Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.973685
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Olga, Som, Chori and the rest of NYF team are a great inspiration! Our foundation is proud to support NYF and the project "counselling services for freed indentured girls" since 2011 (especially the activities related to the psychological counselling center in Western Nepal) . Our field visit and meetings with the girls last year will always remain in our memory! Marielle from cdf

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

include the boys in some activities and continue to do the same!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am one of the student who survived and did something good by the unforgettable help of Nepal Youth Foundation. I have been taken care from the grass root level till now and my achievement up to now is all attributed to NYF. I would like to thank from my heart inside and would like to help at any point of my life if I am given a chance.
To the point, NYF is one of the former row social organization working for welfare of needy and helpless citizen in Nepal and should be honored for such a great contribution.

Sahadev Parajuli

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have known about NYF ever since I was a child as my mom worked for it. I have been growing up with my mom talking about all the children associated with NYF. Their problems, their mistakes, their accomplishments and so on with compassion and love. I have seen her laugh with the children and cry as well. For her, its not just a job, its a way of life.
All this inspires me. The help from NYF and Olga didi is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Nothing is more fulfilling than helping someone, making a difference in someone's life. I want to thank NYF for giving me this opportunity for more than a decade. It has been a wonderful journey all along and an honor working for NYF. I wish NYF all the best.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met Olga Murray some years ago and was immensely impressed with her and her charity. That one woman should change the lives for the better of all these children is truly remarkable. I shall very happily continue to donate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only extend it's work even further and rescue more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

First impressions: We just concluded the orientation visits of NYF activities provided to the new Board Members of NYF. We had the opportunity to see first hand many sites and listen to direct beneficiaries and the dedicated staff of NYF. The orientation included visits to children's homes, counselling centres, HIV/Aids and nutritional rehabilitation centres in Lalitpur, education support programmes in Nuwakot area and a packed 3 day trip (with a drive of over 700 km) to see the former 'Kamlaris' (indentured daughters) programme in 3 out of 5 districts of our operation. It was indeed touching to experience what 'empowerment' does to the lives of the oppressed. We met so many dedicated people that reinforced our belief that it is possible to do wonderful things in Nepal, if we have committed people. Among them we were also proud to meet people of Man Bahdur ji's and Gyanu Thapa's dedication to be part of NYF and helping the former 'Kamlaris' as their own family. NYF is touching the lives of so many people and making them better! I am so glad to be part of this wonderful network created with the efforts of Olga Murray and Som Paneru. I hope to be able to contribute to the work of NYF as a member of its Board in the coming days. Bijaya Mallapaty

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am still learning about NYF's work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am Dil Kumari Chaudhary. I am a kamalari before rescue from NYF. I would like to give thanks NYF for rescuing me along with the 12000 servitude girls who worked in others home in child age. NYF is our guardian for giving us great opportunity in education,rehabilitation,vocational education and involving in economic opportunity. If NYF will not rescue me, I could have never in this position. Now,I am a president of Free Kamalari Development Forum in Banke district. I am one of the social worker of kamalari. I am able to address our voice in district and centre level. Becoming president of FKDF, I have got different opportunity to get programme from government and different NGO for kamalari empowerment. If NYF did not support me, I could not in that position and dealing with different people. I along with other free kamalari's education,economic,NYF will have done different free kamalari for their dignified life.
Thanks a lot to Nepal youth foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

13 years ago, bonded girl labourers (Kamalari) of western terai were living their life in hell. There were parentsless though they had parents, homeless though they had home. They had left their mother's warm lap in the early childhood. I used to live in Dang and seeing that evil practice without any effort to change that tradition. At that time, I saw Nepal Youth Foundation, a non profitable organization, taking a step forward to change that slavery from Dang. It provided Kamalaris warm love of parents, rescued them and admitted in the school. It was a challenging job at first because it is very difficult to change any custom and social values but amazingly I am seeing now after 13 years that those hell dweller girls are moving in heaven of education, opportunity and brightness. More than 12 thousand kamalaris are free and 6 thousand kamalaris are studying. I reported all these stories in my media Kantipur publications with big space. It was not because of any relationship but it was a genuine issue and job. Government was unknown about this issue but the movement of kamalari supported by NYF compelled government to know it and declare a Kamalari Free state. All the credit of this achievement goes to NYF. I have found this job very humanitarian. I dont believe in supernatural powers but also if there is God, NYF is suitable organization to be loved by Gods. It is a great charity to human world.
Durga Lal KC
Dang, Nepal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

First of all, I dont like to change this organization. Rather I would like to make continue to work in the field of bonded girl labourers (Kamalari). I would think and design more project to empower the kamalaris and see their participation in the decision making level of the state. I would like to continue this campaign and not leave them until they lead a complete different life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been working with NYF since 2003 as a Manager in Indentured Daughters Program. I am so happy to be a part of NYF’s team; because, it is truly a humanitarian organization that helps Nepali children providing them education, shelter, health care, rescue and rehabilitation, as well as helps them access for their justice.
It is my immense pleasure to work with freed bonded girls as an activist. It gives me fully satisfaction to see the huge number of school going girls after getting freedom from slavery. I am enjoying in this non profitable organization as an activist.
In 2000, only 36 bonded (Kamalari) girls were rescued, now, NYF has rescued over 12,000 bonded girls. After rescuing, NYF has been providing meaningful education, vocational training, technical education, legal aid and capacity building opportunity to them. Freed Kamalari girls have established their own organization named as Freed Kamlari Development Forum. They also have formed 33 cooperatives aiming to empower freed bonded girls economically. Besides, they are also campaigning for the meaningful social empowerment and elimination of slavery system in Nepal.
Just three months ago, big achievement was achieved, Nepal government declared Nepal as Kamalari (Labor Bonded) Free Nation.
After joining NYF's team, as Indenture Daughters Program's Manager, I was awarded by International Ashoka Fellowship Award 2006, as Ashoka Fellow. Now, I am a part of Global Ashoka team.
So, NYF deserves this award for its immense and significant contribution in rescuing and rehabilitating bonded labors (kamalris girls) in Nepal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been working in this organization for 2 years. NYF is an outstanding organization that works with the servitude girls and parent-less children. NYF has been providing vocational training for making best income and life standard. NYF vision is to see them free and have received a lot of opportunity. Most of the free kamalari girls have been in vocational education. I am also happy to work with this organization for supporting in vocational education and making them self-reliant in their life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers