Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.755
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I spent five months with NOH in 2010. There was plenty of e-mailing before I even left my home and I felt instantly welcomed and safe and ready for whatever was to come as soon as I arrived. They took such good care of me, making sure I got on the right bus to travel to a new placement 30 hours away, riding the bus with me for 30 hours, and staying a night just to make sure I was comfortable and okay. The individuals at NOH are amazing human beings, and everyday I miss them. The schools I taught at were full of bright inquisitive eyes and I can honestly say I have never seen so many children who LOVE learning... in my life! The children just melted my heart, and I miss them everyday. The volunteers all develop a special bond with each other at this organization, and I know many lifelong friendships have started on the rooftop of the volunteer house. Thank you NOH for showing me how to truly love and give to those in need. Namaste.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being the first of NOH volunteers to go to a placement in Baitadi, a 30 hour bus ride from Kathmandu. My stay was successful, the children I taught at the school there were so excited to talk with me and ask questions about life outside of their village, many of the children told me they want to live in my country someday, we built and organized a library, and now this small village is connected with the possibility of future volunteers and hope and love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I think they are doing the best they can, and are constantly working with volunteers to get feedback which they then use to make changes to the way things work. I had a great time, and wouldn't change a thing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My experience changed my life in so many ways. I have never felt so capable and empowered... like I really can make a difference. The children are just sooooo happy to meet each volunteer, and are so grateful for every moment and every hug and every smile. They taught me to appreciate every single thing... no matter how big or small. And I will live this way forever.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like anything is possible.

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

My family first heard about Nepal Orphans Home through past volunteers. They raved about the wonderful people and the amazing organization. My younger sister decided to go volunteer for a year there following high school. I could not have asked for a better family for my 18-year-old sister to become a part of in a new country. Everything I heard from her about the work she did and everything I hear from other volunteers have completely convinced me that I want to go there too one day. Last Christmas, we started a campaign to raise money for the children there and we know that our money is going to a great place and every cent is used for the welfare of the children. Michael, the founder, is devoted to the children and their safety and every bit of work that is done for those kids makes a difference. I highly recommend this not for profit and donating to them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I spent 6 weeks in Nepal back in September and October 2011! I couldn't have dream better for a first experience as a volunteer abroad! I went with one of my friend, and a co-ordinator picked us up from the airport, and lead us to the volunteer House in Dhapasi. We met the children and Micheal Hess while leading them to school the next day..What a meeting!Since october is holiday time for the children, a lot of them were back home for the festivals. So Michael organized a camp and I "taught" drama and lead some art class! It was a wonderful experience, and you learned so much from those kids!! If you choose NOH, you'll do work with children, but you'll also visit 5 sites around Kathmandu, and you'll receive some basics about the culture and the language! I was in touch with NOH long before I arrived and I'm still in touch with them and the children now back at home. I met awesome people there, volunteers, kids, NOH workers, etc... And I'll be back there ASAP !! All I can say is GO APPLY !! There's no way you could be disappointed!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I spent two months in Kathmandu with NOH in February and March 2010, along with my daughter who was 10 at the time. There was good communication with NOH before we left the UK, and we were picked up by the Volunteer Co-ordinator when we arrived in Nepal. The volunteer House is in a very nice, safe area of the city and can accommodate around 12 volunteers. We were treated very well by Santoshi, the cook at the time, who made breakfast and dinner every day along with lots of delicious tea! The kids at NOH have very busy days, with school and study, but we spent as much time with them as we could, and we helped out with practical tasks such as admin and cleaning in the Volunteer House too. NOH has a good range of placements through Volunteer Nepal; in my view the best way to make the most of your time with NOH is to treat the Volunteer House as a base and find a placement that suits you (either within Kathmandu or further afield). We weren't so able to take advantage of this as I didn't want to travel far with my daughter, but there are some amazing placements that I'd love to take advantage of if I'm able to go back in the future. NOH is well run and does a fantastic job of providing love, support and education for the children and young people in its care. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend NOH to anyone thinking of volunteering in Nepal.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We stay in contact with a number of the children we became close to during our time in Nepal. Some of the kids come from very disadvantaged, difficult backgrounds and it's been humbling to watch their progress particularly when it comes to education. The kids are so appreciative of the home NOH has given them, and are desperate to learn and make the best of the opportunities they have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't see any organisational changes that are required.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Being more aware in advance that the kids at NOH have limited free time, and that in order to contribute the most in a pratical sense it may be best to consider the volunteer placements that are available.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering with NOH has had a profound effect on both me and my daughter. We are still in touch with a number of the children that we became close to, and I miss both them and Nepal every day. My daughter was able to see that material wealth doesn't necessarily equal happiness, and to experience a different culture. I also found good friendships with other volunteers that I hope will always last.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy, humbled, sad, frustrated at times, fortunate, and like part of a new family.

February 29, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 29, 2012

I spent 3 weeks as a volunteer at the Nepal Orphan's Home. The volunteer coordinator met me at the airport and accompanied me via taxi to the volunteer house. The house was safe and well furnished, with solar hot water showers and internet access. My fellow volunteers were welcoming and helpful. A cook provided our meals. I was given an orientation and Nepalese language lessons. I was soon introduced to the staff and children, and enjoyed helping to reinforce the English that they were learning in school. We played basketball and other backyard games. The home had an incredibly joyous atmosphere. The older children played well together, and watched over the younger children. Michael Hess is a strong, positive leader who knows and cares for each child and staff member. While I was certainly a member of the community, I was also encouraged to do sightseeing and hiking, and to enjoy Nepal. It was a fabulous experience and I encourage people who are interested to consider volunteering. And I strongly encourage people to donate financially to this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers