Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I visited their projects 15 years ago and have followed their work ever since. Their stamina and professionalism is impressive. May they continue to help the youth in struggling Nepal,
Sincerely, Julie Tave
Saint Germain en Laye, France
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Having lived in Nepal and volunteered at one of NYF's sister NGO's, I can attest firsthand to what a huge impact the Nepal Youth Foundation can make. Children who were sick or starving or abandoned were found by the Nutritional Rehabilitation Homes, the J&K orphanage, and the New Life Center (the one where I volunteered) - all organizations saving and completely redirecting the lives of impoverished and discarded children of Nepal to a future filled with hope and opportunity. NYF helped place a little boy that I met, whose entire family was deceased or infected with HIV but whose dream was to go to school, in their J&K orphanage and now he is attending one of the best schools in Kathmandu and I'm sent photos of him excitedly posing with a stethoscope. NYF truly changes the lives of the Nepali children and I'm now a monthly donor and eternally grateful to them.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I wrote a review of Nepal Youth Foundation in June 2009 and thought it would be helpful to confirm that five years later I am still thrilled to be a monthly donor and volunteer. In fact, after 14 years as a donor and volunteer, I just joined the Advisory Board. Nepal Youth continues to lead the way in Nepal with sound programs and practices, effective and efficient management, and breathtakingly ambitious goals and accomplishments. I cannot recommend their work strongly enough to anyone wishing to make a lasting difference for the most vulnerable children of Nepal and their families.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I have had the great opportunity to work with Nepal Youth Foundation for the past 5 years. They are an outstanding organization with a true understanding of the problems facing the people of Nepal. Specifically I have been involved in fundraising for the Nutrition Rehabilitation Homes, a very unique project championed by NYF to help alleviate malnutrition in Nepal. As someone who has lived in Nepal and seen firsthand the variety of INGOs and NGOs working in the field, I can say that NYF is among the top 5% of nonprofit organizations working with the Nepalese today.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have known about NYF ever since I was a child as my mom worked for it. I have been growing up with my mom talking about all the children associated with NYF. Their problems, their mistakes, their accomplishments and so on with compassion and love. I have seen her laugh with the children and cry as well. For her, its not just a job, its a way of life.
All this inspires me. The help from NYF and Olga didi is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am Dil Kumari Chaudhary. I am a kamalari before rescue from NYF. I would like to give thanks NYF for rescuing me along with the 12000 servitude girls who worked in others home in child age. NYF is our guardian for giving us great opportunity in education,rehabilitation,vocational education and involving in economic opportunity. If NYF will not rescue me, I could have never in this position. Now,I am a president of Free Kamalari Development Forum in Banke district. I am one of the social worker of kamalari. I am able to address our voice in district and centre level. Becoming president of FKDF, I have got different opportunity to get programme from government and different NGO for kamalari empowerment. If NYF did not support me, I could not in that position and dealing with different people. I along with other free kamalari's education,economic,NYF will have done different free kamalari for their dignified life.
Thanks a lot to Nepal youth foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Nepal Youth Foundation for is more than my parents. Without NYF, I could have never been able to come this place. Thank you NYF for making me able to lead 12000 plus servitude daughter of Nepal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for NYF as a translator for the Indentured daughters Program. When I was there, I translated several letters sent by the rescued girls to their donors, or the organization itself. Most of these letter were somewhat unintelligible since the authors were women and girls who had been enslaved most part of their childhood and had no education. However, these letters have been one of the most inspiring things I have ever read in my life. I would tell you how these letters went, but the fact is although I managed to translate their letter into vague intelligible letters, I could never reproduce the happiness and hope reflected in their own words.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I love this organization! Since I first encountered NYF about 10 years ago, I have been a donor and I always will be. They do amazing work - always steady and true to their original purpose. All of their programs are designed in culturally sensitive ways to help people help themselves. My personal favorite program is the one that has been freeing indentured girls for the past 10 years or so. I have been so gratified to watch the program grow, little by little, to the point that the former indentured girls were not only freed and educated - made possible by NYF - but have been empowered by their freedom and education to protest against, and helped end the cruel inhumane system that made virtual slaves of tens of thousands of girls. I am so proud of those girls and all the NYF people who helped and inspired them, including Olga Murray who is one of my personal heroes. She has never lost sight of what NYF is about, and her deep love for the children of Nepal is so very touchingly described in the dispatches she sends from Kathmandu.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

??

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have visited Nepal several times and have contributed towards the positive work of the Nepal Youth Foundation ever since. They are doing the work that I think is vital and necessary and influencing the youth of the country and changing their lives. I'm so impressed by their open and collaborative projects and they seem to embody many aspects of a truly humanitarian organization. They don't make judgements about political developments in the country and they stay focused on women, empowerment and liberation. Olga's project inspires me and we share this information with our friends and family constantly over the holiday period. I hope on our next visit to Nepal that I can visit their youth houses in Khatmandu and the upcoming collective farm/sanctuary for the needy children. Nepal Youth Foundation is the real thing on so many levels and I wait for their inspiring newsletter every month. I'm a high school teacher in Canada and I share this information with our teenagers as well. Yours in solidarity, Greg

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it. Involve volunteer teaching missions from people who want to contribute to literary in Nepal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers