Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.941755
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I've been a volunteer for Neighbor Ride since 2012 and I absolutely love this nonprofit organization! I love helping our senior citizens (always near and dear to my heart) and I love working with the staff at NR (Rosemary & Colleen, you ROCK!) always so friendly and willing to work with you on any schedule. I look forwarding to giving more rides when my class is finished!
March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

Neighbor Ride was my saving grace. After working for 36 years, I retired. Now I didn't even have to get out of bed (not a good thing). I found Neighbor Ride in an internet search. Their requirements and my availability fit perfectly. They ask that you take 2 rides per month. Some days I do 2 rides in a day. I was able to work around scheduled vacations - I simply notified them how long I would be gone and the emails stopped until I returned. I purposely took early morning rides as a reason to get out of bed. The clients I've met have been awesome and I've fallen in love with so many of them. Now I look forward to the daily rides list and am occasionally disappointed to find a ride I would like to take has already been assigned! I love doing this and the clients always express their gratitude for this service!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 6, 2012

I started volunteering as a Ride Coordinator with Neighbor Ride over 2 years ago. I enjoy working there talking to seniors who benefit so much from this service. I constantly hear from them how this... more

March 19, 2014

I have been working as a ride coordinator on Fridays for over 4 years now. Every week I take calls from the seniors who use our service and am constantly told by them how grateful they are to have us and our wonderful volunteer drivers. I personally know the impact this organization is having due to the lack of one where my parents live. This organization enhances life for so many here in Howard County... week after week. I am proud to be associated with Neighbor Ride.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2012

I started volunteering as a Ride Coordinator with Neighbor Ride over 2 years ago. I enjoy working there talking to seniors who benefit so much from this service. I constantly hear from them how this service has allowed them to get out to doctor appointments and even hair appointments! They are always praising our volunteer drivers who cheerfully provide rides and companionship. This is also the best run non profit I have ever volunteered for - well run and always appreciative of their volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2011

I have been volunteering with Neighbor Ride for over a year now. I work in their office as a ride coordinator. I think this organization is well run and much needed by the senior community! Many seniors tell me on the phone when scheduling rides, that this service has been a life saver for them. It allows those that can't drive themselves to get around and participate in life. I've also gotten my husband to be one of the volunteer drivers! An excellent opportunity to make a difference!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I speak with seniors that benefit from the rides this org provides.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the org is well run. Getting more volunteer drivers will make it better!

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I joined Neighbor Ride a month after it opened--first as a ride coordinator and soon after also as a driver. It's well-run, responsive to driver and passenger needs and is a very rewarding experience. I volunteer at many nonprofits, and Neighbor Ride is the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to take donations of automobiles.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

My wife and I have been drivers for Neighbor Ride for three years, and we've had the privilege of meeting many, many nice people. The clients have always expressed deep gratitude for the continued freedom that NR gives them after they are no longer able to drive. From a driver's viewpoint the operation could not be more convenient. We can pick those rides that best fit our schedule. It is well organized and the office staff is the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2013

When I retired in July, 2011, I immediately signed up as a volunteer driver with Neighborride and I've been very happy with the program. It gives me the opportunity to help people who need it, but als... more

March 19, 2014

I began as a volunteer driver when I retired in mid-2011 and I've enjoyed meeting people and hearing their stories since then. I've received more than I've given, I think. I've learned so much about other people and their difficulties as they aged, and also seen neighborhoods in my own county that I've never visited before. It's been a very rewarding experience.
Larry Carson
April 9, 2013

When I retired in July, 2011, I immediately signed up as a volunteer driver with Neighborride and I've been very happy with the program. It gives me the opportunity to help people who need it, but also to choose my times and trips.
Most important to me, though, is that I have had the
opportunity to meet people who live all over Howard County, and to visit their streets and hear a bit of their lives and history in the county, which I find very interesting. It has also afforded me the opportunity to visit places outside the county, like the Johns Hopkins Hospital, which has changed so much over the last 1015 years, and other places in the area I don't normally go to.
So the program has enriched my life, taught me more about my neighbors and my community and allowed me to help others who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I wish this service was available to my parents and in-laws when they needed it (they dont live near here). So when i retired I immediately signed up. I've seen neighborhoods I didnt know existed, but more, i've met some very very sweet people. Its good to know I've helped them get out of their houses to something they needed or wanted to do. This is a great service for HoCo.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cant think of any!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I have been a volunteer drive for almost two years with Neighbor Ride and I get to see first hand the impact we have to the seniors we drive. By providing a very inexpensive ride, to their doctor, shopping or visit friends eliminates the isolated feeling many of our seniors feel.
April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

Neighbor Ride has changed my life! When I retired in 2008, I was looking for a volunteer opportunity where I could give back to the community, and happily, I found Neighbor Ride! As a Ride Coordinat... more

April 15, 2013

I have been volunteering for Neighbor Ride for almost 5 years, as a Ride Coordinator, Driver and a member of the Board. It is one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever enjoyed. I particularly like engaging the passengers and drivers in conversation, and in knowing that Neighbor Ride has had a positive impact on their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

Neighbor Ride has changed my life! When I retired in 2008, I was looking for a volunteer opportunity where I could give back to the community, and happily, I found Neighbor Ride! As a Ride Coordinator in the NR office two days a week, I schedule rides, request drivers for specific rides, and talk to the senior population that NR serves. And I can safely say I get more out of this than they do! I enjoy chatting with the passengers and I have developed cordial relationships with them. I know how much this service means to the individual riders, and I am proud to be a part of this very necessary and well-regarded utility which is so important in their lives! When problems develop with particular rides, I also take pride in coming up with solutions that work for the passengers and the drivers. I am also proud to say that some passengers ask for me when they call in. This proves to me that I have made a difference in their lives, too. In short, Neighbor Ride is important for the community, and it is important for me as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Volunteering for Neighbor Ride has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had. It has been a pleasure getting to know Seniors in my community and share stories while we drive. Thank you Neighbor Ride!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide transportation that will reduce isolation and help local seniors remain active, independent and connected to the community. Volunteer