Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.941755
| 1 ... 7 8 9 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

As a retired leader/administrator of a large organization, I am enormously inpressed at the organizational sophistication of Neighbor Ride. It is the best run little non-profit I know of. Using optimal computer technology, Neighbor Ride makes itself very flexible, user friendly and convenient for both the volunteers and riders. Because of its philosophy and modest fee scale, all individuals can have unparralled mobility to go where they want to, shopping, visiting, cultural events, etc. And we volunteers get to commune for a bit with some mighty impressive seniors who are always more then appreciative of this organization and the volunteers' efforts!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My experience with Neighbor Ride has been positive. Their flexible scheduling allows me to volunteer in a way that fits my schedule. They are organized with details and make it easy on me as a driver to play my role. When issues arise they are prompt and courteous with handling them. Their email system of notification and reminders are effective and helpful. All clients I've interacted with have shown their appreciation for my help. This is easily the best volunteer supported organization I've ever worked with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I began a month after Neighbor Ride was founded as a ride coordinator and soon after became a driver as well. The rides we provide are life changing and enabling for the seniors we serve. The conversations we engage in while we schedule rides and drive are also beneficial to family members and the passengers themselves; they love the human contact and a chance to chat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I am a volunteer driver for the citizens Neighbor Ride supports in Howard County. I enjoy this experience very much, so much that I provide a ride once a week, mostly to elderly people no longer able to drive for themselves. NR is very organized in how it coordinates drivers and those in need of rides, so they make it a beneficial experience for all participants, and an extremely valuable service for our local community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2011

more


1 previous review
December 12, 2010

Neighbor Ride has won Best Non Profit in Howard County, MD for the past couple years. No big deal you think, but it is only 6 years old! Neighbor Ride provides transportation to seniors, those above... more

December 13, 2011

Neighbor Ride is now seven yars old. It has won best not for profit in our diverse community for the past few years. The beauty of the organization is that it provides rides, at very low cost, to seniors so they can remain in their homes after their ability to drive has left them. They are driven by volunteers to anything they wish like: doctors' appointments, cultural events, volunteer activities, or lunch with friends. Many of the volunteers and seniors develop lasting friendships. This is a win win for the participants, the community, but most certainly for the seniors families who are not available to drive their loved one when they are either living in another community or are working and just not able to help. This is something needed across the country for seniors. I am so grateful we have it right here for when I need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2010

Neighbor Ride has won Best Non Profit in Howard County, MD for the past couple years. No big deal you think, but it is only 6 years old! Neighbor Ride provides transportation to seniors, those above the age of 60, by volunteers. These volunteers give their time, but also their friendship to many of these seniors that live alone. Drivers drive so seniors can thrive. No longer do our elderly need to depend on family to go out to lunch, the grocery, dr. appointments, etc. They can now call Neighbor Ride for a minimal fee to live independently. It is a wonderful program for everyone involved. I am proud to be part of it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I know of several seniors that have become close friends to some of the drivers. They really do gain independence. It is a win win for both drivers and seniors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add one hundred more volunteers!

December 11, 2011

more

December 11, 2011

My wife and I have been driving for Neighbor Ride for about six months. When we retired we were looking for a volunteer organization that fitted our retirement life style, i.e. travel, babysitting our many grandchildren, and being physically active. Neighbor Ride is a perfect fit. We can schedule rides to fit our ever-changing schedule. The support staff and systems are remarkably well organized so that everything flows smoothly. As an added bonus, we meet some very nice people who often tell us that they don't know how they would manage to get to doctors, rehab, etc. without Neighbor Ride. It's fun!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I joined NeighborRide as a volunteer driver about a year ago..I had some free time on my hands and enjoy driving. I have met some very interesting people who, if it were not for the inability to drive, would continue to experience life to their fullest potential. It's my pleasure to assist these fine individuals continue to do the basic tasks that we take for granted. Whether its doctor appointments, or shopping, or social events, its nice to be able to take them where they need to go and hopefully improve their quality of life. I hope NeighborRide can continue to do this work for a very long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I love it! It feels good knowing I'm helping someone else do things they could not do otherwise.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I find this experience to be fulfilling because it fills my spare time and I can help someone else have get around when they probably could not otherwise.

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

Interaction with Neighbor Ride staff is smooth. Their staff are knowledgeable and helpful. Ride scheduling for volunteers is easy to use and understand. Clients are friendly and understand the service being provided. I have rarely seen such an organized non-profit with such easy to participate in volunteer positions. I feel like the driving I do for clients is very helpful to them and the clients are grateful for the service. If you are looking for an impactful way to volunteer with extremely flexible scheduling then Neighbor Ride is a great option.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I have been a volunteer driver for NeighborRide for almost 3 years. It brings me great pleasure to be able to assist the seniors of my community with their transportation needs. As a mother of two, I have volunteered for many organizations and events, but none have been as fulfilling to me as Neighbor Ride. I enjoy getting to know these seniors and hearing their stories. I appreciate how grateful they are for this much needed service. It is easy to schedule drives at a time that is convenient to me. Neighbor Ride does more than assist seniors. It also enables those with limited time who want to help in the community a place to do so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I have been looking for a volunteer opportunity that could possibly include my children so it does not take away from their time. Neighborride has proven to meet my needs! The Neighborride organization is very professional and organized and volunteers have the opportunity to meet so many wonderful seniors whose insight into life and overall zest for life is evident and contagious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide transportation that will reduce isolation and help local seniors remain active, independent and connected to the community. Volunteer