Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I have been a donor for over ten years now to NYF. Two years ago I was fortunate enough to travel to Nepal and meet the young woman I have been connected with as a sponsor through NYF. I have followed her growth (through NYF and personal letters and e-mails) from a young girl to a recent high school graduate - now in college. We visited both the girls and boys wonderful homes and met with all the kids. We spent one evening and one whole day with them. There are simply no words for how wonderful the program is, how happy the kids are, and how much they have to study! Education is the priority, but fun times are certainly aplenty as well. I cannot think of anything I'd rather do with my money than support NYF. PS: They are our main beneficiary in our wills.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

When the news about the floods and landslides reached Kathmandu I wanted to contribute to the most direct project to reach the affected people. When I received the appeal from the NYF I was tempted to send my donation to NYF because of the US tax deduction but I decided to support a local drive because of the time element. After living in Nepal 40 years and knowing Olga and Som almost 20 years I should have known better. The NYF, with funds collected in the US, was the first relief service to reach the devastated area!! Next time....

Betty Woodsend
Kathmandu Nepal
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I visited their projects 15 years ago and have followed their work ever since. Their stamina and professionalism is impressive. May they continue to help the youth in struggling Nepal,
Sincerely, Julie Tave
Saint Germain en Laye, France
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I had the privilege of visiting Nepal last October and visiting some of the many programs that the Nepal Youth Foundation runs within the country. When I saw first hand how well-run the programs were and how much impact they are making I decided to become a supporter. It's amazing to see how far our dollars go in Nepal and how well NYF handles donor resources. The good work that they are doing far exceeded my expectations and I will continue to support the organization into the future.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Having lived in Nepal and volunteered at one of NYF's sister NGO's, I can attest firsthand to what a huge impact the Nepal Youth Foundation can make. Children who were sick or starving or abandoned were found by the Nutritional Rehabilitation Homes, the J&K orphanage, and the New Life Center (the one where I volunteered) - all organizations saving and completely redirecting the lives of impoverished and discarded children of Nepal to a future filled with hope and opportunity. NYF helped place a little boy that I met, whose entire family was deceased or infected with HIV but whose dream was to go to school, in their J&K orphanage and now he is attending one of the best schools in Kathmandu and I'm sent photos of him excitedly posing with a stethoscope. NYF truly changes the lives of the Nepali children and I'm now a monthly donor and eternally grateful to them.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Hundreds of children have been clothed, fed and educated. Hundreds of young girls have been saved from slavery...and there is much more, thanks to one little lady. Olga Murray, small in stature only, is actually a giant of a woman. Moving mountains (local government) and securing funds to achieve better lives for the children of Nepal, who are so often in unbelievably dire straights. I am in awe of how one person can see a need, gather friends to share her vision, build and expand her ideas and then, without exaggeration, achieve true miracles. It is an honor to help support her vision for the Nepal Youth Foundation.

Sally S. Krakow

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow secure enough funding that more time and energy could be spent in Nepal, instead of paper work and publicity necessary for expand this worthwhile program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Years ago I read about NYF in the Christian Science Monitor and was attracted to the simplicity and practicality of preventing a child from being sold into slavery by giving the family a goat -- a very precious and desired gift. I began to give an annual donation and was increasingly impressed with the regular reports of progress as NYF's work reached more and more families. It is doing a phenomenal job in Nepal. Recently, NYF was able to provide immediate help to families in the areas where they work when there was a devastating flood. I didn't hesitate to donate to this relief effort with full confidence that the funds would provide immediate assistance and not be held up by bureaucratic measures because the infrastructure was already in place. My support is whole hearted for the work they are doing to overcome child slavery practices in Nepal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

For almost 8 years I had the honor and privilege to work with the founder, Olga Murray, as the Executive Director for the Nepal Youth Foundation (NYF). I have almost 30 years of experience in the nonprofit sector and the Nepal Youth Foundation is one of the best nonprofits in existence. Olga has devoted the past 24 years ensuring that the neediest children of Nepal have hope. The numbers of children served are astonishing. I had the opportunity to visit NYF's programs in Nepal. The impact that the Nepal Youth Foundation makes is miraculous. The organization operates as effectively and efficiently as possible with over 81% of the funds raised going directly back into NYF’s programs. Because I know firsthand the importance of their work, I continue to be a financial supporter of NYF. The Nepal Youth Foundation brings freedom, health, shelter, and education to Nepal's most impoverished children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. This organization is flawless. They should be an example to other nonprofit organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I have been contributing to NYF for many years and I am so impressed with how much good is done with the money they receive. When I first became a supporter, most of the money went to prevent young girls from going into servitude. Because of the work of NYF, this practice has been pretty much eliminated. But the need for funds is still there and NYF continues to do wonderful work to better the lives of so many young boys and girls. The newsletters they send tell the stories of these kids who were helped years ago now being productive members of society.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I wrote a review of Nepal Youth Foundation in June 2009 and thought it would be helpful to confirm that five years later I am still thrilled to be a monthly donor and volunteer. In fact, after 14 years as a donor and volunteer, I just joined the Advisory Board. Nepal Youth continues to lead the way in Nepal with sound programs and practices, effective and efficient management, and breathtakingly ambitious goals and accomplishments. I cannot recommend their work strongly enough to anyone wishing to make a lasting difference for the most vulnerable children of Nepal and their families.
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers