Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.727275
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Es una organización que ayuda a niños y jóvenes que lo necesitan, la ayuda que brinda es de mucha importancia para la superación personal y profesional de jóvenes con un gran potencial y pocos recursos económicos.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mi nombre es Atilio Pérez, de El Salvador vengo de una familia desintegrada como todas
Las familias de mi País, buena parte de mi familia fue asesinada durante la guerra, mi padre emigro hacia EEUU, con el famoso sueño americano (hasta la fecha no sabemos nada de él). Como ingreso a la gran
familia de NESES, ellos me brindan la oportunidad del viaje
cuando yo estaba en el internado Dolores Souza, de San Miguel, ahora estoy becado y terminando mis estudios universitarios,¿ que es para mí la beca de NESES?, Una Oportunidad Para Un Salvadoreño, Le Brindaron El Apoyo A Un Joven Que Nadie Creía En El, Mejoraron Mi Calidad De Vida, Sacan De La Pobreza A Una Familia Salvadoreña.
¿CONOSCO A LOS QUE ME BECARON? NO FISICAMENTE, PERO SI CONOSCO SU CORAZON Y POR ESO SE LES AGRADECE PUBLICAMENTE, INFITAMENTE GRACIAS DE UN SALVADOREÑO BENEFICIADO
SI QUIEREN SABER SI VALE LA PENA INVERTIR EN ESTE PROYECTO, SI VALE EL ESFUERZO NO SOLO AYUDAN AL BECADO, SI NO QUE TAMBIEN AYUDAN A TODA LA FAMILIA DEL BECADO, MEJORAN EL CAPITAL HUMANO DE EL SALVADOR, Y LO MEJOR ESE REGALO QUE USTEDES NOS BRINDAN NADIE NOS LO PUEDE QUITAR (CULTURA, SABIDURIA, PROGRESO Y MAS)

GRACIAS MIL GRACIAS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I am a Bachelor´s degree in English I was benefited with a scholarship since High School till 6 year at a university and now I can work as a teacher or a translator. I am a volunteer with this organization, I am very excited about helping other orphan children as they did with me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I've been associated with NESES for 4 years. I have seen the good work that this NGO has done for orphans in El Salvador.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

One of the students NESES supported and helped to get into college was boarding at someone's home. When she seemed rather upset, Ricardo, the NESES Director, asked her to tell him what was wrong. She reluctantly told him that one of the males in the home was making unwanted advances toward her. Ricardo stepped in, as a father would protect his daughter, and put an end to it. This is caring above and beyond and typical of the people who oversee the students of NESES.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

NESES is a great outreach program to youth in El Salvador who would otherwise never be exposed to the possibilities in life that can be achieved within their own country. This is exactly the sort of program that enriches the world on multiple levels: it shows the orphans that they are important, improves self esteem, educates them about how they can be a part of their community, and exposes them to a wide variety of opportunities. This program is truly a great non-profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

NESES has thought me in all these years that you can really make a big difference for such a small country by giving children the gift of education. Joy and Ricardo are an inspiration for people like me that believe that a huge change can be done by giving someone the opportunity of studying its own country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

I am a teacher so education is very important to me and when I heard about NESES and it's commitment to the orphans/underpriveledged of El Salvador I was interested. My interests are of both personal, being that my children are half Salvadoran so we have family there and professional being that I'm an educator. I started out by donating books in Spanish for the children/students who participated in the program and a couple of the orphanage libraries. The book these students received was their very first personal book and the smiles on their faces and the letters of thanks I received from them brought tears to my eyes. This is truly an organization where the donations go dirrectly to helping the students. All board members are volunteers. At this time we can only support a few in continuing education because we are small and the need for more donors is a must in order to make a bigger impact. The students who have only participated w/NESES through part of the program have stated that it's been a life changing experience for them. Those who receive scholorships for contining education must keep their grades up in order to qualify each term. It's cool cause we have teachers, nurses, etc. graduating and others starting troubled teen programs in El Salvador and are helping their own. There are so many more who need our help!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Our trip to El Salvador with Ricardo and Joy was amazing. The NESES students were an inspiration to all of us. NESES has given them the financial and emotional support which has helped them believe in themselves and their future in El Salvador. With persistence and sacrifice they are achieving their goal of a university education.

These young people exhibit such determination in the face of sometimes nearly impossible circumstances but carry on with smiles and hope. Thanks NESES and all its supporters.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Raul is determined to be an English professor; Hugo is a natural leader who, while attending university, has established a drug and violence-free youth group in his home town of Armenia pursuing arts and music; Joanna is in her 5th year of university, graduating in English while working part time. She is a shining light; Tomasa works full time, attends university classes each evening in accounting, and cares for two elderly women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to NESES. I do wish more people could find out about what a difference the organization is making to so many Salvadoran children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

Why did you make your donation at this time?

We made our largest donation before we traveled to El Salvador with Ricardo and Joy. We were able to see the country and experience the actual students who had taken the NESES study tour as teenagers. We hope more students will benefit from NESES and become outstanding citizens as those we met.

What would you tell others about this organization?

The work is being done. Ricardo, as a Salvadoran national, is a real inspiration to these former orphans. They look up to him and he is a patient mentor. This organization should be a model for other grassroots organizations. We, also, like the fact that the money we donated was double matched.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2011

more

June 1, 2011

I am not only an advisor to NESES, but a donor when I have funds. I experienced the work of NESES first hand in December, 2007 by going on tour with about 20 orphans throughout the country of El Salvador. The mission of the trip was to introduce young people to the opportunities of successful life in the country and to encourage continuation in school so those chances would be available. I have never seen so many faces light up as they visited a newspaper, a ruin, an indigo factory, a shoe factory, the port, etc. These kids are the future of the success of El Salvador, and not only were their daily lives enriched by this fun, laughter-filled, educational, emotional journey, but also their eyes and hearts were opened to their own "wonderful possibilities." The scholarship program continues to support many of these students. It is truly wonderful to see what this family-directed nonprofit does for the youth of El Salvador.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The knowledge that several students are in final years of college; one has gone on to medical school; others have moved into technical/vocational training or work; many have found dignified labor due to having a high school diploma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no specific recommendations at this time. The officers do a super job of getting message out to the public, to Salvadoran-Americans, but funding is always a problem. I would like to see more folks like myself be able to see the country on tour with the kids because the impact transforms you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Friend of the Executive Director/family--met through another development nonprofit, The SHARE Foundation more than 10 years ago.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Scholarships.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Scholarships for students that lead to dignified, good jobs in-country which reduces desire, urgency, to emigrate to the United States.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers