license and continue keeping up certification also. I am very proud of this training, maybe more so than I am of my Masters Degree coursework. Neuhaus developed and changed me as a professional. I thank God for the three years I spent at the Center!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

After taking basic training at Neuhaus I worked with students who would sometimes cry when it was reading time because they were so frustrated. The techniques I learned in the training let these young people evolve into confident readers and happy students. I finished the full training and was certified by the state and continued teaching for 20 years, always with successful result for students who had a gap between how smart they were and how well they did in school. The training itself is enjoyable but the appreciation of the students is the reward for the teacher.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I think that Neuhaus is one of the best educational centers available to teachers anywhere. I have been to more than a dozen different trainings at the center and I must say that the knowledge and materials I've obtained are priceless. I really love that I am treated like a professional whenever I attend a training and that the products are so useful on all levels [high school-elementary]. As an educator it is very evident that learning disabilities do not stop existing simply because students become older; even more so, the ability to continue to meet the needs of these students becomes more difficult. Nevertheless, with the many resources and strategies I've learned at Neuhaus I am able to not only reach all of my students, but I am able to add value to their yearly educational growth as well as their lifelong advancements. What a wonderful organization to have in my corner! -Current Houston Independent School District Educator

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had several reading training at the Neuhaus Educational Center and the training are excellent. If you are an educator looking for reading or dyslexia trainings, this is the place to go. The trainigs are very comprehensive and gives you hands on activities to take it back to the classroom. It is truly a reading asset for the Houston area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers