Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.941755
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I've been a volunteer driver for Neighbor Ride for almost two years. I signed up because I thought it was important that the elderly have a way of getting around when they couldn't drive. I was seeing in my own elderly parents (who live in another county and don't have a Neighbor Ride service) how isolated they were becoming because they couldn't drive. So I've just extended the support I provide to my parents to other elderly folks in my county. I have loved every moment. The staff goes out of its way to make the ride sign-up process so easy for the volunteers. And the clients? Oh my gosh, I've enjoyed every trip I've provided. These are fascinating, vibrant people who still have a lot to offer the world. I have learned so much about my clients' life experiences and it has enriched my life. I've been able to learn more about World War II, cooking, religion, and politics! I've been a volunteer in the community with other non-profits over the years, but this is the most appreciative clientele AND the most supportive staff I've ever had the honor of dealing with. I've enjoyed it so much that I now try to recruit new drivers! Neighbor Ride is the catalyst for keeping the elderly active and engaged at a time in their lives when doing so can be such a challenge.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The comments I've heard from the clients. They are so grateful for the service and so complimentary of the caring, compassionate help each driver provides. When I heard these things, I knew that I had chosen an exceptional organization to volunteer with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more drivers so that Neighbor Ride could offer the service to more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Make it easier to distinguish (and sign up for) one-way requests for travel.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Oh yes. Driving different clients has given me the opportunity to learn about new cultures, use my foreign language skills, get another perspective on history, etc.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Each time i provide transportation to an elderly client, I feel good about myself and my community. I believe in paying it forward, hoping that others will provide this service to me when I'm elderly.

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Neighbor Ride provides a very flexible way to provide volunteer hours to the senior community. The computerized listings of available rides makes it easy to fit a ride into my schedule. The riders are interesting, friendly and make the trips most enjoyable. The office staff are the greatest providing useful and timely information to make volunteering easy and enjoyable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have always wanted to volunteer for NeighborRide. When I took early retirement I was able to sign up. It is one of the most organized and professional organizations that I have worked with. It is wonderful to meet these wonderful seniors and to assist them in maintaining their independence. The seniors are extremely grateful for this service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

Neighbor Ride keeps Seniors engaged and active in their daily lives by providing a safe point-to-point ride. I get the honor of being that "provider" and I have the good fortune to meet some incredible people. I recently met a gentleman with over 50 years as an Educator. I have my 10 years in and I found him to be an inspiration to keep at it (but NOT for 40 more!) I enjoy providing rides that work for my schedule -- I work full time so I volunteer nights and weekends where I am available. There is a great deal of need for this service throughout the county so I am glad that I can contribute. If you think you need a volunteer position that meets your schedule, this is the one to consider. You have to like to drive and you have to like Seniors and you have to be patient but it all tends to work out very smoothly. It has been very rewarding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

GREAT PROGRAM SENIORS ARE ALWAYS SO GREATFUL THIS GIVES THEM A CHANCE TO GET OUT AS WELL AS GET TO THERE DESTINATION MOST HAVE LITTLE COMPANY AND ENJOY THE CONVERSATION WITH US

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Driving the wonderful seniors for Neighbor Ride makes me both happy, but helps to assure that the service will be viable when I need it. I too am a senior. Isolation is such a threat to us as we get older. No group is more appreciative of a simple act of helpfulness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I volunteer as a driver for Neighbor Ride, Inc, and have been involved for almost 2 years now. A good friend has been involved for over 7 years. My experience has been nothing except extraordinary. The simple gift of my time and my car provides independence and friendly conversation during the time the Neighbor Ride clients share my car. I have met wonderfully engaging and lively individuals who would be housebound or dependent on only family members for transportation. With Neighbor Ride and other volunteers like me, they can lead full and independent lives which can include doctor's visits, time spent at local senior centers, grocery shopping or just visiting other friends and family. My free time gives them this gift of independence. And, I enjoy their company and the give of their friendship. Neighbor Ride brings us together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

NeighborRide has been a wonderful experience for me - I truly get to help people at the ground level - where they live, where they need to go (doctors office, social outings, etc). It is one of the most immediate returns on time investment I have participated in. I additionally enjoy getting to talk with the riders, find out about them and share.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I wanted an opportunity to help community residents and Neighbor Ride has been a wonderful experience! There's flexibility because I choose which rides fit my schedule. I can bring my child along to experience volunteerism, and I really have enjoyed meeting the seniors who I drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Neighbor Ride for about 6 months. I became interested in volunteering for this organization after losing my Mother-in-Law to cancer. We had an impossible time of trying to coordinate rides to doctors' appointments after her treatment for cancer. I new first hand how valuable this service could be for a family. After having personally provided about 25 rides to seniors throughout Howard County it has become evident to me how critical this service is to enable the senior population to live independent and fulfilling lives. The very small paid staff at Neighbor Ride does an amazing job of training drivers, coordinating rides for clients and keeping drivers and other volunteers informed. According to the information Neighbor Ride has provided, the demand for rides is constantly increasing in our county and surrounding counties. One experience really drove home, for me, the need for this service and the need to continue to find more drivers and scheduling volunteers. I was dropping a client at the BWI train station when a nun from the Little Sisters of the Poor stopped and inquired about the service I was providing (we identify our service by placing a removeable magnet on our passenger side door). She inquired about specifics regarding the organization and how she would go about using our services. Unfortunately, she was located in a neighboring county, but I could tell by her comments that this would have been a very useful service to the seniors living at one of their sponsored homes. On a personal level, I have felt a great deal of satisfaction after providing a ride for someone. They are extremely appreciative for the ability not to burden their loved ones time after time, for things they need or want to do. I cannot speak highly enough of the professional, efficient and friendly staff and team of volunteers that I have had the pleasure of dealing with thus far. I plan to remain as a volunteer and provides as many rides as my schedule allows for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide transportation that will reduce isolation and help local seniors remain active, independent and connected to the community. Volunteer