Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I love Nepal Youth Foundation because of its Nepal-centered approach! This is not your SUV driving, fly-in and fly-out charity. They have a US staff of 3 or 4 people, and a staff in Nepal of over 100. Your money goes far because donations are used for services delivered in Nepal, not for fancy offices in the US. Symbolizing this approach, Olga Murray, the extraordinary woman who founded NYF, has handed the reins to Som Paneru, a Nepalese man and a beneficiary of NYF who explains NYF's programs brilliantly in the US and runs them skillfully in Nepal.

I learned about NYF as President of Global Grandmothers when we were researching child-centered charities that we could recommend to our membership. NYF stood out by its high ratings in Charity Navigator and Great Non-Profits, an impression that was only amplified when we reviewed its programs, like the J and K houses and the Nutritional Rehabilitation Homes, and met the leadership. This is an organization with integrity whom you can be proud to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I've been donating to NYF for over 10 years. I've been in awe of Olga Murray and her vision which she built into reality. Truly an inspiration. Plus NYF overhead is only 4% which is really very low. Having visited Nepal twice, it's so great to have this Foundation to help these beautiful people.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Fifteen years ago my husband and I were lucky enough to travel to Nepal and meet someone who knew of Olga and the work she was doing. Consequently I was ably to go to the 2 homes which housed their worst-off children and Oh what a wonderful greeting i received!! i will never forget it. They all wanted to show me their home. Unfortunately I didn't meet Olga then but I was able to at a later stage and realized what a phenomenal woman she was. And yet this charity is not all about Olga, she makes that clear. It is about Nepalis helping themselves and finding their own solutions. And it is absolutely amazing what they can do with a small amount of money. The same amount here in the US would disappear into administration but not with NYF. They do miracles with little.
I have sponsored two young men so far all the way through their schooling. The first one is now working repairing computers in a city where most who leave school cannot even find a job. next year my second "son" graduates High school and is not quite sure of his future yet. It is wonderful to be able to keep up an email conversation with them and get to know them and know , though NYF, I am helping them to have something they could not have had otherwise. I could go on. I do not have one bad thing to say.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I have been a donor for over ten years now to NYF. Two years ago I was fortunate enough to travel to Nepal and meet the young woman I have been connected with as a sponsor through NYF. I have followed her growth (through NYF and personal letters and e-mails) from a young girl to a recent high school graduate - now in college. We visited both the girls and boys wonderful homes and met with all the kids. We spent one evening and one whole day with them. There are simply no words for how wonderful the program is, how happy the kids are, and how much they have to study! Education is the priority, but fun times are certainly aplenty as well. I cannot think of anything I'd rather do with my money than support NYF. PS: They are our main beneficiary in our wills.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

When the news about the floods and landslides reached Kathmandu I wanted to contribute to the most direct project to reach the affected people. When I received the appeal from the NYF I was tempted to send my donation to NYF because of the US tax deduction but I decided to support a local drive because of the time element. After living in Nepal 40 years and knowing Olga and Som almost 20 years I should have known better. The NYF, with funds collected in the US, was the first relief service to reach the devastated area!! Next time....

Betty Woodsend
Kathmandu Nepal
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I visited their projects 15 years ago and have followed their work ever since. Their stamina and professionalism is impressive. May they continue to help the youth in struggling Nepal,
Sincerely, Julie Tave
Saint Germain en Laye, France
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I had the privilege of visiting Nepal last October and visiting some of the many programs that the Nepal Youth Foundation runs within the country. When I saw first hand how well-run the programs were and how much impact they are making I decided to become a supporter. It's amazing to see how far our dollars go in Nepal and how well NYF handles donor resources. The good work that they are doing far exceeded my expectations and I will continue to support the organization into the future.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Having lived in Nepal and volunteered at one of NYF's sister NGO's, I can attest firsthand to what a huge impact the Nepal Youth Foundation can make. Children who were sick or starving or abandoned were found by the Nutritional Rehabilitation Homes, the J&K orphanage, and the New Life Center (the one where I volunteered) - all organizations saving and completely redirecting the lives of impoverished and discarded children of Nepal to a future filled with hope and opportunity. NYF helped place a little boy that I met, whose entire family was deceased or infected with HIV but whose dream was to go to school, in their J&K orphanage and now he is attending one of the best schools in Kathmandu and I'm sent photos of him excitedly posing with a stethoscope. NYF truly changes the lives of the Nepali children and I'm now a monthly donor and eternally grateful to them.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Hundreds of children have been clothed, fed and educated. Hundreds of young girls have been saved from slavery...and there is much more, thanks to one little lady. Olga Murray, small in stature only, is actually a giant of a woman. Moving mountains (local government) and securing funds to achieve better lives for the children of Nepal, who are so often in unbelievably dire straights. I am in awe of how one person can see a need, gather friends to share her vision, build and expand her ideas and then, without exaggeration, achieve true miracles. It is an honor to help support her vision for the Nepal Youth Foundation.

Sally S. Krakow

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow secure enough funding that more time and energy could be spent in Nepal, instead of paper work and publicity necessary for expand this worthwhile program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Years ago I read about NYF in the Christian Science Monitor and was attracted to the simplicity and practicality of preventing a child from being sold into slavery by giving the family a goat -- a very precious and desired gift. I began to give an annual donation and was increasingly impressed with the regular reports of progress as NYF's work reached more and more families. It is doing a phenomenal job in Nepal. Recently, NYF was able to provide immediate help to families in the areas where they work when there was a devastating flood. I didn't hesitate to donate to this relief effort with full confidence that the funds would provide immediate assistance and not be held up by bureaucratic measures because the infrastructure was already in place. My support is whole hearted for the work they are doing to overcome child slavery practices in Nepal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers