Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.973685
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met Olga Murray some years ago and was immensely impressed with her and her charity. That one woman should change the lives for the better of all these children is truly remarkable. I shall very happily continue to donate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only extend it's work even further and rescue more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Though I have not had the opportunity to witness firsthand the work that NYF does, I have talked to several people who have been involved with the organization. I have also learned some of the stories of the immense number of individuals that the foundation has helped. This is a Non-profit that is making a large impact, and utilizes donations effectively. I definitely hope to do some work with the organization sometime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I first saw Nepal Youth Foundation on the news in San Francisco many years ago and was excited about their mission to help children in Nepal. I was attracted to the fact that there was no religious affiliation and that the founder was so passionate and had worked so hard to build orphanages and programs in Nepal. I immediately contributed and, because of limited funds in the future asked if there were other ways I could help. I liked that the founder gave me a list of items the foundation needed help with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I saw Olga give a program about this organization and was extremely impressed with their video presentation and with her description of her work founding the NYF and working with the orphans and girls over the years. I certainly hope to be able to volunteer there in the near future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I interviewed founder, Olga Murray last year for a project about happiness. Olga is one of the most wonderful, sincere, absolutely dedicated individuals I have ever met. The work at Nepalese Youth Foundation is literally changing Nepal. Olga started this dream from her own pocketbook and has laid the foundation for an organization whose funding goes straight to supporting the people. I plan to visit Nepal next year to have the opportunity to see the incredible power of their work. I encourage anyone to support this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I met the founder, Olga, fifteen years ago. Please read her story, as she told it to me and you'll understand why NOF should be noticed. Ogla is 87, and she spends half her year in Sausalito, California and the other half in Kathmandu where she works to buy girls out of bondage in a rural farming district in southern Nepal. Poverty forces families to sell their daughters, as young as 7 years old, as domestic slaves or worse.

Olga told me her story: On her first trip to Asia in 1984, she found herself captivated by the tiny Himalayan kingdom of Nepal. “I got off the plane in Kathmandu and was overwhelmed by the beauty of the land, the exotic surroundings, but most of all by the children. They were poor beyond anything I had ever experienced – dressed in rags and dirt, malnourished, mostly unschooled, but with an amazing capacity for joy. I thought that for the price of a good haircut, I could make a huge difference in their lives.’” So she returned to the USA determined, somehow, to do just that.


By raiding her own savings, and securing donations from friends, she returned to Kathmandu with the wherewithal to establish a home for the country’s throwaway children – street urchins, handicapped kids, orphans, or children who had been abandoned - often by parents too poor to feed them.

She learned about the practice of child slavery years ago and since then has worked tirelessly to find a solution. Nepal Youth Foundation pays parents to keep their daughters at home and in school. However, in lieu of cash, her foundation, Nepalese Youth Opportunity Foundation (NYOF.org) offers families a piglet, which they can raise on kitchen scraps and sell, ultimately receiving about as much as they would from their daughter’s labor. Girls receive a school uniform, notebooks, pencils, a school bag, a daily snack at school, and most importantly, an education.

“What began as a pilot project with 37 families now includes 2,500 girls,” she marveled.

“I realized that education is the best way to ensure a better life for these children,” Olga says, knowing this would become the cornerstone of her work. Over the last 16 years, not only has the number of supported children expanded (to 3,000 plus), but so have the ways in which they are helped. In addition to scholarships, NYOF funds the salaries of more than 65 teachers in various poor rural areas of Nepal, and teacher training in a country where teachers are not trained. Her foundation also runs two boarding schools and nutritional programs in Kathmandu.

Olga was an attorney who worked for 37 years helping write opinions for two California Supreme Court chief justices in San Francisco. Today she crisscrosses the globe to help children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I think that NYF is a wonderful organization. I have met personally with Teresa, the director of development and communications, and discussed at length their work and vision. The work that they do is purely life-changing, and NYF's staff is devoted to making a difference. Education, healthcare, and shelter? These are humanity's most basic needs, and NYF provides them. Also worth noting -- they are responsible and transparent with their donations. They haven't earned six consecutive 4-star ratings from Charity Navigator for nothing! I support everything NYF does and think they absolutely deserve this recognition.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2009

NYOF is an excellent organization. They're making a huge difference in the lives of thousands of children in Nepal by providing them with health care, education, and human rights. Because of the low c... more

October 26, 2012

NYF is a truly effective charity. I have visited their programs in Nepal and I saw the impact they make. They're also careful to use donations as efficiently as possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

NYOF is an excellent organization. They're making a huge difference in the lives of thousands of children in Nepal by providing them with health care, education, and human rights. Because of the low cost of living in Nepal, and because NYOF implements their funds so efficiently, they're able to make profound impacts on children's lives for very little money.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the number of children whose lives they've saved and who they've given unimagined opportunities.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated to their cause, and quick to reply to my questions.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers