Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

For almost 8 years I had the honor and privilege to work with the founder, Olga Murray, as the Executive Director for the Nepal Youth Foundation (NYF). I have almost 30 years of experience in the nonprofit sector and the Nepal Youth Foundation is one of the best nonprofits in existence. Olga has devoted the past 24 years ensuring that the neediest children of Nepal have hope. The numbers of children served are astonishing. I had the opportunity to visit NYF's programs in Nepal. The impact that the Nepal Youth Foundation makes is miraculous. The organization operates as effectively and efficiently as possible with over 81% of the funds raised going directly back into NYF’s programs. Because I know firsthand the importance of their work, I continue to be a financial supporter of NYF. The Nepal Youth Foundation brings freedom, health, shelter, and education to Nepal's most impoverished children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. This organization is flawless. They should be an example to other nonprofit organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I was fortunate to work with NYOF in building one of the first organization in Nepal which works for helping students from marginalized community achieve their professional dream. I appreciate all the great work done by NYOF and their sister organizations in Nepal for kids, students and so many unfortunate girls in western part of the country called Kamlari. I thank NYOF from the bottom of my heart.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Nothing is more fulfilling than helping someone, making a difference in someone's life. I want to thank NYF for giving me this opportunity for more than a decade. It has been a wonderful journey all along and an honor working for NYF. I wish NYF all the best.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

13 years ago, bonded girl labourers (Kamalari) of western terai were living their life in hell. There were parentsless though they had parents, homeless though they had home. They had left their mother's warm lap in the early childhood. I used to live in Dang and seeing that evil practice without any effort to change that tradition. At that time, I saw Nepal Youth Foundation, a non profitable organization, taking a step forward to change that slavery from Dang. It provided Kamalaris warm love of parents, rescued them and admitted in the school. It was a challenging job at first because it is very difficult to change any custom and social values but amazingly I am seeing now after 13 years that those hell dweller girls are moving in heaven of education, opportunity and brightness. More than 12 thousand kamalaris are free and 6 thousand kamalaris are studying. I reported all these stories in my media Kantipur publications with big space. It was not because of any relationship but it was a genuine issue and job. Government was unknown about this issue but the movement of kamalari supported by NYF compelled government to know it and declare a Kamalari Free state. All the credit of this achievement goes to NYF. I have found this job very humanitarian. I dont believe in supernatural powers but also if there is God, NYF is suitable organization to be loved by Gods. It is a great charity to human world.
Durga Lal KC
Dang, Nepal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

First of all, I dont like to change this organization. Rather I would like to make continue to work in the field of bonded girl labourers (Kamalari). I would think and design more project to empower the kamalaris and see their participation in the decision making level of the state. I would like to continue this campaign and not leave them until they lead a complete different life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been working with NYF since 2003 as a Manager in Indentured Daughters Program. I am so happy to be a part of NYF’s team; because, it is truly a humanitarian organization that helps Nepali children providing them education, shelter, health care, rescue and rehabilitation, as well as helps them access for their justice.
It is my immense pleasure to work with freed bonded girls as an activist. It gives me fully satisfaction to see the huge number of school going girls after getting freedom from slavery. I am enjoying in this non profitable organization as an activist.
In 2000, only 36 bonded (Kamalari) girls were rescued, now, NYF has rescued over 12,000 bonded girls. After rescuing, NYF has been providing meaningful education, vocational training, technical education, legal aid and capacity building opportunity to them. Freed Kamalari girls have established their own organization named as Freed Kamlari Development Forum. They also have formed 33 cooperatives aiming to empower freed bonded girls economically. Besides, they are also campaigning for the meaningful social empowerment and elimination of slavery system in Nepal.
Just three months ago, big achievement was achieved, Nepal government declared Nepal as Kamalari (Labor Bonded) Free Nation.
After joining NYF's team, as Indenture Daughters Program's Manager, I was awarded by International Ashoka Fellowship Award 2006, as Ashoka Fellow. Now, I am a part of Global Ashoka team.
So, NYF deserves this award for its immense and significant contribution in rescuing and rehabilitating bonded labors (kamalris girls) in Nepal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been working in this organization for 2 years. NYF is an outstanding organization that works with the servitude girls and parent-less children. NYF has been providing vocational training for making best income and life standard. NYF vision is to see them free and have received a lot of opportunity. Most of the free kamalari girls have been in vocational education. I am also happy to work with this organization for supporting in vocational education and making them self-reliant in their life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I have been working Nepal Youth Foundation for over 14 years and working with children and youth of Nepal. N Y F has been supporting helpless children and youth by providing health,Education, salter and awareness etc. I really believed that it has changed their life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I am working with NYF since 2002 as a nutrition coordinator. It is my pleasure to be a part of NYF’s team; because it is a truly a humanitarian organization that helps Nepali children and youth by providing them education, shelter, health care and freedom from bonded labor.
It is my pleasure to
work with the malnourished children and their caretakers. It gives me immense satisfaction to see the severely malnourished children smiling and happy once they regain their weight and health. In 1998 there was only one rehab center, now we have 16 centers throughout the country and 13,000 children have already benefited from this service and 12,250 mothers have been educated on nutrition and health.
The main achievement of NYF is being able to work in partnership with the government for the sustainability.
So NYF deserves to win this opportunity and will reach to those children who are still in need of support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

my best

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I have been working with this organization for 3 years for well-being of underprivileged youths by organizing skills training and exploring the job opportunities for them. I am really impressed with the training program which tailors the youth to linking with employment/income. Thousands of youths have got training opportunity and improving the socioeconomic lives status of them. Therefore, Nepal Youth Foundation has being a platform for the youths.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change my thoughts in reality....

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I am working with this organization for over 9 years and enjoying working with the children and youth of Nepal. I am very much impressed from NYF’s program especially on the rescue and protection of helpless and abandoned children. NYF has rescued and transformed the life of thousands of children by providing all the necessary supports, parental love and care deserved by the children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers