Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 4, 2013

Hi my name is Leah and I am from New Zealand. I had the pleasure to be under the care and guidance of Michael and his team in June 2013. I had been won over by the friendly and courageous people of Nepal in a previous trip in April. I journeyed back there with an unsettling urge to do something meaningful, something that could make a difference. I was motivated by a close friend who was similarly inspired, so I made plans with Volunteer Nepal and set goals to achieve. I was welcomed not only by the honest and accommodating staff but also the fellow volunteers that form a community hub, a family away from home. The children within Michaels care are happy and loving despite the trials and mistreatment they may have known, and this is to Michaels credit. He has a genuine love and a compassionate spirit that sustains the organisation. His gentleness and kindness are a model to all that come into his contact. There is obviously are strong will and determined fortitude as well as the houses and needs are met and advocated for in a system of bureaucracy that is fraught with difficulties. My experience was life changing and the friendships I made will remain a constant reminder to the love and community humanity should strive for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I had no expectations to what my experience should be or could be so this is now my benchmark for future expeditions on my journey towards a meaningful life of befriending and helping others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2012

I ( 51 yrs old ) have been a volunteer at NOH since November 2008, and have returned 7 times , either alone or with students , from three schools( 1 in Switzerland , and two in France ) and their ... more

May 27, 2013

I joined the Board in May of 2012. I am extremely proud of NOH and cherish the ability to be able to use the word 100% accountable and ethical, a healthy family . As a Board member and volunteer, I have enjoyed watching and being a part of a team that visits the children as often as I can . I have been recently in March of 2013 and all kids are thriving , happy and doing well in school , upper + 2 , and college. The managers , and volunteer house management is wonderful and professional. They grow as the homes grow , and Michael Hess , is an amazing Head founder , head father and Papa to the boys and staff. HE manages all so smoothly , and the org is maturing smoothly, each child growing safe and happy.

As a board member, I try to spread the word of volunteering to schools. I am working on Smith College, and others. Interesting programs are starting vocationally , a success for our growing up population at NOH . Courses in trades are taught weekly , music and art , tailoring , and Nepali mentors to several NOH students from Masters programs in other countries who are interested in helping their fellow Nepali young students. Our vocational skills program is growing, with medical volunteering for the NOH older students, and one grad has a fine job in a hospital. We seek vocational experiences that are safe and a good exposure to the professional working world . We search for corporate and private service responsibility to give back to NOH and in turn give to your own selves. All Board members are encouraged by our President with a very fund raising package to fund raise and raise awareness each year, This is a big help to have management that is present all the time to help the Board as we move towards a capital campaign to help raise funds for an Undergrad campus , vocational school and community outreach program.

The Board communicates quickly on most questions. Staff help to keep communications up via email or Face book . The director and Founder is very helpful to email updates which supports many small projects of support to NOH from abroad, which makes it easier to approach a donor with fresh information. I appreciate his time immensely as it helps spur on my efforts and I think that is a great Board attribute of many on the Board, we work together .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes that I can think of. I would try to train a staff to have workshops on interview skills, mock interviews, conflict management drama therapy sessions on issues that one would find in work. I would have a grant writer always in office , and an intern NOH student searching , researching for grants , do researching . I would have international volunteers working on that as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I ( 51 yrs old ) have been a volunteer at NOH since November 2008, and have returned 7 times , either alone or with students , from three schools( 1 in Switzerland , and two in France ) and their administrations to set up and promote volunteering programs at NOH , a totally worthy organization . My experience was so healthy , inspiring and accountable in every sense of the word, that I am confident in all my efforts to try to start service groups in schools, Women's clubs , and churches. A 501(c) 3 charity, 100% well run , and with values to promote and develop solid education , both primary , secondary , and vocational planning , both for work skills , and living skills . This is an organization that gives to the local Nepali children the opportunity for a life and future that they deserve : safe , happy,challenging successful ! NOH intends to offer safe futures with work , and joy to these kids' lives . In 2011 , Aiglon College had the experience of sending 8 students to teach computer skills , and English , exactly what the children need for their future work experiences . They gave in many ways to NOH , proudly , and happily and will be returning in October 2012 . Paris schools , EABJM and ASP , have home groups and clubs that do fund raising and advocacy meetings about Nepali issues and one ASP Volunteer has started Skyping every Saturday with the NOH boys . Overall, the NOH volunteer program is fantastic, safe , happy , and multi faceted , a time for each volunteer to learn their own living skills , take mission challenges in and out of Kathmandu , and have a myriad of one on one experiences with the NOH kids . I love NOH and Volunteer Nepal ! And so do my daughter (18 ) and son(15 ) .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I have had 2 daughters volunteer with VN and decided to go and visit myself before committing. What I found was an environment of love and trust that far exceeded my expectations.
I happily donate as often as I can knowing the money goes to where it is needed rather than into the pockets of
unscrupulous operators.
I would have no hesitation recommending VN to anyone and would be happy to endorse them in my capacity as teacher at Bendigo Secondary College Australia.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

58 years of life experience, and 10 years involvement in social accoutability in my country, Israe, brought me asa volunteer with Nepal Orphans's Home (NOH ) for a month, teaching English in a Buddhist monastery, located in a Nepali remote area. I was highly impressed by professional approach of NOH's team from the very first contact I had. It continued with warm welcoming in their very well organized Volunteer house, efficient orientation, reasonable weekly fee, as well as needed support throughout the whole period of time given to the placement.
Ever since volunteering, I have been a supporter of this very important NGO, which takes excellent care, of almost 150 children, living in 5 homes in Kathmandu.
Aside from their great concerns for their children, NOH team is well aware of volunteer needs, regarding diversity of activities and location of placements. Thus, it offers a wide range of options to volunteer for various durations. I met kind and caring people, who make great contribution to a positive volunteering experience, for all kind of potential volunteers - youth, adult, travelers, specialist etc.
Wisely, NOH has established good connections with medical institution around Kathmandu, in order to help them with volunteering, as well as making potential jobs for their grown children, and recently there are some good fruit of these initiatives.
Finally, efficiency regarding cost-effect is quite impressive, and it is very well shown by the homes' maintenance, food providing , education and so much loving care of the children. So, potential donors can be sure that donations are being channelled to stated goals, with minimum add on to organizational costs. I am privileged to take part in such mission, with such people, who succeed to make it so different for so many human beings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance connections with official representatives of all countries that have Embassy or Consulates in Nepal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered there last summer and I had the best time ever! I can't wait to come back again and again and again like I know so many of the volunteers have. It's a relatively loose and not-so-professional approach to volunteerism since it's such a small organization, but it works out (at least for me) so, so well! Depending on the duration of your stay, the impact the volunteering has varies I feel. It's definitely not null if you are just a short visitor, but I think you can make the most impact by laying out a summer or a few months of free time and just assimilating into the beautiful culture here. We can really get that because of how insanely genuine this program is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to make it just a tiny bit more profesional in terms of organization so that it can expand into a larger (but not too more larger) volunteering organization. Also, try to encourage volunteers to stay longer so that they can really experience at least Kathmandu (if they stay in the valley). Lastly, try to shorten/quicken the whole "culture lesson" the volunteers get in the beginning, especially if they're only going to be here for a week or so. That just makes the experience feel faker.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for 3 months with Nepal Orphans Home (NOH) and Volunteer Nepal (VN) doing different things in different locations. I volunteered in rural, pre-himalayan Nepal teaching English and helping at a rural health post, and at orphanages in Kathmandu. The whole experience was incredible and definitely this organization and the staff working for it are amazing. You have plenty of volunteer options to choose from. I totally recommend NOH and VN for your volunteer experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

I spent five months volunteering with NOH in 2009. The director, Michael Hess, and all of the support staff are amazing in every way. Michael truly loves every single child in his care; even if I had just stayed at Papa's House and worked with the children there, my time in Nepal would be just as meaningful. There was plenty of communication before I arrived, so much support for my choices while I was in the country, and continued updates after I left. After looking at all of my options and having questions answered by staff and other volunteers, I chose where to work. I was able to travel to four different placements, as well as stay in Kathmandu for a month, to volunteer in various schools and hospitals. I gave my all at most of my placements as an English teacher and tutor. Working with NOH changed my life, and if you choose to volunteer with them, I have no doubts it will change yours. I have high hopes to return in the future.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I spent 3 months in Nepal working with NOH. This organization is absolutly amazing. I spent my entire time in Kathmandu with Papa's House because I fell in love with the kids and staff. I loved every single day there. While there not only did I work with the Papa's House children, but I also got to go to another orphanage in Kathmandu which was set up through NOH. From the moment I arrived in nepal I felt like I was part of an amazing new family! They were all so sweet and welcoming. NOH gives you so many opportunities to explore and visit other parts of Nepal, ad learn about an amazing culture. I love NOH and can't wait to go back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I spent almost seven months with Nepal Orphans Home. I spent my first three months working in Kathmandu with Nepal Orphans Home kids helping with homework, walking them to school, I even spent a month in one of the orphanages which was amazing in itself because I really was exposed to the lives of the kids and got to participate and help out in everything they did. During the day when I was in Kathmandu I would go to one of the government orphanages and play with the babies there. All the kids I worked with always would put a smile on my face, from the moment I walked in the door and saw smiling happy faces to see me, I was automatically smiling and ecstatic to see them too. I was excited to get up and feel like I was making a difference everyday. Through Nepal Orphans Home and Volunteer Nepal, I went to a Buddhist monastery for a month and taught the nuns there English. It was a very different experience, they had puja (prayer) every day at 5:30 in the morning and we were always welcome to go. I was there for the Tibetan New Year and there were many festivities leading up to it which once again was an experience like none other. When I came back from the monastery, I went to Pokhara for a few weeks to teach in a school there as well. I also went to the Terai region of Nepal, lived with a family for 2 weeks and taught in a school there as well. I spent my last 3 months in Kathmandu doing what I did for my first three months there because I loved it so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 2, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2012

My daughter and I were volunteers in NOH in 2005. It was an organization that was just beginning. I would like to express that the director Michael Hess was very kind and seemed that destiny had sent him to Nepal. He was very honest, dedicated, and focused on helping the children in Nepal. As I write this review, it is evident, that this is an organization of purpose, honor, and success. It is on my life's list to return to such an honorable organization with such honest intents. Rating....100% and more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers