Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

NYF was recommended by a friend that knew of their work in Nepal personally, since she worked there several years for Save the Children. In concert with the our outreach program at the Canadian Embassy in Washington DC, I raised money for the organization. I also visited the children houses in Kathmandu and was very impressed by the dedication of the staff and how well organized and cared for the children are.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I was fortunate to work with NYOF in building one of the first organization in Nepal which works for helping students from marginalized community achieve their professional dream. I appreciate all the great work done by NYOF and their sister organizations in Nepal for kids, students and so many unfortunate girls in western part of the country called Kamlari. I thank NYOF from the bottom of my heart.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

NYF has done unbelievable work -- particularly astonishing is its success in dramatically reducing/eliminating the practice of sending girls into bonded servitude, where they were mistreated and worse. It did so by figuring out why families would do such a thing (poverty, inability to support all their children) and then giving them a way to earn as much as they would get by "selling" their daughters (giving them a piglet, teaching the daughter how to care for the pig, letting them sell the pig when at market weight, paying for the girl's school fees). Now the culture has been changed and the PEOPLE object to this awful practice. Just brilliant, and accomplished with a reasonable expenditure of philanthropic dollars. Just an amazing organization, fueled by the talent, passion, and love of founder Olga Murray, who started NYF after having a REAL "three cups of tea"-type experience in Nepal. ...
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

One thing that I find impressive is that when you donate to NYF you can be sure they're not wasting any funds on overhead. They only have three employees in the U.S office, and everyone else is in Nepal. That's part of how they get so much bang for the buck. Keep up the good work, NYF!
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We learned about Olga Murphy, founder of Nepal Youth Foundation, from a friend who happened to be her stepson. We found her story moving--how she fell in love with the Nepalese children while trekking in the Himalayas. We visited the NYF orphanage home for girls in 1998 during a five-week visit to Nepal, where my husband had served in the Peace Corps in the 1960's. We were so impressed with the NYF operations and their determination to care for and educate the neediest children. We began our annual donations that year and have continued them ever since. I love the way NYF communicates with its community of donors through excellent newsletters. The success of their campaign to rescue girls whose impoverished families have sold them into servitude is especially impressive. Somehow the NYF makes its donors feel close to and involved in its operations.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The professionalism and passion that the NYF team puts into the pursue of their mission are truly unique. I had the honor of working with the US and Nepali teams over the last two years: learning how impactful their action is and how devoted the organization is to positive change has been very inspirational.
November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Olga, Som, Chori and the rest of NYF team are a great inspiration! Our foundation is proud to support NYF and the project "counselling services for freed indentured girls" since 2011 (especially the activities related to the psychological counselling center in Western Nepal) . Our field visit and meetings with the girls last year will always remain in our memory! Marielle from cdf

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

include the boys in some activities and continue to do the same!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am one of the student who survived and did something good by the unforgettable help of Nepal Youth Foundation. I have been taken care from the grass root level till now and my achievement up to now is all attributed to NYF. I would like to thank from my heart inside and would like to help at any point of my life if I am given a chance.
To the point, NYF is one of the former row social organization working for welfare of needy and helpless citizen in Nepal and should be honored for such a great contribution.

Sahadev Parajuli

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have known about NYF ever since I was a child as my mom worked for it. I have been growing up with my mom talking about all the children associated with NYF. Their problems, their mistakes, their accomplishments and so on with compassion and love. I have seen her laugh with the children and cry as well. For her, its not just a job, its a way of life.
All this inspires me. The help from NYF and Olga didi is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Nothing is more fulfilling than helping someone, making a difference in someone's life. I want to thank NYF for giving me this opportunity for more than a decade. It has been a wonderful journey all along and an honor working for NYF. I wish NYF all the best.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers